We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fabulous - We won't holiday anywhere else!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marbella Club Hotel
Ranked #3 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Absolutely fabulous - We won't holiday anywhere else!”
Reviewed 7 September 2011

My husband and I took our 4 year old son for a week and had an amazing holiday. We have been before but not with our son and we had forgotten how wonderful this hotel is. The setting is superb with a luxury feel yet allowing for a relaxed holiday. Our son went to the kids club for a couple of mornings and really enjoyed it, they put on different acitivities everyday for them and even swapped arrangements round to suit you if you requested something different. We find it hard to get a hotel that caters for both our desire to be in luxury surrounds with a real touch of class, and allows our son to actually have fun. The beach is wonderful and the pools are superb.

We had an excutive room close to the top pool which was beautiful. The breakfast were truly wonderful and there is more than enough choice for all tastes. The outside bar and restaurant in the evening is candlelit and like something out of a film set and you are surrounded by history. The service is also excellent and nothing is too much trouble.

The hotel is brilliantly placed for both Marbella and Puerto Banus so you can eat out here which is nice to add some variety to the holiday.

We can't recommend it enough and will definately be returning next year!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAGP, Director of Sales at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review, we are very glad to hear about your stay at the Marbella Club and that you and your family enhjoyed so much, especially your 4 years old son at the Lions Club.

We hope to welcome you again very soon, with best regards.

Carlos Quereda
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    496
    107
    39
    19
    18
See reviews for
205
282
17
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Stayed in August with family. Beautiful setting but never felt totally welcome or that I was getting value for the top dollar we paid. Staff feigned caring and trying to help, but they never were able to offer concrete solutions. Gym was far away and impossible to find--I never did find it. Wait staff just going through motions. We lost power at midnight. Cleaning staff in their haste to complete turn down service swept up with the dirty laundry a special pillow my 12 year old had brough from home (luckily it was recovered the next day). Our package included a spa service for everyone--staff was downright nasty to our 16 year old son and made us feel like outsiders. No water available anywhere unless your were willing to pay 7 euros. I assume hotel will respond to this post with a typical nice and stock response and possibly cast me as hard to please. I have traveled extensively and stayed at very nice properties--never have I paid so much and felt so uncomfortable and not cared for. You may stay for the beauty and possible the cache--you won't stay for the service, caring or value.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank david d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAGP, Director of Sales at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2011
Dear Guest,

Please allow me to address directly your comment pointing out that the Hotel will respond to your review with a typical nice and stock response and possibly cast you as hard to please.

We take very seriously your comments and all the guests comments due they help us to understand what we are doing wrong and what we are doing right,so please allow me to take very good note to all your comments and bring them to the attention of the next Executive Board in order to resolve them if apply, such as providing complimentary water in all the rooms daily, not only at arrival and ensuring that all guests are charmed by our Team,

Also with all due respect, we would not cast anyone, we are just Hoteliers that do our best in order to make your stay memorable, that is what we work for and in many cases, specially at the Marbella Club, it is also our passion.

With best regards,

Carlos Quereda
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We booked the Marbella club with the anticipation that it was the best beach fronted hotel in the south costal Spain region with an enviable history and reputation and this was to be our family two week summer holiday. We booked one of the private villas which at 3000 Euros per day is expensive but having stayed at villa type hotels around the world this seemed to be the best we could find. We had booked for two weeks in august.
One arrival after a totally unsatisfactory taxi journey, organised by the hotel and at 165 euro we felt ripped off because of the intended exclusive destination. We were deposited at the reception entrance where no one greeted us. The check in was unfriendly, uninformative and totally unwelcoming for a hotel of such supposed stature.
The villa was well presented but the view from the garden was of a huge wall, at 3000 per day I would have expected a sea view, or at least any view!!
The internet failed for three days. The service was highly overpriced and the waiter service was sullen and uninspiring.
The advertised gym and tennis courts were in a sister hotel some 500mtrs plus away
After one day of the pool use our youngest daughters blond hair had gone green due to the high chlorine/mineral content in the water and the inadequate pool filtration system, The hotel ‘guest relations’ tried to help but were totally useless. We eventually went to a local hairdresser and purchased an appropriate neutralising shampoo.
We had a buffet meal on the first day, which was very good but the bill was 300 Euros, excessive for what it was.
After four days of this we decided that this was a hotel living on its past reputation and not focused on being in the 21st century, but charging 21st century prices and more. We have stayed in hotel all over the world and I have had better quality service in a Holiday Inn.
I would not recommend the Marbella club to anyone for anything other than a short weekend break for the experience and even then you may need a loan for lunch!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paul g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAGP, Director of Sales at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2011
Dear Guest,

First of all apologies for the unpleasant situation with your daughter hair, we are constantly checking the levels of Chlorine in the garden pool to make sure they are reduced to a minimum and this event does not happen anymore.

We also take good note on your concern about the Villas view, and we understand that you would expect a sea view, but at Marbella Club most of the rooms are located on the gardens, including the Villas. Just 11 rooms and 3 suites are located right by the sea.

All in all, we understand that your experience was not pleasant at all, and we will review all your point of dissatisfaction in order to improve the Marbella Club experience and make it better.

With best regards

Carlos Quereda
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos, Nigeria
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2011

The hotel is very nice and perfect for a minibreak.
The staff (mostly) are friendly and willing to assist despite the language barrier. (I speak English).
However the needs to be a review of the security especially in the Villas, which is where I stayed, because they are a bit isolated from the rest of the hotel.
A few quid was nicked of my wallet we were unable to unravel this mystery to date.
This was reported to the hotel management and I hope it will serve as motivation to have them improve on the security.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natespiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAGP, Director of Sales at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2011
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your review, It is quite new to us, even if the Hotel has more than 50 years of History, to be consider a Rural Hotel being located right by the Mediterranean Sea between Marbella Town and Puerto Banus.

We take good note of your comments about the Security and we will review if we have had any issues of this kind during the month of your stay, and we'll make sure we will contact you with a solution.

With best regards,

Carlos Quereda
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Firstly the good points - the staff at this hotel are great and can't do enough for you; the onsite restaurants are very nice, however unfortunately the room service menu lacks anything exciting or regional - we didn't go to Spain to eat burgers, hotdogs and pizza! The pools are nice, and again the plentiful staff make it very easy by always supplying towels and drinks as required. The negatives; usually in similar resorts the "high priced" (i.e. €3,000+ per night) villas have one of the best locations in the resort, a nice view and exceptional facilities - here while internally they are fine, the location, backing onto a rear lane and over looking garages without any view is very disappointing - you could probably find a lot better value (the rooms are a lot cheaper and a better location so this point is mainly about the villas). Secondly while billed as family friendly, it wasn't very "friendly" when we were there, mainly due to some (majority) of the other guests clearly disliking the fact that children exist on the same planet as them. Even quiet well-behaved children were getting dirty looks and in one case another guest stormed away from the KIDS pool because the children were laughing and playing (relatively quietly, no splashing etc.). Lot's of gaudy gold jewelry, too small bikinis on too old people and lot's of looking down the nose (even though I think we had the most expensive villa in the resort!). The location is good for the region, but having been to the some of the best beaches in Australia, the Pacific islands and the caribbean this beach doesn't even rate. Also another small negative, but annoying none the less, is you can't use the free wifi with an iPhone or iPad as it requires a special login that doesn't function on these devices. Overall it was a nice holiday but we wouldn't return as for spending that much money we've had much better holidays elsewhere and without so many grumpy egomaniacal guests.

Room Tip: Don't bother with the villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swisssimonc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAGP, Director of Sales at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2011
Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for your review of the Marbella Club and understand your opinion regarding the location of the Villas.

Please note that we feature 2, 3 and 5 bedrooms Villas, being the 3 and 5 bedrooms Villas located in a much quieter area of the Hotel and the 2 bedrooms Villas right on the heart of it.

Some of our guests love the quiet location and privacy of the 3 and 5 bedrooms Villas and others love the location of the 2 bedrooms, that depends on their preference, which we try to understand when booking the Hotel, but again, we totally understand your opinion.

Regarding the KIDS, they are very welcomed at the Marbella Club and they really enjoy the Hotel and the Lions Club (Kids Club), and we agree, they behave super well when staying at the Marbella Club...about your perception of other guests not enjoying the kids I guess that can happen almost everywhere and I hope you understand it is difficult to deal with.

We also take good note of the issue regarding the WIFI for iphones and ipads and we are taking inmediate action to solve it.

We thank you sincerely for your time in writing this review and hope to welcome you again to the Marbella Club.

With best regards,

Carlos Quereda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

After having a city break in Madrid, we were excited to spend some quality time by the sea in Marbella where we could relax and sunbathe. However, the weather did not agree with us and it rained constantly for 3 days. As much as the weather leaving much to be desired for, the hotel itself is beauitful. Full of palm trees and wild flowers, it is magnificent. The breakfast is good, not amazing but not too bad, Spanish ones are never that good! The 2 lunches available were not great though because there is either the small little pool bar next to the small 2nd pool or the main restaurant but unfortunately it was 75 euros per peson!! Because of the bad weather, the hotel were extremely kind and allowed us to leave early without any charge. I think the hotel is beautiful in sunshine, but disastrous in rain because everything is outside and you stay in villas. Overall, if the weather had been good, then I believe the whole experience would be and I would stay there again if I return to Marbella.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sweety9London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAGP, Director of Sales at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time and review of the Hotel, we appreciate you enjoyed the grounds and your comments about the rain are very accurate, the Hotel does not shine in its maximum when it rains, but fortunately it happens only 40 days per year, anyhow we are sorry that it happened during your stay.

On your next visit I suggest you as an alternative for the Beach Club lunch of the Pool bar, the MC Cafe, which is a very nice brasserie open for lunch and dinner where you will find both guests and locals in a very nice atmosphere.

We hope to welcome you very soon and hopefully in a sunny lovely weather,

With best regards

Carlos Quereda
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
428 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,118 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

I've just returned from a four day break at Marbella Club, without my family. I tended to remain and dine on the property. Marbella Club hotel is an oasis and by Spanish standards, is the best there is. The buffet in the beach club still remains terrific after all these years. In summer the fish restaurant on the beach is very good although booking is essential. Lazing around reading a book can be accomplished: by the pool in the beach club with superb waiter service; on the beach by the beach club also with waiter service; further along the beach by the MC restaurant or by the upper pool which is nearer reception and also provides waiter service. The quality of food, service and accommodation is worth the cost, which some may find expensive but at least you get what you pay for.

I actually believe that the restaurants are all well worth the cost when compared with the best restaurants in the area.....and it's safe.

There is a sister hotel along the road called Puento Romano. One can visit and charge drinks/meals etc to your Marbella Club room. My wife visited last year with one of our children and had an awful time at Robertos. I visited last Thursday evening and was served the worst Bellini ever in their main cocktail bar.....caused by whatever the awfull bottled juice is they are adding to the champagne at the same time as listening to a bad pianist who kept making mistakes accompanying a 4th rate singer who murdered "At Last" which is the theme song of Sandy Lane in Barbados. I then walked down to Roberto's, the hotel's restaurant by the beach and was treated so badly by the Maitre 'd that I walked out and drove back to Marbella Club Hotel. By comparison, Marbella Club Hotel was bliss. I first sat in their outside Grille bar and drank a first rate cocktail with listening to their superb pianist and a very good female vocalist. The staff at6 this bar are wonderful and ensure everyone is happy......in fact, having stayed at Leading Hotels all over the world, this is one of my all-time favourite bars which is as lovely before sunset as it is fantastic in candlelight. I then obtained a table in the Grill restaurant which, although without Roberto's sea view, looks simply stunning and the food and service was absolutely top class.....better than it has been in the past when it was still very good indeed. They may be connected and be sister hotels but I would NEVER stay at Puento Romano......I have stayed once and find it pointless when the far superior Marbella Club is a stroll away. The Puento Romano bar service is hopeless compared to Marbella Club and while I have had good service and food at Roberto's in the past (my wife and I even became engaged there....it used to be so lovely), I no longer would choose to visit due to lowering of standards. Even the Marbella Club guests appear to be a better class of people.

The only problem I can find with Marbella Club is that the sunbeds are not terrificaly comfortable nor are the cushions in the restaurant which is why I normally grab an extra one and double up. Perhaps they are due to be renewed soon? David Shamoosh has done really well in re-invigorating the hotel and I guess he can't replace everything at once. Earlier this year I stayed at the Setai in Miami and Sandy Lane in Barbados where the sunbeds/cushions are FAR superior in every way. That is my main gripe. Otherwise, I love Marbella Club. Concierge could be slightly more together.....previous vist concierge messed up a reservation at Robertos and after five minutes of arguing with a two ladies on reception desk, my wife was accused of making the reservation for the following week.....either Roberto's being useless or a Marbella Club concierge error. Then, after more delay they said, "I suppose we could fit you in." My wife was then shown to a table in corner by hotel pool....very noisy as pool still in use, my wife kept getting splashed. My wife had booked a table overlooking the sea. Lady receptionists refused to move my wife. The food was awful.....really disappointing. I find all receptionists at Marbella Club at front desk and all concierge staff to be really helpful and welcoming although there is one older guy there who can be a little moody.

Guest rooms are good. Grounds wonderful. Staff are happy to drive you around in buggy's if you are infirm. There's a kids club, a decent spa.....it's very nice. Life is too short to bother staying anywhere else in the Marbella area than Marbella Club.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank BarryAscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAGP, Director of Sales at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2011
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to write such a extensive review of the Marbella Club, it is certainly very helpful for us in order to spot areas that can be improved and not only be proud of the positive sides of the review.

We take good note of the Sunbeds and Restaurant cushins, on our next Board Meeting it will be taken to attention.

With very best regards, we hope to welcome you again very soon!

Carlos Quereda
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marbella hotels
0.4 mi away
Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella
1.0 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 70 in Marbella
1,694 reviews
1.6 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#15 of 70 in Marbella
1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort
2.1 mi away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
2.0 mi away
Hotel Claude Marbella
Hotel Claude Marbella
#1 of 70 in Marbella
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marbella Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marbella Club Hotel

Property: Marbella Club Hotel
Address: Bulevar Principe Alfonso von Hohenlohe S/N, 29600, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Marbella
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Marbella
#1 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#1 Spa Hotel in Marbella
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
#4 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
#10 Family Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Marbella Club Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Southern Spanish Costa del Sol, on the heart of the 'Golden Mile' only 5 minutes to Old Town Marbella and Puerto Banus, the Marbella Club Hotel • Golf Resort & Spa enjoys 325 days of sunshine. Open year round, the renowned Marbella Club Hotel, one of the "The Leading Hotels of the World" was once the private residence of Prince Alfonso von Hohenlohe and features 37 luxury bedrooms, 78 suites, 14 Andalusian-Style villas and the majestic Villa del Mar, throughout 42.000 Square metres (452.083 Sq. Ft.) Of lush subtropical garden.In addition to its stunning accommodations and grounds, the Marbella Club also offers guests a wide variety of amenities and activities including two outdoor heated swimming pools, seasonal water sports, fitness centre, 10 tennis and 4 paddle courts at sister hotel, Puente Romano (only a 5-10 minute beach walk away), Kid's Club by minimec, shopping gallery, equestrian centre, Dave-Thomas designed 18-hole golf course within the hills of Benahavis, Thalasso Spa, an 800 square metre (8.611 Sq. Ft.) State-of-the-art facility with dynamic indoor sea water pool, steam baths and saunas, a solarium and 12 treatment rooms and more. The hotel also features six bars and restaurants including the famous Beach Club Buffet, legendary Grill Restaurant and avant garde MC Cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Marbella Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marbella Hotel
Marbella Club Hotel Andalucia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing