We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb, very impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Fuerte Marbella
Ranked #8 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Superb, very impressed”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We had a short weekend break here. The hotel is superb, immaculately clean, excellent friendly and efficient service. We had a standard/classic room which was more than adequate. Location is great, lovely gardens and pools literally a stone's throw from the beach. Lots of good bars and restaurants within 100 yards and beyond and a lovely (long) walk along the beachside promenade to Puerto Banus if you are feeling energetic. Would definitely recommend and no doubt we will return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulVE2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMARBELLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for your weekend stay with us and for your review. We are very glad to know that you found the hotel superb, immaculately clean, excellent friendly and efficient service. Thanks indeed for recommending it. The team & I look forward to welcoming you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    837
    510
    114
    41
    31
See reviews for
284
811
37
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fakenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I stayed here for a week. All the staff were friendly and efficient and the room, one with a largish balcony and side-view of the sea, was spacious, the bed comfortable, the bathroom all as one would wish. You couldn't really see the sea, but you could hear it at night, which was lovely.

The public spaces - bar, lounges, of which there are many - were good, with comfortable furniture.

There's even a museum in the grounds, which is well worth a visit.

The breakfast buffet is splendid, with a very good egg-chef, and the evening buffet likewise: the fact that you can get your steak or your fish cooked for you there and then really lifts the catering a notch or two above standard hotel fare, and although there were some dishes which appeared to be standard there was plenty that was different each night. The indoor pool was a great way to unwind after a day's work.

I had to check out well before breakfast on my last day, and the picnic they gave me kept me going all day.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank spaddockuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMARBELLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you very much for your week stay and for your review. We are very glad to know that you enjoyed our friendly and efficient staff and the bed, the public areas, our breakfast and dinner, and even our little museum. The team & I look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I booked a standard room, but asked for a high, quiet room. I even rang the hotel before to check that this was possible. On arrival I was offered a room that was on the first floor almost in the car park. To change I had to upgrade (an earlier review said that was €30 a night). I argued, and eventually got a room on the fifth floor next to the elevator. On day 3, I asked for a quieter room away from the elevator. It was absolutely not possible without upgrading. Fortunately I had booked 3 nights, then an extra 5 which I could cancel. I said that I would cancel. Amazingly a room just like I thought that I had booked became available for no extra charge. After that reception seemed a little difficult including asking for vouchers on the 4th day claiming that I was not in the computer. So other than reception and their desire to get more money out of you, its a decent hotel. If you have a car its €12 a night. So beware, with upgrading and parking, at that time I booked, I could have stayed in a 5 star for less money.

Room Tip: Beware the 'forced' upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul7777000777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMARBELLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you very much for choosing us for your recent stay in Marbella and for your feedback which enable us to improve. I am really sorry as per your comment we did not perform up to our standards.
As a piece of information, being that we are a city hotel (in the center of Marbella and on the beach front), guests seeking for a quiet room should book a side sea view or front sea view room as these are the quietest rooms.
I would be very grateful if you could contact me next time you are planing to come to Marbella. With our kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Stayed at the Fuerte for four nights recently with family. It's an excellent hotel - situated right on the seafront with amazing views of the Med from the room balconies. The bar area is spacious and perfect to relax with a few drinks, which are reasonably priced. There is a nice outdoor terrace too if the weather is warm enough. Marbella old town is a 5 minute walk away - the hotel couldn't be better located.

Rooms are clean and comfortable - we didn't find them dated as some other reviewers have suggested. It is worth paying the extra for a sea front room - the views are lovely.

The quality of the breakfast is very good (but not the best I've had) and the choice is vast. There is a wide variety of fruits, yoghurt, cheese and meat, bread, eggs made to order and hot food such as bacon and sausages. You can even have a glass of cava if you like. You will not be hungry for a long time after!

We also booked a day trip to Gibraltar through the hotel, which was an excellent day out and well priced at about €37.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djsage86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMARBELLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for your recent stay and for your review. It is great to hear that Fuerte Marbella was an excellent choice for you - right on the seafront with amazing views, and the the room was comfortable and you enjoyed the vast selection of our breakfast and the peaceful bar terrace.
Besides Gibraltar, it is worthy visiting Ronda and Granada next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Having passed the hotel many times before whilst visiting Marbella we thought we would try the hotel El Fuerte for a four night stay. We were immediately impressed by the enthusiastic reception given to us by Vega. She was able to give us all the information needed. This hotel is comfortable, spacious, very clean and has all the facilities you could wish for as the perfect place for a holiday in Marbella. We will be back!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gallery513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMARBELLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for your review and for trying Fuerte Marbella for the fist time!. Great to hear that you were impressed by the enthusiastic reception staff giving you all the information you needed. We all look forward to your next visit!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winsford
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Just returned from hotel fuerte marbella and what a fantastic hotel it was. The staff couldnt do enough for you from when we arrived to when we left. Very impressive surroundings and ideal location for restuarants and the beach. Restuarant served a huge variety of food and all was delicious.
We had room 134 and what a fantastic room! Very clean and spacious and the beds are so comfortable didnt want to get out!
Evenings were enjoyable watching traditional dancing from couples on the dance floor. Bar staff very attentive and friendly. All in all it was a delight to stay and would definately stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlWinsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMARBELLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Thank you very much for your stay and your review. We are very proud to hear that you rate Fuerte Marbella as a fantastic hotel. We specially appreciate you comment about the staff (attentive & friendly) and the impressive surroundings.
The team & I look forward to many more delightful stays with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Just returned from the El Fuerte after another wonderful stay. We have stayed here at least 10 times and it never disappoints, from the staff, the ambience, the cleanliness and the wonderful variety of food on offer at breakfast. It feels like you are actually in Spain with a lovely Spanish feel and a superb flamenco show once a week. We took our friends for their first visit and they too were impressed with the hotel and it's location and the facilities on offer. The covered swimming pool is a great asset when the weather is cooler but don't forget your swimming cap!
For the first time had a half hour Spanish lesson in the bar which is a nice "lighthearted" touch and our friends enjoyed the free guided tour round Orange Square. The bar is a lovely place to relax and overlooks the sea and wonderful gardens. Magnifico!!
Terry & Christine

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMARBELLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Thank you for your stay and your review. We are very proud to have you as regular guests and to know that you rate Fuerte Marbella as magnífico!.
The team & I look forward to welcoming you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marbella hotels
0.2 mi away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
1.0 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 70 in Marbella
1,687 reviews
3.5 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#15 of 70 in Marbella
1,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella
0.3 mi away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 70 in Marbella
1,445 reviews
0.1 mi away
Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fuerte Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fuerte Marbella

Property: Hotel Fuerte Marbella
Address: Calle El Fuerte s/n, 29602, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Marbella
#5 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
#9 Family Hotel in Marbella
#11 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Fuerte Marbella 4*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fuerte Marbella, the most emblematic hotel in the centre of Marbella, combines tradition and innovation. On the beach front and surrounded by 4000 sq. Meters of garden, Fuerte Marbella Hotel is an oasis walking distance to the Marbella old town, with restaurant and shops. Most of the rooms have magnificent views of the Mediterranean sea. A 7 km long beach promenade allows gentle walking to the famous Puerto Banus, with international shopping and restaurants. Fuerte Marbella offers a complete sports centre with covered heated pool (winter only) and a beach restaurant with sun beds (extra charge, summer only). Easy access from Malaga International airport (60 km) by rental car, shuttle bus or private transfer (book through the hotel). Public direct bus to Marbella bus station is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Fuerte Hoteles, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Fuerte Marbella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Fuerte Resort
El Fuerte Marbella
El Fuerte Hotel Marbella
Hotel Fuerte Marbella Andalucia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing