We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Fuerte Marbella
Ranked #8 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice location”
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

Overlooks sea. Views fantastic. Watch out for large tree in centre. Spoils view. We asked to move. Parking 12E per day. Rooms average. Nothing special but clean. Reception staff need training. I do hate being ignored. Breakfast ok but make sure you are standing behind the line when queuing or else. Bar staff in evening not very efficient. However the location and marbella is fantastic which has made me give 4 not 3. Managers please up your game!

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Miguel1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMARBELLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thanks very much for your stay and your review. We take it as a present as it will help us improve our service. I look forward to greeting you personally in your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    834
    509
    114
    41
    31
See reviews for
284
807
37
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel is on the beach..:) the room was nice .. Big and comfortable.. The staff was good.. Thou for some reason i found them kinda money minded.. But over all with all the facilities they provide, it's a good stay..

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nottyprateek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMARBELLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for choosing us for your recent stay in Marbella. We are happy to know you liked our location, the room and in general you had a good stay,

Regarding your comment about the staff, I would very much appreciate to know in detail what your experience was, so that we can improve travellers stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

My husband and I were quite disappointed with the Hotel Fuerte Marbella as we chose it based on the very good reviews we read. We found that as soon as entering the building, we were met by less than friendly and unhelpful staff. They couldn't be bothered to help us with our luggage until we asked them, as we were having difficulty getting in the door with all of our stuff. They actually just sat there and stared.

One evening, we tried to call room service for some ice and they never picked up after several attempts. We asked a staff member in the hallway, and waited an hour for ice that never arrived. We finally decided to just leave for dinner, and we went down to the front desk (they also would not answer the phone) and asked for ice to be brought to our room there. The woman apologized and said she would take care of it. We came back later and still no ice! The next day we just went down to the restaurant ourselves and asked for a bucket of ice which a waiter gave to us.

The decor of the hotel is outdated and dark-looking. Many of the staff members are strangely defensive and several that we interacted with were bordering on rude and bothered when we asked simple questions. Also, the hotel charges for absolutely everything extra that you might need. Get used to hearing the word "supplement" for anything you may have forgotten or need to borrow while you are there. The walls are thin as other reviewers have said and we could hear clearly the people in the room next to us.

The only upside of this hotel that we found is that the location truly is very good. You can easily walk to old town Marbella and there are a lot of stores/cafes/bakeries/restaurants within walking distance. We had a sea view room on level 4 and the view was very nice as the hotel is right next to the ocean. If location is the ONLY thing important to you, this hotel may be a good choice.

Overall, we would not return to this hotel. I am surprised that it is a 4 star hotel, and am not sure what that is based upon. We only had a few days to spend in this great city of Marbella and our expectations were not met with this hotel. We still absolutely loved the city and definitely recommend that you visit the old town!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank E K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMARBELLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for having chosen us for your recent stay in Marbella, specially when coming from as far as US. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the location and the room & views.
Your comments regarding our staff are very valuable to us as we are committed to improving day by day. I am sorry we did not meet our standards. Regarding deco, we are already improving rooms in general (including new tv and new more comfi beds) and more in particular, our Exclusive service in the exclusive rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

so nice and polite staff, room was good and based in the centre of Marbella town centre. The hotel has its private beach front. there is a coach from Malaga to Marbella, works out a lot cheaper than taxi cabs.

Room Tip: all good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank samwag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMARBELLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for your stay and you review. We are glad to hear you found our staff nice and polite and that our location was convenient for you.
I am sure many travelers will find your information very practical.
The team & I look forward to welcoming you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saintfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2014

. This is a lovely hotel right on the beach. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the rooms are very spacious and clean. Cava was sent up to our room from reception for my husbands birthday which we thought was a nice touch. Also we had international tv in the room. Parking was easy and worked out at 12euros per night . In all this was one of the best hotels we have stayed in and would recommend it.

Room Tip: For a perfect view book room at the rear of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMARBELLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Fuerte Marbella and also for your review. We are proud to know that you found our staff very friendly and helpful, and that you would recommend our hotel. The team & I look forward to welcome you and your friends and family in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I can't agree with "Roy M" who wrote that this hotel is shabby: it's anything but. However, he is right about the noise. The one (big) minus about the hotel is that you can hear everything through the walls and ceilings - unless you are deaf or don't mind. I had to put up with a blaring TV at 2 am coming from room 245 - I was in 244 - and asked for a transfer. This was done without fuss and I was given room 318. Unfortunately, there was a woman in 418 (directly above) who liked to walk around the wooden floor in her hard shoes through the night. Also the toilet flushing was very loud from both offending rooms and voices easily heard..

The rooms are spotless and spacious, the staff are very good and the Reception staff particularly good. The breakfast is excellent value and there is lots to choose from the extensive buffet, however some items are quite poor, in particular the scrambled eggs. I don't know what is added to them, but they are tasteless. The bar drinks are cheap if you drink beer or wine but spirits are very expensive. There is a big screen for watching sport in the bar/lounge.

Because my nights were fairly sleepless I am only giving the hotel 3 stars, for the rest I would give 4.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 237enigma .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMARBELLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you very much for your stay and your review. We are deeply sorry about your sleepless nights. Special thanks for mentioning this to us as we had a problem with the tv volume and now we have solved it. We are glad you rate our breakfast as excellent and our staff as very good. Hopefully we will have a chance to welcome you again, please contact me before your visit as I would love to greet you personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reuver, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
170 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

This is a really good hotel at a perfect location in Marbella.
Via the bar area and the terrace (wich is a perfect place to relax in itself) you come straight on the boardwalk with all its restaurants and tapasbars. Leaving by the main entrance you are just a 2 minutes walk from the quaint old town of Marbella.

Although this hotel (resort?) seems huge, I have very rarely encountered a more helpfull and friendly staff, Because we arrived quite early around noon and our room wasn't ready yet, we received a voucher for a drink at the bar. This was an unexpected present, because it was absolutely no failure from the hotel, we arrived to early!

The breakfastbuffet was huge but at the same time it exeeded our expectations for it all tasted way above average and that can be translated as a huge compliment for such a big restaurant.

When returning to Marbella we will most certainly come back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Book a room with seaside view, They are amazing and totally worth the higher price
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kuebke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMARBELLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
We thank you for your review and for your stay. It is great to hear that you found Hotel Fuerte Marbella is a really good hotel at a perfect location, with helpfull and friendly staff. I am happy to know that you enjoyed our welcome drink while your room was being prepared. The team & I look forward to welcoming you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marbella hotels
0.2 mi away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
1.0 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 70 in Marbella
1,685 reviews
3.5 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#15 of 70 in Marbella
1,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella
0.3 mi away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 70 in Marbella
1,444 reviews
0.1 mi away
Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fuerte Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fuerte Marbella

Property: Hotel Fuerte Marbella
Address: Calle El Fuerte s/n, 29602, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Marbella
#5 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
#9 Family Hotel in Marbella
#11 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Fuerte Marbella 4*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fuerte Marbella, the most emblematic hotel in the centre of Marbella, combines tradition and innovation. On the beach front and surrounded by 4000 sq. Meters of garden, Fuerte Marbella Hotel is an oasis walking distance to the Marbella old town, with restaurant and shops. Most of the rooms have magnificent views of the Mediterranean sea. A 7 km long beach promenade allows gentle walking to the famous Puerto Banus, with international shopping and restaurants. Fuerte Marbella offers a complete sports centre with covered heated pool (winter only) and a beach restaurant with sun beds (extra charge, summer only). Easy access from Malaga International airport (60 km) by rental car, shuttle bus or private transfer (book through the hotel). Public direct bus to Marbella bus station is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fuerte Hoteles, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Fuerte Marbella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Fuerte Resort
El Fuerte Marbella
El Fuerte Hotel Marbella
Hotel Fuerte Marbella Andalucia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing