We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent! ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Fuerte Marbella
Ranked #8 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent! ”
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

We are actually staying in the hotel at present - nearly half way through a two week holiday and are delighted with our decision to try it over the more deluxe hotel we stayed in last February.
The staff could not be more friendly and helpful. Susana, Sandra and especially Nancy who helped a very worried me find my lost mobile phone amongst a mountain of linen in the basement!!! could not be more attentive.
Poor Pshn4life - how sad they hadn't noticed the sign in the lift re the drinks with management and the person who wanted coffee at 11.30am should have known that breakfast finished at 11am !
We are looking forward to our next week!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank BRIAN L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMARBELLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
We are very thankful for your stay and your review. It is very rewarding to hear that you find our staff very attentive, friendly and helpful. We all wish you had another pleasant week with us. See you soon again. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,535 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    839
    510
    114
    41
    31
See reviews for
285
812
37
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Londo, Mozambique
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

Lived here for five days, the overall feeling good, very quiet and clean, with the feeling of home. Security very very patiently answered questions. I'm surprised you that I live in a room with an ocean view

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank williamoscar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMARBELLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Many thanks for your 5 day stay and for your review. We are very happy to hear that the overall feeling in the hotel was good for you, very quiet and clean, with a feeling of home. The team & I look forward to your next visit very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We recently stayed at the Fuerte for the 5th time and enjoyed as always. The Hotel has it all and that something extra.
It is slightly old fashioned but that's the charm which adds to The Fuerte character and atmosphere.
The Staff are always friendly and very helpful.
A superb location right on the beach and only 5 to 10 minutes walk to The old town, shops, restaurants and bars and Orange Square. (Highly recommend “The Orange Tree Restaurant” it never fails)
Entertainment programme is very good especially Leonardo, The Saxophonist. The Flamenco show also seemed to be popular.
Breakfast menu was excellent and always plenty to choose from. Don’t miss lunch at Their Beach Club.

Room Tip: sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TAMwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMARBELLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Thanks for staying once again with us and for your review, which other travellers will find very useful.
We are glad you like the charm and atmosphere of Fuerte Marbella, the friendliness of the team, the entertainment programme, our breakfast and our beach restaurante.
We all look forward to welcoming you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, Kansas
Level Contributor
120 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Stayed here while on business in the general area. Hotel is beautiful and so are the surroundings. Really short walk to the beach (practically the back yard) and a short distance to the old town with lots of beautiful restaurants. Service and cleanliness was good, but the breakfast was unbelievable. I have never seen such a selection and quality of breakfast items and will highly recommend it while staying. Would give 5 stars, but the beds were a little hard and squeaky so to be completely honest I will have to take one away..

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuomas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMARBELLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Thanks for your stay while you were on business in the Marbell area and for your review.
We are glad to know that you found the Hotel beautiful as well as its surroundings and that you would rate our breakfast as 5 star.
This winter, as we always do in the lowest season, we are undertaking some improvements that include more comfortable beds. The Fuerte Marbella team & I hope you will be visiting us again to enjoy them!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

The previous review by Pshn4life tells it all. We had 2 suites, one of which (111) benefited from unencumbered views. The location of the hotel is excellent at the start of Playa de la Venus and very close from the Old Town, with all convenience shopping available next door (lavanderia, 7am-2am supermarket etc.) and a wealth of dining options. The heated swimming pool and free access to a well-equipped gym are great features which we used a lot. The room decoration and equipment are indeed underwhelming, certainly for "suites", and some (female) front desk employees are rude and unhelpful, with inability to think out of the box... or to smile - how can management let that happen! The breakfast buffet is always the same and not very varied, reflecting the clear cost cutting approach that seems pervasive in all departments. The entertainment was modest also, albeit the music on week-end nights pretty noisy when one tries to put a baby to sleep. The demographics was indeed very very much into the 65+ at that time of the year, which feels weird on a holiday resort, even for one belonging to that category. The advantage of low season is off course price; at less than €200 per night for a suite, including breakfast and parking, the uniquely located hotel offers very good overall value.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JBB_FR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMARBELLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you very much for your stay and your review which will help improve our service. We are glad to hear you liked our location on the beach and very close to the Old Town, our heated swimming pool and the free access to our gym. And that overall you felt it was very good value. We are undertaking, as usual in the low season, some improvements in the rooms, which we hope you will be able to enjoy should we have the opportunity to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I really hesitate to write such a negative review, but travellers should be aware. My husband and I broke our recent trip into 3 parts where we stayed at one resort in Costa Del Sol (had an amazing experience), travelled to Morocco, then returned to Spain for a final 3 nights before returning home. We booked this hotel with high expectations, judging by the photos, majority of reviews, location and price. We booked a high end room that being a junior suite with a side seaview. First impression, the exterior of the hotel and the gardens looked lovely. The lobby was impressive. At the desk, "Sonia" dealt professionally with an irate guest, then politely turned to us. We felt she did very well under the circumstances. Our room however, was surprisingly underwhelming. The bathroom was first class, the room was immaculate, and our view was as described as a partial sea view, which was fine; however, the positives stopped there. The décor was distinctly dated. There was no attempt to decorate - not even a throw on the bed, nor prints on the walls. No robes in the rooms, unless you pay a returnable deposit in the pool. We had no shampoo and the little things in our room which I believe had been an initial oversight. Our air con was not working. Luckily it was October. The room was bare bones minimum and not, in our opinion, up to a 4 star standard having stayed in 5 star and lovely 3 star hotels. Were we not paying nearly 600 Euros/per night, we could not complain. What was so frustrating was that it would not have taken much to give the room a boost. Our overall impression was that all of the effort had gone into the public areas of the hotel and the rooms were down the list in priorities. We were also left with the impression that the owners were relying on the fact that the hotel has THE best location in terms of it's proximity on the beach and close vicinity to the historic quarter.
What contributed to our disappointment and which would have improved our experience exponentially was that the staff we came across in the restaurant at the bar and at the main reception were distinctly unhelpful (to the point of being ignored while standing in front of them. The staff had little to no command of English and seemingly no interest in trying. This surprised me working in a hotel catering to tourists. However, it was more than, it was the attitude that set the tone for this potentially amazing hotel. We saw a guest pleading (yes, pleading), with a restaurant staff member for one more cup of coffee before he turned the coffee machine off. The staff member refused stating firmly that it was 11:30am and there was coffee in her room. Another example was after my husband had waited in line at the hot food station, when his turn came, the cook refused to serve him indicating he had started from the wrong end and made him start him start at the end of the line again! The buffet had a relatively large selection of food, but the hot food was terrible. We were also disappointed to learn that the evening we checked in, there was the once weekly flamenco show that night and a once weekly cocktail hour that we were not told about. Now, given her negative experience with the guest before us, this omission was forgivable. Having said all of the above, the outstanding bright light in all of this was the Director, Maria. She embodied professionalism, enthusiasm and effort. She went out of her way to get us ice one night, when absolutely no one would assist us. We saw her interact with the other guests. She was genuine and engaging. She even offered to purchase and send us a Barcelona jersey if she was wrong about them being available at the airport! The hotel is very fortunate to have her. Sadly, notwithstanding the location, our impression was overwhelmingly negative and for the value, we would not recommend this hotel, nor would we return.

One further note that may be a positive or negative for some travellers depending on your expectations of your stay. The Hotel is heavily marketing and advertising special rates for 55+ guests. As a result, there was a distinct older demographic in the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Pshn4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMARBELLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you very much for your 3-night stay and your review. We really appreciate all your comments, as we take them as an opportunity for improvement.
I am very glad to hear you liked the exterior of the hotel, the garden areas, the lobby, the location and service by our Reception manager.
Regarding the room rate you mention (600€/night), there must be a misunderstanding as our daily rate does not currently go over 300€.
I hope you found the Barcelona jersey. Otherwise just let me know and I will sort it out for you!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Me and my husband stayed here for 2days and it was amazing.Hotel having its private beach was amazing. Very friendly staff. we had late flight back from malaga but we cheked out 12 so we requested to keep our luggage which the did.they kept in their locker room which was so relaxing for us.
Only thing which i want to add is if you are coming by car which we did just ensure GPS address before statring beacuse that created lot chaos for us .REST everything was perfect and amazing.!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shads87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMARBELLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thanks for your stay and your review. We specially appreciate your comment about the friendly staff. I will pass it over to them. Regarding GPS, coordinates for Hotel Fuerte Marbella are 36.50787,-4.88460. We are very glad everything was perfect and amazing. See you soon again maybe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marbella hotels
0.2 mi away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
1.0 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 70 in Marbella
1,691 reviews
3.5 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#15 of 70 in Marbella
1,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella
0.3 mi away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 70 in Marbella
1,445 reviews
0.1 mi away
Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fuerte Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fuerte Marbella

Property: Hotel Fuerte Marbella
Address: Calle El Fuerte s/n, 29602, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Marbella
#5 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
#9 Family Hotel in Marbella
#11 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Fuerte Marbella 4*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fuerte Marbella, the most emblematic hotel in the centre of Marbella, combines tradition and innovation. On the beach front and surrounded by 4000 sq. Meters of garden, Fuerte Marbella Hotel is an oasis walking distance to the Marbella old town, with restaurant and shops. Most of the rooms have magnificent views of the Mediterranean sea. A 7 km long beach promenade allows gentle walking to the famous Puerto Banus, with international shopping and restaurants. Fuerte Marbella offers a complete sports centre with covered heated pool (winter only) and a beach restaurant with sun beds (extra charge, summer only). Easy access from Malaga International airport (60 km) by rental car, shuttle bus or private transfer (book through the hotel). Public direct bus to Marbella bus station is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Fuerte Marbella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Fuerte Resort
El Fuerte Marbella
El Fuerte Hotel Marbella
Hotel Fuerte Marbella Andalucia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing