We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Fuerte Marbella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Fuerte Marbella
Ranked #8 of 71 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Just back from a weekend at the El fuerte Marbella. What a find. In a perfect location on the beach and just a 5 minute walk to the beautiful old town. Breakfast fantastic as where the staff in all areas of the hotel We will be back

Room Tip: We where in a classic room with just a side view of the sea which was enough for us as we weren'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cathycakes186337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMARBELLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us for a fantastic weekend and for your review.

We are so happy you discovered us! . We all look forward to welcoming you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    787
    490
    111
    40
    30
See reviews for
271
774
36
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Just returned from a weeks stay & was a perfect base to explore Marbella. The hotel is a good 4* standard with modern rooms which are cleaned daily. The breakfast buffet was excellent & catered for every taste. The hotel grounds & pools were also to a high standard and very well maintained. The private beach was a slight let down as the shore line was full of rocks & pebbles which were hard under bare foot. Also we were very surprised that we had to pay 7 euros per sun lounger per day on the beach. Please note that if your booking a standard room they dont all come with balconies, ours didnt but we were soon upgraded once we asked at the reception. All in all we had a very nice break at this hotel.

Room Tip: If you would like a balcony ask for one when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMARBELLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you very much for choosing us for your week stay and for your review.

We are happy to know you rate our hotel as a perfect base to explore Marbella, our breakfast as excellent, and our grounds and pools of high standard and well maintained.

Regarding the beach, as you mention, it is recommended to wear some type of rubber shoes as it can be a bit rocky depending on tides.

Regarding sunbeds, we offer them for free in our pools and terraces, where all our guests can enjoy, however on the beach, there are a limited number of sun beds. Therefore we charge 7€/lounger with umbrella (same rate for the last 5 years).

Regarding standard rooms, the ones in our Levante building have no terrace but give onto the garden/entrance/parking of the hotel. The ones in our Poniente building have a small terrace and look onto a side street and the next door building.

We look forward to welcoming you for another nice break.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Great location on beach but close to the old town. Two pools, one more suited to families and the other with lanes for adults. Excellent breakfast, and very good, reasonably priced food at lunch, etc. Rooms were slightly dated but still comfortable and pleasant. Very good gym included

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank lee bi wan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMARBELLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you very much for your stay and your review.

We are glad to know you found our location great, our breakfast excellent, food at lunch reasonably priced, rooms comfortable and pleasant, and free use of the gym (Club Fuerte Sport) very good.

The team & I look forward to welcoming you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

I stayed midJuly 2014; it was the last leg of a 12 day trip from Madrid to Granada to Gibraltar and then Marbella. $7euro and 10 minute ride to Marbella bus depot and $6.50euro and 45 minute bus ride to Malaga airport from there; The hotel grounds were beautiful and lush, nicely laid out; the 2 pools were very nice, plenty of lounge chairs available in the pool and also on the beach; this is definitely beach front but it's also very central and convenient to the old town, shopping, restaurants and water activities; breakfast buffet was great and lots to choose from; champagne, churros, crepes, omelets, fruit, bread, etc; I didn't eat dinner at the hotel as I wanted to experience other restaurants; the bar was great and there was plenty of comfortable and plush indoor and outdoor seating to have tapas or drinks and take to poolside; also convenient to add to room tab but be mindful as it easily adds up :-)!
I absolutely loved the hotel but it was pricey so unfortunately was only able to stay 3 nights which was a bummer; The free wi-fi worked well in room and throughout the hotel grounds. I didn't stay at the Fuerte Myramar down the street but the Fuerte Marbella looks much better than its sister hotel so I'm glad I splurged on the stay; staff was mostly pleasant and spoke english.
Beach: beautiful and clean but be warned that it is very rocky so it hurts your feet; I went in but didn't stay too long as I kept stubbing my feet on the rocks and wasn't comfortable.
For the solo girls: definitely a must! it is safe and centrally located and very easy to relax and get lost in the leisure!

Room Tip: I stayed in 106; the room was small but it was very nicely decorated and the bed was extremely comfo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morer72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMARBELLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thanks for your stay with us and for your feedback which other travelers will find very useful.
We are glad to know you liked our location and loved the hotel. Next time you visit us, give our main restaurant a try as it’s really value for money (buffet with show cooking from 23 to 28€/head depending on the season). We also have our Beach Club Restaurant Grill open 10 month in the year for lunch, and in jul/august open Wed through Sun for dinner right on the beach front, serving the typical fish “on skewer” (espeto).
The team & I look forward to welcoming you and your friends and families.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel has a perfect location to the beach and old town. From the moment we entered the hotel we were greeted by a friendly staff.

We had lunch twice on the terrace with beautiful views of the Mediterranean Sea. The menu is a bit limited on food selections, but what we did order was tasty.

I also booked a spa treatment. The main spa is located at their sister hotel, Hotel Fuerte Miramar. They were able to do massages at Fuerte Marbella, but if you want to experience the entire spa amenities you have to walk to the other hotel.

We had a standard room and it was spacious as well as super clean. Overall our experience at this hotel was positive one.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMARBELLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thanks for your stay with us and for your feedback.
We are glad to read our location was perfect for you, on the beach and near the Marbella old town, and that you enjoyed the meal out on the bar terrace and the Spa at our sister hotel Fuerte Miramar, 300 meters away. Regarding your accommodation, standard rooms have no sea view and at times can be a bit noisy, being that we are in the center of Marbella. Side sea view rooms and front sea view rooms have a higher price but they are really quiet and have lovely views.
We all look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annandale, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

we were originally booked at the Fuerte in an Exclusive room for 6 days and ended up extending it twice for a total of 11. While the price is rather high, it was worth every penny. Breakfast was great, the reception staff and maids were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Having use of the exclusive room which had snacks and drinks stocked for most of the day and evening was a nice benefit. Would definitely go back and stay here. Very close to old town and also restaurants along the promenade. Although we didn't use the gym (intended to but you know how it goes) we did check it out and it was very large with pretty much anything you need to work out.
Looking forward to the next trip!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luv2travel22003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMARBELLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thanks for staying and for extending your booking twice!. We really appreciate you feedback and are happy to know you enjoyed your stay as a Exclusive guest. Just as a piece of info, the earlier you book the better rate you get with us (call center or website).
Regarding the gym, all guests are welcome to use our Club Fuerte Sport with sauna, Turkish baths, cardio machines, body bump, body combat, sh’bam, yoga, spinning, etc…).
It is great news to read that you look forward to your next visit. We too!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed here in June 2014...As indicated- the location is amazing-- on the boardwalk- and 5 minutes to old town--the gym is the biggest one in Marbella and a lot of locals use it.. The restaurants nearby are great- Make sure to get the Fish baked in Salt( Sal) at the El Barco hotel-- it was recommended by the hotel and it was amazing...
Note in early July the ocean was only 68 degrees- not many people going in- and the sand is brownish-- this is not the carribean at all. But the atmosphere and all make up for it in spades.. We had a side view Junior Suite--we had my 14 year old and they had kind of a separate room/bed for him and it worked well. I will say at 272 Euro it was much more expense then anything we paid for in the rest of the country- But it is a prime location and is the beach. I do think it could be spruced up a bit..

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barryv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMARBELLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
First of all thank you for staying with us and for your comment. We are happy to know you found our location amazing, you enjoyed your accommodation in a side sea view Junior Suite and the free use of our gym with sauna, Turkish baths, yoga, etc….
Our rates are flexible, that means the earlier you book, the better rate you get. Our cancellation policy is very flexible (with the exception of our non-reimbursable rate). Therefore, maybe next time you decide to visit us, you may first of all book the room and then when you have the air tickets, you may adjust your hotel booking.
We also serve fish in salt in our main restaurant (buffet with show cookind) some days of the week. Next time give it a try!.
We look forward to welcoming you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marbella hotels
1.1 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#4 of 71 in Marbella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
3.6 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#15 of 71 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,531 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
#10 of 71 in Marbella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 71 in Marbella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,399 reviews
2.7 mi away
Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella
6.4 mi away
Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fuerte Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fuerte Marbella

Property: Hotel Fuerte Marbella
Address: Calle El Fuerte s/n, 29602, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Marbella
#4 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
#9 Family Hotel in Marbella
#11 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Fuerte Marbella 4*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fuerte Marbella, the most emblematic hotel in the centre of Marbella, combines tradition and innovation. On the beach front and surrounded by 4000 sq. Meters of garden, Fuerte Marbella Hotel is an oasis walking distance to the Marbella old town, with restaurant and shops. Most of the rooms have magnificent views of the Mediterranean sea. A 7 km long beach promenade allows gentle walking to the famous Puerto Banus, with international shopping and restaurants. Fuerte Marbella offers a complete sports centre with covered heated pool (winter only) and a beach restaurant with sun beds (extra charge, summer only). Easy access from Malaga International airport (60 km) by rental car, shuttle bus or private transfer (book through the hotel). Public direct bus to Marbella bus station is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fuerte Hoteles, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK) and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Fuerte Marbella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Fuerte Resort
El Fuerte Marbella
El Fuerte Hotel Marbella
Hotel Fuerte Marbella Andalucia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing