We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Fuerte Marbella
Ranked #7 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Location, location!”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Came home on Monday from this hotel and already planning another girls holiday here next year! Location is fantastic - just a stroll away from the beautiful Old Town area and right on the beach. I would recommend paying extra for the sea view rooms as some of my friends stayed at the back of the hotel and only had a window! We were a group of 14 lovely ladies looking for a nice hotel as a base and we were more than happy. I would say the majority of guest were middle aged Spanish couples but with a few groups here and there. If like us you want a nice chill during the day before partying at night this is ideal! It's 5 minutes from Puerto Banus in a taxi. Staff at the hotel were friendly, rooms were nice though could be improved by updating the hairdryers which were attached to the wall and and not powerful so had to just let it dry naturally! No toiletries in the room either which I was surprised at. Breakfast was fab, everything you could possibly want is available from an egg station to smoothies! Gardens and pool were lovely and well maintained, just called at the bar in the evening to meet up which was fine for a quick drink before heading out but was busy with older couples waltzing! I would stay here either with my friends or hubbie as overall a great hotel

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank diravald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMARBELLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you very much to all the ladies for staying with us and for your review. We are so glad to know you had a good time, you found staff friendly, rooms nice, buffet breakfast fab, gardens and pools lovely and well maintained.
Regarding hairdryers, we are currently renovating them and in any case, more powerful dryers are available at housekeeping. Regarding toiletries, we serve basic toiletries and offer extra items on demand.
We look forward to your visit next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    857
    516
    114
    42
    31
See reviews for
294
820
38
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Just back from staying 5 days in this hotel we stay here two to three times a year for the past 9 years. The location is perfect and rooms spotless and breakfast very good, however its the reception staff who reacted to our different enquiries with curt indifference. Retraining into customer service would not go amiss!! The bar staff also appeared to be unhappy with their work, and service is very slow. I am returning here in six weeks for a week and asked could I prebook a room he said it was impossible to book rooms however when he looked up his computer he said the rooms was already booked.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank catherine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMARBELLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you very much for being regular guests at Fuerte Marbella and thank you also for your feedback. Your experience is very valuable to us, as it gives us a chance to improve. I am sorry this time we perform bellow our standards,
I would be very grateful if you let me know when you are coming back, as I would like to thank you personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chesterfield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Looking forward to staying at this Hotel tomorrow for my brothers Birthday. Will do daily updates on service levels, facilities etc

The Hotel looks good and has amazing views from sea facing rooms. The facilities and location to the beach seem like the big plus points.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank BentleyGTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMARBELLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you very much for booking with us. Look forward to greeting you personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

This was my second time staying in this hotel and it won't be the last.
Hotel very well situated near the quaint little old town, which has plenty
of restaurants and small shops.
Exit the back of the hotel with your key card and you are on the lovely
prom next to the beach. This promenade is stacked with restaurants also
and it actually brings you all the way to puerto banus. I hired a bike
which was organised for me by the hotel and cycled to puerto banus, I would
highly recommend this.
Breakfasts were good, great selection of everything and the gym was fantastic.
It's the best hotel gym I have ever been in and this was a big thing for me.
Rooms basic enough, but kept very clean and has tea/coffee making facilities.
Staff multi-lingual and friendly. I would have no hesitation in recommending
this hotel to anyone and I wouldn't stay anywhere else in marbella.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wellknoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMARBELLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us for the second time and for your review. We are very glad to know your stay was so pleasant, and you enjoyed our Club Fuerte Sport for free. We very much appreciate you comment about the staff being multilingual and friendly.
We all look forward to welcoming you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Spent 5 nights here just past. To add to what has been covered in previous reviews as well as repeat the great location, the big thing here is the utterly charming terrace that gets all day sun but provides dappled shelter under two lovely pine trees. I will return for this alone.

Also very Spanish, as in friendly and relaxed. Bit too relaxed among the waiters on the terrace but that is no big deal in the circumstances.

Rooms of variable size, sea views seem to mean uplift in size, no scope for that when we stayed, it was full. Got on with enjoying the lovely weather .

Would recommend for lovers of a quiet time and seniors.

Room Tip: Go for sea view and check for room size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CalmTraveller75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMARBELLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
We thank you for your 5 night stay and your review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed so much sitting in our Pinetree terrace that you consider coming back just for it.

Regarding rooms with sea view, please make sure you make your reservation quite in advance as these are the most demanded rooms. Furthermore, cancellation conditions are very flexible for bookings made through our central reservation office and our website.

We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leknes, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Was here from thursday to sunday, i liked the location, rooms, food, close to centrum, enjoyed all the days, i think i come back this place in not so many years. the stuff and the washers are very polite also.

Room Tip: i got room 343 very practical, close to the elevator, and nice view, balcony, 2 washes, all you need
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raino84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMARBELLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for choosing Fuerte Marbella for your weekend stay, and thank you also for your review. I am very glad to hear that liked the food, you found staff very polite and location was convenient to you.
The team & I look forward to welcoming you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Water, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Very clean hotel, good selection of food , excellent situation. We were on the 6th. Floor with NO AIRCONDITIONING !! While the room was comfortable we could not sleep because of the stifling heat. We were told the air.con. was not working and fans were not supplied. Because of lack of sleep we were glad to come home.

Room Tip: Make sure air conditioning is working before you unpack, otherwise demand another room. We wish we...
See more room tips
Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Avril R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMARBELLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you very much for your stay in April and for your review. We are happy to know that our location was excellent for you.
Regarding the air conditioning, the hotel is fully AC, however we have a central aircon system, that means we have heat in the Winter and cool air in the Summer. It has been quite warm during the day in April, but at night the temperature goes down to 12 ºC and therefore majority of guests would not wish to have cool air then. Temperatures have stabilized now and at night minimum average is 16ºC during the day 24ºC, so we have changed already to cool air. I am so sorry this was an inconvenience for you.
The team & I are very grateful for your stay and would very much like to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marbella hotels
0.2 mi away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
1.0 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 70 in Marbella
1,721 reviews
3.5 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#16 of 70 in Marbella
1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella
0.3 mi away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 70 in Marbella
1,459 reviews
0.1 mi away
Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fuerte Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fuerte Marbella

Property: Hotel Fuerte Marbella
Address: Calle El Fuerte s/n, 29602, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Marbella
#4 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
#9 Family Hotel in Marbella
#11 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Fuerte Marbella 4*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fuerte Marbella, the most emblematic hotel in the centre of Marbella, combines tradition and innovation. On the beach front and surrounded by 4000 sq. Meters of garden, Fuerte Marbella Hotel is an oasis walking distance to the Marbella old town, with restaurant and shops. Most of the rooms have magnificent views of the Mediterranean sea. A 7 km long beach promenade allows gentle walking to the famous Puerto Banus, with international shopping and restaurants. Fuerte Marbella offers a complete sports centre with covered heated pool (winter only) and a beach restaurant with sun beds (extra charge, summer only). Easy access from Malaga International airport (60 km) by rental car, shuttle bus or private transfer (book through the hotel). Public direct bus to Marbella bus station is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fuerte Hoteles, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Fuerte Marbella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Fuerte Resort
El Fuerte Marbella
El Fuerte Hotel Marbella
Hotel Fuerte Marbella Andalucia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing