We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Los Monteros Spa & Golf Resort GL
Ranked #13 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A pleasant stay”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We just spent four very pleasant days on a half board package in a junior suite at Los Monteros.

The Marbella area has a beautiful climate in this sheltered area on the southernmost coast of Spain and Los Monteros is well placed to take advantage of it. The hotel has been round a long time and seen many changes with the current economic climate taking its toll here just like the rest of Spain. There is clearly not enough profit to allow the investment required to maintain the highest standards expected of a luxury five star hotel in this competitive market. A new spa in the process of being built however much required to maintain its position is not enough to differentiate it from the rest of the market. More basic hotel management is required like a fresh coat of paint everywhere especially the white exteriors, weeding and propagating all the gardens not just the main public areas, and cleaning out the ponds and water features. Perhaps they are waiting for the spa to be finished but it is this kind of attention to detail is what separates the best from the also rans. Be prepared for the late check in 4pm in case you are scheduled on an early flight because you could be hanging around for quite a while waiting for access to your room.

However, lets not be too critical. Los Monteros is a very nice hotel with many plus points. Friendly and experienced staff help to enjoy the overall experience. Nice gardens and swimming pool make for a pleasant and restful experience. La Cabane is available for those who want the ultimate luxury five minutes away down by the sea, just be prepared for the extra costs involved for sun loungers and expensive buffets. The breakfasts are superb with fresh fruits of the highest quality and eggs cooked to order. This makes it worth getting a breakfast inclusive deal which is usually enough to see you through to dinner unless you have a large appetite. Lunch and dinner options are more limited and many might prefer the bright lights of Marbella and Puerto Banus for a more varied gastronomic experience.

Clients need to be aware of the location which is a ten minute, ten euro taxi ride from Marbella itself, double that to Puerto Banus. There is nothing around the hotel itself, apart from private villas, and some people may not like the relative isolation. For many a hire car would provide the necessary independence. Young people in particular may not be so happy here but the older generation would probably prefer the peace and quiet.

Room Tip: An upgraded room is worth having.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Monteros M, Director General at Los Monteros Spa & Golf Resort GL, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Thank you very much for your comments, we really appreciate them.

We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay at Hotel Los Monteros

And mainly, I would like to thank you very much your comments regarding our staff. Our goal is that our guests feel home away from home.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you soon.

Yours sincerely,

Fernando Al-Farkh
Corporate General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    540
    256
    105
    42
    32
See reviews for
184
471
22
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

The hotel is stunning. We had a superior room which was very large with a great sitting area & large terrace with sun loungers. The bathroom had every fitting you could want including a whirlpool bath & rainwater shower. The corridors to the rooms were wide & had indoor gardens at intervals. The staff were very helpful & friendly. The breakfasts were to die for with everything you could imagine including champagne (prosecco really but still a nice touch) Overall a very beautiful hotel.
The only downside & it's really a big one is that you are
1. NOT on the beach there is a hotel bus to take you there,is in walking distance if you would rather. Once you get there the beach club is absolutely stunning but bear in mind that it's not open on mondays possibly tuesdays-we left on monday.
2. NOT in Marbella-it's a 11 euro taxi drive away-Marbella beach front is a bit like Blackpool but the old town is charming. Puerto Banus is very nice. There are many boutiques with liquidation sales. There are the usual designer boutiques but also some very reasonably priced ones amongst them.
All in all it's a fantastic hotel but you are a bit marooned there as there's nothing else around.

Room Tip: definately get a superior room-much larger & well worth the little extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank flowersof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Monteros M, Director General at Los Monteros Spa & Golf Resort GL, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments.

We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and I would like to inform you that I have take note regarding your comments.

It will be a pleasure for us to welcoming you soon again.

Yours sincerely,

Fernando Al-Farkh
Corporate General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Donington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

This is a lovely hotel but our standard room was rather dated and faced on to the motorway which was disappointing. The room was very clean and comfortable with lovely toiletries and chocolates at bedtime. The t.v was upgraded but in fact it was worse after the change!! Perhaps a cheaper package was offered? The staff were pleasant. The grounds and pool areas were well kept. Breakfast was excellent with Moet on offer. As usual drinks and food were very expensive. Reduce the prices to entice guests. Taxis were expensive but readily available at the hotel. A return trip to the casino in Puerto Banus was 45 euros. Not a good casino-no atmosphere. Hire a car to visit other places. Avoid Fueringola at all costs. Benelmadena is lovely. Good eateris and a good atmophere in general. Cheap and easy parking.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms on floors 1and 2 left of front door face the motorway so avoid these if you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isobelmalloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Monteros M, Director General at Los Monteros Spa & Golf Resort GL, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your nice comments , for we make an effort to excel everyday in that area in particular.

We would love to have you back here and show you that there is much more to Los Monteros than this experience. Not for nothing we have lots of wonderful comments in social media.

Kindest regards,

Fernando Al-Farkh
Corporate General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Nice hotel conveniently located.
Room and the pools were great and service was excellent.
Not all English speakers at the hotel and can be a problem, but helpful.
Not full of English holidayers and more Spanish flavour.
Only downside is you need a shuttle or drive down to the beach, but not far away.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank momayet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Monteros M, Director General at Los Monteros Spa & Golf Resort GL, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Dear Customer:

I appreciate your kind review and your feedback.
We endeavor everyday to improve our quality of service and it is very important for us to hear our guests.
Thank you once again and we hope to welcome you back to our property in the near future.
Yours sincerely,

Fernando Al-Farkh
Corporate General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

We spent three nights at Los Monteros just before Easter. It is outside of Marbella, but there is a taxi rank at the hotel, so we found it great to just forget about the car and leave it in their car park. We had a standard room, but it had everything we wanted. The breakfast was excellent with good service, but we were staying out of season. We ate in the restaurant once and the meal was one of the best we've had for a while and again with very friendly service. The only negative we had was that we didn't manage to turn the heating down in our room, but we didn't ask anyone to look at it, so it wasn't too big an issue. We like to have a window open at night anyway. We live in southern Spain and will definitely stay there again when we fancy a short break.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jane98765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Monteros M, Director General at Los Monteros Spa & Golf Resort GL, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Dear Customer:

We appreciate your kind review and your feedback in regards to the restaurants.

We endeavor everyday to improve our quality of service and it is very important for us to hear our guests.

Thank you once again and we hope to welcome you back to our property in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Fernando Al-Farkh
Corporate Generla Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Just spent 5nights in hotel . Have no complaints. Excellent breakfast . Evening meal vey good standard. Hotel outside centre of Marbella but good bus route for 1.18 euros each way .junior suite room number 608 very spacious with plenty of storage ,clean towels twice a day with dressing gown and slippers provided. Grounds lovely . Plenty of quiet places to relax inside and outside in grounds. Staff very attentive. We arrived early but as room ready we were allowed to check in early which was really appreciated. Good market place to visit in Center on Monday and la Canada shopping Center very good.beach front in Marbella nice to walk along with plenty of nice eating places. Peurto banus worth a visit .

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Monteros M, Director General at Los Monteros Spa & Golf Resort GL, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Dear Guest,

I truly appreciate your positive comments. I am very pleased to hear that you had such a great experience with us during your stay.

I hope that during your next stay you will be able to enjoy not only the hotel but also the weather, the sun is shining today at La Cabane, our Beach Club which is now open to the Public for the Spring Season.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Fernando Al-Farkh
Corporate General Manaher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kapellen, Belgium
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Having had to stop our golf day, due to heavy rainfall, we arrived at the hotel at about 2PM., wet and a bit disapointed. We were told by a haughty reception employee that it was too early to get our room and that we had to come back after 4PM. No alternative was offered, so we went on to discover the neighbourhood, I must admit not in too good a mood. But when we came back (after 4PM) we were warmly welcomed, by another and more friendly person, and when we were shown our room, our disappointment vanished. The room, a junior suite, was just marvellous. A nice sunny terrace wirth sunbeds did the trick. Diner in the evening was sub standard and the champagne breakfast next morning was gorgeous.

Room Tip: The junior suites in the number 400 and 500 have a sunny terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reymerswael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Monteros M, Director General at Los Monteros Spa & Golf Resort GL, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write your opinions and feedback regarding your stay in our hotel. It is a pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed a pleasant week with us and that you were satisfied with our rooms, restaurant service and staff. We will pass along your praise to the entire hotel staff. Surely, feedback like yours motivates us to continue working hard so that our guest´s experience continues being pleasant and enjoyable.

Kindest Regards

Fernando Al-Farkh
Corporate General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marbella hotels
4.1 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 70 in Marbella
1,687 reviews
5.4 mi away
Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella
2.6 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Estrella del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#15 of 70 in Marbella
1,622 reviews
2.9 mi away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
10.1 mi away
Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Monteros Spa & Golf Resort GL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Monteros Spa & Golf Resort GL

Property: Los Monteros Spa & Golf Resort GL
Address: Carretera Cadiz Km. 187, 29603, Marbella, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Marbella
#6 Spa Hotel in Marbella
#8 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#11 Family Hotel in Marbella
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
#14 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Los Monteros Spa & Golf Resort GL 5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the most exclusive area of the Costa del Sol, just few minutes from Marbella and Puerto Banús, is the iconic Hotel Los Monteros, a reference in the area. Combining tradition, art and exquisite surroundings, this establishment offers a unique setting for enjoying excellent accommodation, indulging Mediterranean cuisine, practice your swing in the Golf Mile or enjoy one of the most exclusive Beach Clubs in Europe, "La Cabane". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Los Monteros Spa & Golf Resort GL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Monteros Spa & Golf Resort GL Marbella, Andalucia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing