We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good but not fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Los Monteros Spa & Golf Resort GL
Ranked #13 of 71 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“good but not fabulous”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Ok, now I should justify the title of my review.
Being a luxury lifestyle blogger, my expectations are always high. First of all, when I chose to stay in a five star hotel, I expect that someone will greet/welcome me and of course will help me out with all the suitcases ( I travel heavy).The scenario at Los Monteros was a little bit different....no welcome, no greeting, no help. Only a receptionist (who by the way, do not speak English) struggling to find my reservation. First impression - bleah.
Secondly, Los Monteros pitch itself as a resort and SPA...I would recommend to all people avoid the "SPA" there otherwise they will leave more stressed rather than relaxed. And here is my story: second day, appointment at their SPA for a manicure ...again, the staff from the SPA barely can say hi...and then the crazy thing started. I expect from a five star SPA employee to know ,at least, the basic stuff about a manicure...but not here. The lady who was supposed to do my nails was completely useless. Not even the smallest clue about cutting nails. This is bad... very bad. I should take a picture of my nails to see how that lady did her job. Big unlike.At least she was smiling all the time.
What I did like at Los Monteros was their beach club, La Cabane, which really looks like a luxury private club where you can enjoy your champagne whilst sunbathing.
Another BIG LIKE is the champagne breakfast they serve every morning...a wide range of food, delicious natural juices, good service and ...yeah, nice champagne. Well done for this.
I really hope that my review gives a real insight about a real experience at Los Monteros.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cosmin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Monteros M, Director General at Los Monteros Spa & Golf Resort GL, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your personal experience in Hotel Los Monteros Hotel & SPA 5* GL.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, specially the breakfast buffet and our Beach Club "La Cabane".

It is through our guests' feedback that we can target areas that need to be improved. Constructive comments like yours help us improve our services. Regarding the SPA and your check in , necessary measures have been taken in order to offer the best service to our guests and to avoid experiences like yours. We would like to inform you that all of our staff at the front desk, speak English so it comes as a surprise to us to hear from you that the person that checked you in did not speak English.

Hoping your impressions will get better in a possible next stay; we look forward to welcome you again in the near future please do not hesitate to contact us our booking department for your next visit.

Yours sincerely,

Fernando Al -Farkh.
Corporate General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    530
    247
    99
    42
    30
See reviews for
180
463
21
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Our stay at Los Monteros was our only disappointment during our two week stay in Spain. Firstly, a month before our stay, we found out that they mistakenly had booked an extra room which we did not need. I asked to have it cancelled but they said they would not as it had to be cancelled by our travel agent who made the booking. Even though our travel agent dealt with it, upon our visit, the booking was not corrected, and a higher room rate was being charged. Despite their acknowledgement of my earlier cancel request, and seeing the email confirmation which showed the correct booking info, they refused to make the correction and i was billed for the extra room.

The Hotel itself is clean and the grounds were well maintained - but it falls short of what North Americans would consider 5 star. The pool was simple and not really designed for kids. Our room was very large and quite luxurious, but it was musty and had an unpleasant odor. The room had Glad Plugins everywhere and obviously to mask the smell. The beach is a 10 min walk or a short shuttle ride, but i expected the beach to at least be visible from the hotel, which it was not. Staff was professional, but with the exception of the bellhop, not very friendly. Over- all facilities and service fell well short of expectations of a 5 star hotel and not worth the money.

Room Tip: don't book on lower level, I suspect that these rooms are musty due to location
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Monteros M, Director General at Los Monteros Spa & Golf Resort GL, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Dear Guest.

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Los Monteros Hotel & SPA 5* GL in Marbella for your stay and for taking the time to write your personal opinion about our hotel. Our guests' feedback helps us improve day by day.

We are glad you enjoyed our facilities and services .Regarding the location of the Hotel,we are in a privileged location in a residential area surrounded by villas,just a 10 minute drive to the Old Town in Marbella and 45 minutes away from the airport. There is a taxi stop at the entrance of the Hotel and a bus stop in front of it as well, which also makes it easier to move around the area. At the front desk there is the possibility of renting a car and the concierge is always happy to help our guests with this and any other requests.

We have an exclusive Beach Club "La Cabane" which is aprox.500 metres close to the beach and we provide transportation from and to the Hotel throughout their opening hours.

You may not have noticed it but we have two pools, one especially for children. This summer our Kids Club was located around this area for kids to enjoy.

Regarding your booking, we did indeed checked with the travel agent who made the booking and confirmed that they did not send a cancellation. According to our cancellation policy and having in mind we were in the middle of August, we applied the cancellation fees.But no more or less money that was initially agreed. The travel agent contacted the hotel and informed us that they would refund you the money, so we hope this matter has been sorted out by now.

Hoping your impressions will get better in a possible next stay; we look forward to welcome you again in the near future please do not hesitate to contact us our booking department for your next visit.

Yours sincerely,

Fernando Al -Farkh.
Corporate General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

The hotel needs to be renovated. The rooms are uncomfortable and
Looks cheep for a five star hotel . But the staff are friendly and they should be working in a better hotel.
And to the to use the hotel facilities is expensive and also the minibar is over priced .
The hotel is good for old people to bring back the 80s

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rpharaon78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Monteros M, Director General at Los Monteros Spa & Golf Resort GL, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience in Los Monteros Hotel & SPA 5* GL.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we thank you for the acknowledgement of our staff who are always doing their best to provide our guests with an unforgettable experience.We will pass on the congratulations.

In terns of the rooms, we would like to inform you that most of our Junior Suites have been redecorated and refurbished. We have kept the original decor in some rooms since a part of our regular guests demand this type of rooms and decor; we believe it keeps our special atmosphere. However, since we are immersed in an ongoing process of improvement we have plans to update and refurbish some more rooms in the future. For your next visit may we suggest you let us know your preferences so we can honor them.

Once again thank you for your feedback, it is through our guests comments and opinions that we can improve. We will keep in mind your suggestions for future plans.

Please do not hesitate to contact our booking department for future reservations.

Yours faithfully,

Fernando Al-Farkh.
Corporate General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

The hotel is what it is. 5 stars maybe 10 years ago but fading fast. service average. i had an issue with my bill. i raised it with reception at check out and just got shrugging shoulders. However La Cabane is a different world altogether. This beach club is a gem. Raised high above the beach overlooking the Med. The pool is stunning, the facilities excellent and the people fabulous. The hotel staff could learn from the staff here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Monteros M, Director General at Los Monteros Spa & Golf Resort GL, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Let me start by thanking you for sharing with us your experience in Los Monteros Hotel & Spa 5* GL. It is through our guests' feedback that we can learn and improve our services.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the Hotel facilities. Our Beach Club La Cabane certainly is a great experience worth trying. Its spectacular views to the sea leave most of our guests breathless...Thank you for your acknowledgement regarding our staff there, we will pass on the congratulations. Regarding the issue with your bill at check out since I do not have any details or knowledge of the situation I can not give an opinion but I am positive that our staff at the front desk do their best everyday to help and give the best service to our guests. I am glad to inform you that there is always a Manager in the hotel at our guests' disposal for anything you may need during your stay.

As we have previously stated some other time, we are inmersed in a ongoing process of improvement.We are giving our best every day to make our guests' experience unforgetable and make everyone feel at home.

Regarding our rooms we are glad to inform you that we have kept the original style in some of them while we have renovated some others. Some of our guests really like the original style; all tastes are valid and equally important to us. For your next visit please let us know your preferences and we will try our best to honor your requests. As one of our guests once said: “the decor is not cutting edge contemporary minimalism but is certainly not dated and tired”.


It will be a pleasure to welcome you again in our hotel so you can see for yourself our improvements.Please do not hesitate to contact our booking department for your next visit.

Yours faithfully,

Fernando Al-Farkh.
Corporate General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Very nice hotel
Very clean and a touch of luxury.
Rooms are nice.
For the beach you have to drive(shuttle) to their beach club.
Beach Club is very expensive.
At the hotel pool the food and bevarage service is very poor...you have to walk to the restaurant to order and after that the waiter is trying to find you on your sunbed.
Clean hotel...bit expensive..could do some improvements.
Far away from Fuengirola.
Close to Marbella (6km)
Very nice breakfast

Room Tip: The rooms are very nice. Try to get a room with pool view otherwise there will be the chiller noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Monteros M, Propietario at Los Monteros Spa & Golf Resort GL, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear Guest.

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience in Los Monteros Hotel & Spa 5* GL.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and our facilites.

Our Beach Club La Cabane is very well known exclusive place in the area and our guests can enjoy special prices. Even more, we have special offers that include a day in La Cabane and discounts on food and beverage. We suggest for your next visit to check our website for this kind of offers.

We take good note of al your suggestions and we will keep them in mind for future plans.
Please do not hesitate to contact our reservation department for assistance in your next booking.

Yours faithfully,

Fernando Al - Farkh
Corporate General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dollar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Upon checking in the receptionist was not terribly helpful. We were taken to our room and it was ghastly, nothing like the photographs. The room was tired, the carpets were shredded in parts of the hall and the bed was hard and uncomfortable, there was a stale 'foosty' smell The bathroom was not pleasant either, certainly not five star. It was so awful I checked immediately back out.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cfraserdevlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Monteros M, Director General at Los Monteros Spa & Golf Resort GL, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear Guest.

First of all we would like to thank you for sharing your personal experience in Los Monteros Hotel & Spa 5* GL with us.

By your comments I presume that you have stayed in one of the few standard rooms that the hotel has standard, which will be completely renovated in the future. Let me suggest that for your next stay you may choose one of our junior suites or deluxe suites , which are newly renovated and they are the most numerous in the hotel, so you can definitely have a completely different opinion and experience according to your expectations of 5 * GL.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you again in our hotel as we are sure we can improve your experience among us if you give us another chance.

Please do not hesitate to contact our booking department for your next visit to Marbella.

Yours faithfully,

Fernando Al - Farkh
Corporate General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel at 9pm and were very impressed by its grandeur. Nice entrance and lovely public sitting area welcome you.
Room that we had was fine, large bedroom area (not sure about the elephant wallpaper!) and then downstairs to the decent size bathroom. I would say the room was probably the least pleasing bit of our stay.
The bar area was very relaxing, staff could be a bit quicker! You can sit outside near the pool area which is lovely.

We did not eat in the restaurant so cannot comment but surroundings look elegant.

We took ataxi to Marbella which cost 12Euros each way to Orange Square. Everything was closed by the time we arrived, perhaps because of being out of season!? We ate in a cheesy American diner - not quite what I had in mind!

Breakfast - probably the best selection I have had in my trips anywhere! The selection was just fantastic, gorgeous fruit and pastries. Could have stayed for hours!

We spent a few hours by the pool which was nice and peaceful, drinks brought on request as you would expect.

Overall a nice hotel, not one to stay at if you want to be close to Marbella as it is a fair way. Didn't play this time but their golf course is great!
I would go back if we want to relax and vegetate somewhat!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Adchesty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Monteros M, Director General at Los Monteros Spa & Golf Resort GL, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear Guest.

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Los Monteros Hotel & Spa 5* GL for your recent visit to Marbella.

It makes us very happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay, specially our breakfast offer and the pool area.

For your next visit let me recommend you choose a junior suite or suite deluxe, spacious rooms with functional and modern decorations.

We hope to see you again so that you can enjoy our new Gastronomic offer that includes thematic nights such as Flamenco and Tapas that our current guests are enjoying on Fridays...
Our hotel sure has a special and charming atmosphere and hopefully we will see you again soon in your next visit to Marbella.

Please contact our reservations department or check our website for future bookings. It will be a pleasure to welcome you again .

Yours faithfully,

Fenando Al - Farkh
Corporate General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marbella hotels
4.1 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 71 in Marbella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,610 reviews
5.4 mi away
Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella
6.6 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#15 of 71 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 71 in Marbella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,415 reviews
2.6 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Estrella del Mar
10.1 mi away
Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Monteros Spa & Golf Resort GL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Monteros Spa & Golf Resort GL

Property: Los Monteros Spa & Golf Resort GL
Address: Carretera Cadiz Km. 187, 29603, Marbella, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Marbella
#6 Spa Hotel in Marbella
#8 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#11 Family Hotel in Marbella
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
#14 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Los Monteros Spa & Golf Resort GL 5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the most exclusive area of the Costa del Sol, just few minutes from Marbella and Puerto Banús, is the iconic Hotel Los Monteros, a reference in the area. Combining tradition, art and exquisite surroundings, this establishment offers a unique setting for enjoying excellent accommodation, indulging Mediterranean cuisine, practice your swing in the Golf Mile or enjoy one of the most exclusive Beach Clubs in Europe, "La Cabane". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Los Monteros Spa & Golf Resort GL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Monteros Spa & Golf Resort GL Marbella, Andalucia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing