We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Favourite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Fuerte Marbella
Ranked #7 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A Favourite”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We have stayed in the Fuerte on quite a number of occasions and at various times of the year. Rooms are comfortable (side sea views are possibly slightly larger than front sea views) with clean minimal furnishings but in the Spanish style. The staff are always very friendly and competent, many of them have been there for a long time, the location couldn't be better and the pool areas are great. Breakfasts and buffet dinners are excellent with plenty choice and also grill items cooked to order. We have already been there this year for 12 days and are returning in September for a week. The Fuerte has a slightly old fashioned feel to it (it is well modernised though) but it's a great favourite which we are drawn back to time and again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hjoanc2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMARBELLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you very much for your several holidays with us and your kind review.

We are proud to know that you always find the staff very friendly and competent, and breakfast and buffet dinners excellent.

Thanks for rating us as a great favourite.

We look forward to welcoming you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,573 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    868
    517
    114
    42
    32
See reviews for
300
826
38
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stylish hotel with an excellent location only a few short strides to the beach and central for other Marbella attractions. Rooms are to a good 4* standard and the reception/bar area is very well appointed. We stayed Bed & Breakfast, would be difficult to name anything which did not appear on the extensive buffet breakfast, the choice was excellent. The reception staff are very helpful and professional along with all the other staff in the hotel. The swimming pools are very good, one in lanes for the fitness swimmers and the other for my standard of swimming. However, if you leave it until midday chances of finding a lounger are remote. It would be difficult for the hotel to supply any more, even though the grounds are extensive therefore in the height of the season there must be some very early starts. Bar staff around pool deserve a positive mention also. Another positive around the pools is the ability to relax without incessant bland music blaring out. The purpose of the holiday was to celebrate a 'significant' birthday for my wife, to my surprise we could not book a table in the restaurant in advance, first time I have encountered this. On the subject of food there are some excellent restaurants on the front and around Orange Square. We have our own 'fun' marking system for the style and quality of a hotel, it is inversely proportional to the number of adults wearing football shirts, as we saw only one in the week at breakfast we could give it maximum score for style and quality considering the World Cup was on and yes, I am a lifelong football fan. As we were there outside of the school holidays the clientele were a good mix of young couples to the retired; however the hotel did appear to cater well for children.

Room Tip: Our room was on the west side of the newer part of the hotel, not much of a view apart from a very h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RandA369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMARBELLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
First of all we would like to thank you for staying with us to celebrate your wife´s birthday and for your review.

We are happy to know you found the location excellent, the staff helpful and professional, especially in the bar, the pool areas relaxing and the city of Marbella very handy.

Regarding booking a table in the main restaurant, I am afraid we do not take bookings as we do first come first served. We do have quiet a big restaurant. For guests wishing to seat out on the terrace we recommend to arrive when the restaurant opens.

Regarding booking a table in the beach restaurant, we take bookings of 6 persons or more, no later than 2pm. We are also open here for dinner in August (check with hotel).

Regarding children, we do not have so many staying outside the school holidays, but we do have some in Easter and Summer and we do have a Forti Club (miniclub) where they can play and be taken care of.

We look forward to welcoming you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Somerset
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Lets start with location location. This Hotel is perfectly placed. A stones throw from the beach and within easy walking distance of the old town. We had an Exclusive room on the 5th floor with front sea view.This entitled us to use of the exclusive lounge which was stocked with complimentary champagne, wine,spirits, beers and various rolls, salads etc.The Hotel is spotless. The breakfast is excellent. The chef will prepare omlettes, various types of eggs and crepes. The staff are very friendly and helpful. We met couples who have been going back for years and I can understand why. Please give it a try. You will not be dissapointed. I am well travelled and value for money this is one of the best Hotels I have stayed in.Cannot wait to go back!

Room Tip: We were on 5th floor in the old part of the Hotel with a corner room and direct sea view and were ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PandoraNorthSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMARBELLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
We would like to thank you for your visit and comment. We are glad you think the hotel is perfectly placed, that you could enjoy our Exclusive front sea view room and our Exclusive Lounge, where you can have some drinks and snacks for free from 11h-21h. We are happy to know you think the hotel is spotlessly clean, the breakfast was excellent, and the staff very friendly and helpful.
We are very proud to know that you found Fuerte Marbella to be one of the best value for money Hotels you have ever stayed in and that you cannot wait to come back.
The team & I look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
3,577 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3,138 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The most important thing for me when I go to a new hotel with my wife is to see how friendly the staff in the hotel are, whether they smile or not. I can tell you that all the staff at the Hotel El Fuerte are very friendly and very helpful. They made us feel at home.

I had reserved a room with a sea view and was given Room 202. We had a wonderful view of the sea and enjoyed spending time on the balcony, just looking at the colors of the sky and sea change as the hours passed by. Nature puts on a show every day and the changes are quite subtle from hour to hour. It is worth it to pay more and get the sea view room.

Our room was large enough so that we felt quite comfortable. Our room had two beds joined together. They were quite comfortable and felt like new beds. There was a large white leather headboard. At each end there was an end table and a swiveling arm lamp for reading. The floor was made of wood and the room was painted a very subtle shade of green that was pleasing to the eye. The desk was made of wood and had a glass top. Under the desk was the minibar. The desk chair was an upholstered chair with a light green sophisticated design on the fabric. There was another chair like this at the corner of the room, beside a small round table with a glass top. Beside these was a floor lamp. The LG TV was installed over the desk. There was a wall lamp on each side of the TV.

On one wall there was a large mirror. The closet was adequate and there were many hangers. I have been to good hotels for a week and there would be only 5 hangers! The room had light green colored drapes and behind them there were blackout drapes. The bathroom was large and was lined in grey marble. The faucet had a large marble surface beside it to store one’s toiletries. There was a bathtub/shower with easy water controls. I have been to hotels where the controls were so complicated that we had to spend much valuable time learning how to use them! Behind the door was a full length mirror. The toilet and bidet were in an adjacent compartment. The bathroom had high pressure for the water.

The terrace by our room had a small round table and two chairs with cane seats. At one wall there was a drying rack for suimsuits.

I have stayed in many 5 star and 4 star hotels in Spain and European cities. I have to say that the El Fuerte Hotel has the best breakfast buffet of all the hotels I have stayed in. The buffet is held at the very elegant dinner salon, which is very big and very elegant, with excellent lighting. This room opens up to the porch, where one can sit for breakfast. There is plenty of light in this room, with floor to ceiling glass windows.

To start with, there is a chef who can fry you eggs or make you any type of omelet you want. His counter has small square pieces of Spanish tortilla, extremely delicious! There are all sorts of cooked meats, such as small Vienna style sausages and bacon. There are mushrooms and tomatoes. There are all sorts of cold meats. The best meat is the jamon iberico (Iberian ham from pigs fed acorns), with little fat. This is actually good for one’s health because it lowers one’s cholesterol levels because of the Vitamin E found in the acorns the pigs eat. There is another counter with all types of fruits. Another counter has all the juices and cold iced water. The best thing is that there is a counter with the best cava (Spanish bubbly wine). Other hotels have only one or two bottles of cava, but this one had five bottles! Very generous!

We ate lunch twice at the El Fuerte Beach Club, which was elegant and moderately priced. My favorite dish was the Presa de Cerdo Iberico, which had five pork slices served over patatas bravas (delicious potatoes), and some tomatoes and vegetables. Those who love meat will enjoy this fabulous dish. My wife had fish both times, which she enjoys very much. The first day she had the puntillitas and the second day she had the calamar. The service at this restaurant was excellent. I have to mention that I had a glass of white wine and the big goblet was served full, to the brim. In other restaurants they may serve you only half a glass of wine.

The very good thing about the hotel is that it is only 220 meters away from the Parque de la Alameda, considered the center of downtown. It takes only 5 minutes to walk to this park. To go to the Plaza de los Naranjos takes only a few minutes more. The hotel location is the best in Marbella because it is close to downtown, beside the beach and the paseo maritimo, which has many restaurants and stores. One can walk to all of these. The hotel also has an underground car park for those who drive to the hotel.

The hotel has two swimming pools, one of them a lap pool where serious swimmers can exercise. The other is quite big and one can also swim there. The hotel has beach towels. One can go to the reception desk and they will give you a card. Then go to the lap pool and the attendant will exchange a towel for the card. There are many lounge chairs where one can take the sun and relax. The hotel grounds are immaculately clean and extremely attractive. There are flowers, trees and shrubs, maintained very well. We enjoyed sitting on the terrace with the paved floor, beside the little museum, which had shade from the big trees. One can order drinks there and enjoy them in the outdoors.

My wife and I enjoyed our stay so much that we will probably be back twice a year to this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view. It is worth paying more for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BennyMalaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMARBELLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
First of all we would like to thank you for your stay and for your review, which will surely be very useful to other travellers. It makes us very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay here and that you felt like home. We are glad you think the location is very good, that you enjoyed your lunches at Beach Club Restaurante Grill El Fuerte and that Fuerte Marbella has the best breakfast buffet of all the hotels you have stayed in.
We are looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Rooms and beds excellent
Staff fabulous
Location great
Wide selection for breakfast including freshly made
Pool good temperature
Some Sun beds slightly wonky
Evening entertainment
Beautiful perfumed reception area

Room Tip: we had a partial sea view which reduced the price slightly , very quiet .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pam o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMARBELLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for your commen. We are happy to know that you enjoyed our rooms and excellent beds, our fabulous location and wide range buffet breakfast.
We look forward to welcoming you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

I had read the reviews on here prior and felt the only major flaw was 'snooty' staff which I can totally deal with- but not true. First of all, no real flaw of the hotel- but it is more or a retirement community then anything else/ very old crowd/ recommend staying in puerto for a fun location. The hotel is old/ the air conditioning is awful ln our room/ I called a staff member to fix it/ they said, ' it's working' and left/ at least it's cold at night/ but no screens on doors so bugs get in. We also did want to put 3 people In one room, which they would not allow us to do/ they forced us to upgrade to a 'junior suite' which is two two beds pushed together and a small couch (not pull out bed) in the hall- not what I hoped for the extra money they charged- pools- one says 'heated' definitely did not feel like it/ freezing, all in all not impressed/ you can probably find better . And yes, the staff is snooty.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Loopbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMARBELLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you very much for your stay and for your feedback. Pity you did not get what you expected regarding other guests profile and a location for Puerto Banus fun.
I am so sorry we did not perform to our standards regarding the air conditioning in your room.
Regarding rooms for three persons, we have specific rooms which take 3 (twins + extra bed) or up to 4 persons (junior suites). June has been a very busy month; therefore most probably we only had a Junior suite available during your stay.
Fuerte Marbella offers two pools, one of them covered and heated in the Winter but not in June as it would be too hot for swimming.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

I chose this hotel because we wanted somewhere near to the beach and as our room had a brilliant sea view it was exactly what we wanted.
Staying early season was also a specific choice as we missed the very busy time in Marbella.
The hotel is four star standard, with helpful staff. We didn't eat dinner in the hotel but the breakfasts were four star standard.
By staying in a sea view room, we also had access (until 9pm each day) to the Exclusive Lounge, where drinks and snacks are available free all day and had beach towels supplied - a boon when packing! Nice extras that we enjoyed.
I would stay here again, as given the location and amenities it is worth every penny (or Euro!)

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank spadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMARBELLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thanks for choosing us for your early season stay and for your review. We are happy to know we fulfilled your expectations regarding the location and the front sea views of your Exclusive room, you found staff helpful and Exclusive service worthy. We look forward to welcoming you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marbella hotels
0.2 mi away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
1.0 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#4 of 70 in Marbella
1,753 reviews
3.5 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#16 of 70 in Marbella
1,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella
0.3 mi away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 70 in Marbella
1,471 reviews
0.1 mi away
Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fuerte Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fuerte Marbella

Property: Hotel Fuerte Marbella
Address: Calle El Fuerte s/n, 29602, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Marbella
#4 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
#9 Family Hotel in Marbella
#11 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Fuerte Marbella 4*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fuerte Marbella, the most emblematic hotel in the centre of Marbella, combines tradition and innovation. On the beach front and surrounded by 4000 sq. Meters of garden, Fuerte Marbella Hotel is an oasis walking distance to the Marbella old town, with restaurant and shops. Most of the rooms have magnificent views of the Mediterranean sea. A 7 km long beach promenade allows gentle walking to the famous Puerto Banus, with international shopping and restaurants. Fuerte Marbella offers a complete sports centre with covered heated pool (winter only) and a beach restaurant with sun beds (extra charge, summer only). Easy access from Malaga International airport (60 km) by rental car, shuttle bus or private transfer (book through the hotel). Public direct bus to Marbella bus station is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fuerte Hoteles, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Fuerte Marbella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Fuerte Resort
El Fuerte Marbella
El Fuerte Hotel Marbella
Hotel Fuerte Marbella Andalucia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing