We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful breakfast, so much "jamón"!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Los Monteros Spa & Golf Resort GL
Ranked #14 of 69 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I couldn't imagine staying here on vacation, but that doesn't mean that this is a bad hotel. I was here for a company conference and it was genuinely very good. In particular, the breakfast was really great! I think that Spanish breakfast rivals a hot English Breakfast in terms of something to really look forward to and this place does a very good job.

The architecture looks like 1970s and they have modernized it a lot, but there's only so much you can do with furniture and color schemes. I don't hang out around hotel lobbies, so I don't really care that much.

There are nice gardens and a big pool, but the hotel is on a hill above the beach. It felt like a very long and steep walk to the bottom of the property where we had a large evening event and also to the beach (outside the property) where I joined some colleagues for drinks at the end of our conference.

The room was really fine with an excellent view of the sea. Wifi was good and the TV and bed were fine. The bathroom was good (includes a bidet like most Mediterranean hotels) with a good shower.

Again, the hotel was fine for my business meetings and it was a nice bonus to have the pool (which I didn't have time to use), sunshine and beach nearby, but I would never come here for my personal vacation. It's just not my style and that's not the fault of the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank icunurok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Monteros M, Director General at Los Monteros Spa & Golf Resort GL, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear client,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Your feedback is important for us, as it helps us to improve our services and facilities.

First of all, we appreciate your positive comments about your recent stay in Hotel Los Monteros Spa & Golf Resort. We are happy to hear that you really enjoyed our services and facilities (excellent breakfast, nice gardens and pool, good WIFI…).

Regarding La Cabane, as you state, this exclusive beach club, besides a great location next to the sea, has an excellent gastronomic offer in a relaxing atmospherre. Thank you for your kind comments!

Los Monteros staff remains at your entire disposal for any requirement you may need to assure a pleasant stay in the near future. We look forward to welcoming you soon!

Please, do not hesitate to contact our Bookings Department before your next visit in order to offer you the best available rate.

Yours faithfully,

Fernando Al-Farkh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,083)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

356 - 362 of 1,083 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights in June. As we had an early flight and could not go to our room till later in the afternoon, after checking in we were taken to a room where we could shower and get changed. This was a lovely touch. We then left our luggage safely In the luggage room and decided to have a wander around. The hotel is not very big. There is a main block of rooms then a further two storey block in the garden area, which is where our room was. The gardens are lovely and well looked after. We had lunch in the restaurant then took a walk down to La Cabana beach club for a look around before we finally checked into our room later that day.

We booked a deal direct with the hotel's website for the over 55's. You had to stay a minimum of 5 nights on full board, this actually worked out cheaper than booking for 3 nights half board through our tour operator. We emailed the hotel and asked if we could swap our lunch from our last day to lunch on the day of arrival due to our flights both being early. They emailed us back saying that would be fine.

The reception staff all speak very good English but a lot of the other staff do not, however we never found this a problem as they always went away and came back with a member of staff that could. I would say the average age of guests was 50 and over. Only a few young children there. Nothing for children to do other than the children's pool that we could see.

We were in Suite700 in the garden building. This room was adapted for use by disabled guests, so therefore the bathroom was well equipped and had a massive shower. Only thing wrong in the bathroom was the mirror above the sink was obviously at a height for someone in a wheel chair and as my husband is 6'3" this was a bit of a problem but we got round it. Lots of nice toiletries, hairdryer and shaving mirror in bathroom. Robes and slippers were also provided.
The room was large and bright on the first floor. Nice big wardrobes, plenty of hangers and a safe. There were also lots of plug sockets which is rare. Only let down was the bed was two singles pushed together and we would have preferred a king size, but on saying that beds were very comfy. Room had a nice balcony with table and chairs. We got the afternoon and early evening sun which was lovely for sitting out and having a glass of wine before going out.
The is a mini bar but it is quite expensive. We went to the local supermarket and brought some water, beer and wine and just put it in the mini bar. We thought there would be tea and coffee making facilities in the room but you had to pay 10 euros a day for a kettle, and tea bags, sugar, coffee and fresh milk were delivered every day. We thought this was a bit expensive but we paid it as we do like a cup of tea as soon as we wake up. You have a turn down service of an evening and you got clean towels and lovely chocolates on your bed. This was never done to early so you were never disturbed whilst getting ready for dinner. The room was always cleaned to a high standard every day. We had a problem with the shower on the first night, it overflowed and flooded the bathroom. However we reported it to reception, (think the drain was blocked) and this was sorted out immediately and the mess was all cleaned away for our return after dinner. We had no more problems after this. There is free wifi all over the hotel even by the pool.

Plenty of empty sunbeds all day long. There is one large pool and then a children's pool on the grass area. You are given towel cards and you exchange these for towels with the life guard or the man who puts out the sunbed cushions. Only umbrellas are with the sunbeds around the pool. However there are plenty of shady places under the trees on the grass area if that's what you want. The pool was lovely and clean and a nice temperature. There were never more than half a dozen people in it at a time. Waiters come round the sunbeds taking orders for drinks but we just used to take down our own bottles of water.

We were on full board. This included 3 course meals and a bottle of water and either a beer or a glass of wine with each meal. Breakfast is served from 7.30 until 11am. So much choice, Cooked eggs, however you wanted them, bacon, tomatoes, ect, cooked meats, cheeses, fresh fruits, pastry's you name it they had it. Even champagne which you helped yourself to. Tea was served in tea pots left on your table which we like. Lunch was served from 1.30 till 4pm. The restaurant doors were open wide over looking the pool so you got a nice breeze. There was an outside eating area, but unfortunately you got the smokers sitting there so we stuck to sitting inside by the doors. Thought some of the linen had seen better days, it was all bobbly and if you were wearing a dark colour you were left with lots of little white bits of fluff on you. There are three menus to choose from. One is the full board menu and one is the Al a Carte Menu and then there is a special dietary menu. There were a couple of special dieticians that advised you what you could eat from the special menu if you had dietary problems, which I thought was very good. The full board menu changed daily, except for the desserts they were the same every day. You had several choices of each course to choose from. All the food was very good, with the odd meal not so good but that was from personal taste. We do not have salt in our meals and found a few meals a bit to salty for us but as I said nothing wrong with the meals just our personal taste. The only off putting thing about the menu was it was the same menu for your evening meal as well, so we found ourselves having to decide what we would have for lunch or dinner. We felt that you need another menu for the evening meal. We did ask if we could order from the a La Carte menu, which we was able to do, but you have to pay the full price. We felt you should have been able to just pay a supplement for the meal as you had already paid for a meal you would not be eating. We ate of the Al a Carte menu on our last evening and I must say it was the best meal of our stay. If only we could have paid a supplement we would have eaten from this menu more in the evenings. Evening meals were served from 7.30 till 11pm. This was great as we were still around pool at 7pm soaking up the beautiful sunshine.

The bar was open till 1am. Drinks were quite pricy so we only had a couple of drinks. The bar area had nice comfy seating and also a games area with dart board, pool table ect. Big TV screen in bar for the football. There were also nice quite seating area's dotted about if you wanted to read a book.

We got a taxi into Marbella one evening at the cost of 10 euros going but 13 euros coming back. Nothing much to see there, so the next evening we went to Puerto Banus by taxi cost of 20 euros each way. Had a really lovely evening there. Lots of nice Yachts owned by millionaires to see, and lovely bars and restaurants. Drinks were very expensive but the restaurants looked about the same prices as at home.

La Cabana is a beach club a short walk downhill from the hotel. This opens at 11am till 7pm. There is a charge to use this beach club. It is very nice but why spend money on sunbeds when they are free at the hotel. They have a buffet on a Saturday and Sunday there which if you are a guest at the hotel you pay a supplement of 49 euros instead of the cost of 77euros. We were not there on these days to see whether it was worth the money or not. They call you a buggy to take you back to the hotel as it is all up hill on the way back. You can access the beach from here but it wasn't that nice.

We had a very enjoyable stay and just relaxed every day, which is what we wanted for this short break. We would definitely return if we could book on a special offer again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SUNBEDSUE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Monteros M, Director General at Los Monteros Spa & Golf Resort GL, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Guest,


Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Your feedback is very important for us, as it helps us to improve our services and facilities.


First of all, we appreciate your positive remarks about your experience in our Hotel. We are happy to hear that you really enjoyed our services and facilities (excellent room standards, food quality, sunbeds in pool area, great location…). Thank you for your comments!


All Los Monteros staff remains at your entire disposal for any requirement you may need to assure a pleasant stay in the near future. We look forward to welcoming you soon.

Please, do not hesitate to contact our Booking Department before your next visit in order to offer you the best available rate.


Yours faithfully,


Fernando Al-Farkh

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed here with my husband in June. It felt far removed from the busyness of Marbella and we had a thoroughly relaxing time. We upgraded to a suite which was beautiful and spacious. Staff were attentive throughout our stay, altough service by the pool was a bit slow at times. Dined in the restaurant on one occasion and the food was delicious, if not a bit expensive. We had a quick look at La Cabane beach club and it looked wonderful - we were leaving that day so could not spend time there, but will save it for our next trip!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Monteros M, Director General at Los Monteros Spa & Golf Resort GL, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Your feedback is important for us, as it helps us to improve our services and facilities.

First of all, we appreciate your positive comments about your recent stay in Hotel Los Monteros Spa & Golf Resort.

We are happy to hear that you really enjoyed our services and facilities (beautiful and spacious rooms, attentive staff, delicious food…). Thank you for your kind comments.

In your next visit, do no hesitate to visit our exclusive Beach Club, La Cabane. We look forward to welcoming you!

All Los Monteros staff remains at your entire disposal for any requirement you may need to assure a pleasant stay in the near future. Please, contact our Bookings Department before your next visit in order to offer you the best available rate.

Yours faithfully,

Fernando Al-Farkh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Me and my boyfriend really loved this hotel! It is so beautiful and relaxing, and the breakfast is AMAZING! The staff is so friendly, I have never experienced anything like it. This is not in the heart of Marbella, but for me, perfect location! The la cabane beach club is 700 meter from the hotel, really beautiful place! although the food in the restaurant was NO GOOD, and the staff seemed a little stressed out.. But it´s worth a try, maybe they just had a bad day. And, the beds are alittle bit hard, and the rooms are not top modern, but it doesn´t really matter.

Room Tip: upgrade your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank IseWes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Monteros M, Director General at Los Monteros Spa & Golf Resort GL, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear client,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Your feedback is important for us, as it helps us to improve our services and facilities.

First of all, we appreciate your positive comments about your recent stay in Hotel Los Monteros Spa & Golf Resort. We are happy to hear that you really enjoyed our services and facilities (beautiful rooms, attentive staff, amazing breakfast, perfect location…). Thank you for your kind comments.

Regarding La Cabane, we are pleased to know that you really enjoyed this exclusive beach club located next to the Mediterranea Sea.

Los Monteros staff remains at your entire disposal for any requirement you may need to assure a pleasant stay in the near future. We look forward to welcoming you soon!

Please, do not hesitate to contact our Bookings Department before your next visit in order to offer you the best available rate.

Yours faithfully,

Fernando Al-Farkh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

this hotel is the one of the oldest in marbella and still has the best relaxing accommodation ever. the quality of food and restaurant is the best. by the way they have the best buffet in all of marbella in la caban club ... all you can eat with a wow quality food you will dream of . i love marbella especially los monteros .

Room Tip: its an urbanization hotel and beach is 10 minutes walking distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ksaket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Monteros M, Director General at Los Monteros Spa & Golf Resort GL, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear client,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Your feedback is important for us, as it helps us to improve our services and facilities.

First of all, we appreciate your positive comments about your recent stay in Hotel Los Monteros Spa & Golf Resort. We are happy to hear that you really enjoyed our services and facilities (food quality, restaurant service, relaxing accomodation…). Thank you for your kind comments!

Regarding La Cabane, as you state, this exclusive beach club, besides a great location next to the sea, has one of the best Buffet on the Coast. We really appreciate you comments about its quality!

Los Monteros staff remains at your entire disposal for any requirement you may need to assure a pleasant stay in the near future. We look forward to welcoming you soon!

Please, do not hesitate to contact our Bookings Department before your next visit in order to offer you the best available rate.

Yours faithfully,

Fernando Al-Farkh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I'm not normally one to write reviews but after staying at this place based upon the positive feedback seen on Trip Advisor I felt it necessary to give everybody a more realistic picture of what this hotel is all about as the vast majority of the the reviews are so far off the mark it is unbelievable.

Having stayed at numerous 5 star hotels over the last 20 years I can say unequivocally that there is abosultely no way on this planet that this hotel can be considered a 5 star. The service is next to non-existent, facilities leave a lot to be desired and to top that off the food is just terrible.

So first things first we opted to stay in the cheapest room option for our 7 day stay in June 2014. For your money you get placed in a very tired old part of the hotel which is a throwback to the 1980's. The carpet in our room was bleach stained in several places and was just genrally tired with a balcony that was in much need of a paint job. On the plus side the bed was very comfortable.

Then we have the restaurant, now this is really really poor. Notice I said restaurant there and not restaurants. The website may lead you to believe that there is an element of choice here but essentially there is a single restaurant masquerading under different guises depending upon what time of they day it is. Suffice to say whenever you eat there you can be guaranteed reluctant service and very bad food. Michelin star I don't think so somehow.

Now we move onto the pool area which is pleasant enough but don't expect any service as the staff will happily let you bask in the sun all day without popping over once to to see if you would like to buy a drink to cool yourself down. If you do by chance happen to get the attention of a member of staff they will reluctantly take your order and try and run back inside before anybody else around the pool catches onto the idea that there is somebody here to serve. Oh yes and the other really quite irritating aspect of the pool is that you are given cards upon arrival which act as a deposit for the towels you use by the pool, upon arrival and departure you must exchange these with the pool boy which is can be quite annoying when you decide you want to leave for the day and have to mess around trying to find him after he has gone AWOL.

There is a gym on-site of you could call it that. In reality we are talking a tiny room hosting 2 machines, an exercise bike and treadmill that is on it's last legs. There are some free weights too which go up to 10KG too if you can be creative enough to construct a decent workout using them. Forget about having a nice quick sauna or steam room after your the gym unless you want to pay to use the spa for the entire day. There was another gym area which appeared to have slightly more facilities than this "fitness centre" but this was bolted closed throughout our stay.

The hotel is isolated from everything too so unless you can stomach the delicacies that Los Monteros has to offer then you will be driving or heading out in a taxi to the old town where you can find an abundance of decent restaurants that far surpass what is on offer here.

By the way most of the nice pictures you see are not the hotel they are the beach club which is a 10 min walk from the hotel which you can use at an additional charge. We went there a couple of times and it was a much nicer expeience than this grossly outdated substandard hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Monteros M, Director General at Los Monteros Spa & Golf Resort GL, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Dear client,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Your feedback is very important for us, as it helps us to improve our services and facilities.

I would like to inform you that Los Monteros Hotel & Spa meets all requirements and services that the law provides to display the category of 5 stars GL. These requirements are not base on personal preferences but on the facilities and services that the hotel offers to guests.

Nevertheless, we would like to inform you that we have taken into consideration your remarks in order to improve our services and facilities. Please, accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused.

All Los Monteros staff remains at your entire disposal for any requirement you may need in the future. We look forward to welcoming you soon!

Yours faithfully,

Fernando Al-Farkh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed for 6 nights recently and our stay was very hot and cold.

First off we had chosen the cheaper room option, so cannot have any complaints when we were put into the older part if the the hotel, that said the standard and quality of those rooms leave an awful lot to be desired, after 1 night be promptly upgraded our room to a duplex which was at €40 per night a great decision. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, clean and new.

On out first night we decided to try the restaurant, after a quick scan of the menu my expectations where sky high, both because of the content and price being inline with gourmet London eateries. What we were served was just plan disgusting... I ordered the Iberian suckling pig, which turned up on my plate just white and slimy, shockingly under cooked and with a side of grainy purple mash which again was just nasty. My partner ordered the duck which was borderline better but if it wasn't because of pure hunger and typical English politeness, both dishes would and should have been sent back.

Unfortunately I believe due to the location of this hotel and lack of competition in the close vicinity they have become complacent in terms of quality and price of their food. A taxi to and from McDonalds would probably prove better value and more palatable.

That said we spent one evening down at the beach club La Cabane, and was completely blown away by the quality and selection of the buffet, cannot recommend highly enough if you head down there. Just astonishes me even more how 2 restaurants owned and run by the same company can vary so wildly!

To sum up its obvious to see Los Monteros, in its day clearly was one of the best places to be seen, the list of past celebs who stayed there in reception is a prime example. To me now, it seems half way to getting with the times, just a few aspects left dragging its heals.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sherer4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Monteros M, Director General at Los Monteros Spa & Golf Resort GL, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Your feedback is very important for us, as it helps us to improve our services and facilities.


Regardin your remarks about your recent stay, we have informed your our F&B Manager in order to improve our services and facilities. Please, accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused.

All Los Monteros staff remains at your entire disposal for any requirement you may need in the future. We look forward to welcoming you soon!

Please, do not hesitate to contact our Booking Department to offer you the best rate for your next stay.

Yours faithfully,

Fernando Al-Farkh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marbella hotels
4.1 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 69 in Marbella
1,881 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Vincci Seleccion Estrella del Mar
6.6 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#15 of 69 in Marbella
1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort
5.5 mi away
Puente Romano Marbella
Puente Romano Marbella
#7 of 69 in Marbella
1,449 reviews
10.1 mi away
Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Monteros Spa & Golf Resort GL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Monteros Spa & Golf Resort GL

Address: Carretera Cadiz Km. 187, 29603, Marbella, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Marbella
#8 Spa Hotel in Marbella
#10 Family Hotel in Marbella
#11 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
#14 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
Price Range: £95 - £387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Los Monteros Spa & Golf Resort GL 5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the most exclusive area of the Costa del Sol, just few minutes from Marbella and Puerto Banús, is the iconic Hotel Los Monteros, a reference in the area. Combining tradition, art and exquisite surroundings, this establishment offers a unique setting for enjoying excellent accommodation, indulging Mediterranean cuisine, practice your swing in the Golf Mile or enjoy one of the most exclusive Beach Clubs in Europe, "La Cabane". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, Mirai, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Los Monteros Spa & Golf Resort GL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Monteros Spa & Golf Resort GL Marbella, Andalucia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing