We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as ever, perhaps even better.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marbella Club Hotel
Ranked #3 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2012

I stayed at Marbella Club last week. On my previous visit I had a slight accident and tripped over a two inch high separation line between two rows of parking spaces opposite the main entrance. I was impressed to notice on this visit that they have removed the raised demakation line and replaced it with just a plain, white painted line. This is extremely impressive. Nobody else would do this. It proves just how much the management of Marbella Club really do care about their guests.

Once again I had a perfect stay with lovely staff. The housekeeping department is especially good but really, everything here is first rate. I particularly liked the recently refurbished bathrooms. What totally makes this place for me, apart from the staff, is the outside grill restaurant.....the food and service is terrific. I used to visit Sandy Lane often in Barbados. I much prefer Marbella Club as the staff are not intrusive......it is relaxed and they achieve this without getting on your nerves asking how everything is every few minutes. This hotel is exceptional and it starts from senior management down to housekeeping. Stay nowhere else in Marbella.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BarryAscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarbellaClubHotel, Public Relations Manager at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with positive feedback, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Marbella Club Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa and we are delighted that you like the newly refurbished rooms. This Winter season we will be undertaking further refurbishment, so we look forward to your feedback on that too.

Observations and comments such as yours provide us with valuable feedback which helps us to create a memorable experience for our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Marbella Club Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa in the future and hope that you find your stay as pleasant an experience as you did in May.

Yours Sincerely,

Georgina Shaw
PR & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (719)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

407 - 413 of 719 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2012

This is on of the nicest resorts we have stayed in anywhere in the world. We chose it for location but also because we wanted a place to relax after some serious touring throughout Spain. It lived up to and exceeded our expectations. The staff, the beach restaurant, the more formal restaurant were all exceptional. Our only complaint was the breakfast value for a continental breakfast in our room for two..60 euros. Otherwise this was a lovely place to relax...

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Amayesing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarbellaClubHotel, Public Relations Manager at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

Firstly we would like to thank you for taking the time to leave comments on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you consider us to be the nicest resort that you have stayed in anywhere in the world.

We would like to apologize about the small disappointment which you experienced and I would like to ensure you that your comments are currently being looked into by senior management. Here at the Marbella Club Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa we are continuously striving to improve our customer service and comments from guests provide us with valuable feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back and hope that you enjoy your next stay as much as you did in May.

Yours Sincerely,

Georgina Shaw
PR & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012 via mobile

Having stayed in Spain many times before I decided to give it a break for a few years,recently stayed at the plaza new york,many times at hillside beach club turkey,all excellant but I must say this hotel rates totally amongst them,service,food and scenery excellant,felt pampered by the staff and always attentive,I will always stay here when in Marbella.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SheikHassan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarbellaClubHotel, Public Relations Manager at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

Thank you for your positive feedback, it is our aim to take good care of our guests and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Marbella Club Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa.

We are most grateful that you took the time to share your comments about your time spent at the hotel though TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and hope that you enjoy the experience as much as you did in April.

Yours Sincerely,

Georgina Shaw
PR & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Great Hotel, beautiful rooms. Our room overlooked the pool and we had a wonderful balcony and extremely spacious bathroom.

The staff were extremely welcoming and accommodating. We felt that the Breakfast let down the standard as the quality and variety of the options on order did not compare to other hotels of the same standard.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nneoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarbellaClubHotel, Public Relations Manager at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2012

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Marbella Club. We are constantly striving to improve our customer service and comments such as yours provide us with valuable feedback.

Your comments have been passed on to our Restaurant Manager and the matter is currently being looked into.

We look forward to welcome you back to the Marbella Club Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Georgina Shaw
PR & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Welcome to the 1960's. This would have been a wonderful although elitist hang out a few decades ago. Time has moved on but the Marbella Club has not and it isn't very happy about it.

There must be a dearth of top class places in Marbella as the hotel was pretty full. It's nice enough and the guests are almost exclusively "yobbo free". The setting is lovely and our room was well appointed but by no means breathtaking. None of the staff are particularly happy to deal with you and the prices are right up there.

If you are going to put yourself up as five star then you have to follow that up across the range of services you offer. The Marbella Club just does not do that.

Two examples of why this place has an attitude problem. Firstly, this is the type of place where you wait to be seated at the pool and a chap comes along with towels and helps you settle in. At least this was our experience for the first two days. On day 3 however, the man on duty when asked for "two places please" (in Spanish) he uttered something and waved his arm in the general direction of the pool and walked off. He was busy on his mobile phone texting someone by the looks. My next small example is the reaction of the reception manager to me presenting my already paid bill with an overcharge of €100. My approach was non confrontational in the extreme: "you must be right but I can't think what this is for". Despite it being their mistake there was not one word of apology. Not once. He was polite and efficient in getting the charge put back on my card (I had checked out a couple of hours previously) but in all other high end establishment this would have been a serious issue and handled differently.

My point is that the guests are often seen as an inconvenience and that there is not a philosophy that ever faciliates an apology to a paying guest. I should add that I was paying a bill totalling €1,700 for a three night stay, this is not a cheap place to hole up in and I think you should expect a certain level of service.

Others on here have applauded the quality of the breakfasts. OK, it's a nice setting but it's more like 3 stars than 5 stars. I had literally inedible bacon on one morning. Compare this with any other similarly priced hotel and it wil knock spots off the Marbella Club hotel. The problem is that there seems to be nothing comparable in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TheMightyRawdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAGP, Director of Sales at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to review the Marbella Club.

We take very seriously your feedback and we are very dissapointed with lack of consistency at the pool service and the check out issue, anyhow we appreciate you mention that the issue was solved.

We will also address your coments about the breakfast quality in our next management meeting.

We hope that you will give us another change in the future so we can overcome your perception of the Marbella Club, with best regards.

Carlos Quereda
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel from 3rd March to 10th March 2012.

It was our wedding anniversary on the 3rd March, the day of our arrival.

I called the hotel in advance and they arranged a bunch of flowers and a bottle of champagne for our arrival. This was waiting for us with some fruit, in our room when we arrived.

We booked an executive double and this is what we got.

The hotel is made up of two storey rooms set in the grounds of the hotel complex, our room was close to the freshwater pool and close to the Grill, bar and reception.

There are cottages, villas and private houses on the estate.

There is a great history to the place and you can imagine the various celebs have had enjoyable times at this place over the years

Positives:

- The staff were fantastic, service levels very high
- The cleanliness of rooms and the complex as a whole was of a high standard, rooms cleaned every day, our room staff spent at least thirty minutes each morning cleaning the room, evening turn down also saw the room again cleaned, this was fantastic service
- Relaxed atmosphere, for a five star hotel it was a smart casual kind of place
- Food good, quite expensive as you would expect, extensive wine cellar
- 24/7 room service, we had lunch on our patio one day, the guys came and made up a table, white table cloth, flower on the table, wine in cooler, food served with a smile, just excellent
- Location, great for the beach and walks along the promenade
- Secure, security staff very obvious, lots of security cameras
- The overall feel of the place was very relaxing, just what we needed

Negatives

- Could be critical and say certain parts looked a little tired, but for us this added to the charm of the place
- Access from the hotel could be troublesome, as you depart straight onto a main road
- Mercedes Benz were doing a press launch of their new SL model to the worlds press, this made parking difficult, but as my wife and I love motor cars, it was an inconvenience we were happy with
- No leisure complex, you can use the sister hotel down the road, but not convenient, this is not good enough for a five star hotel
- Golf and riding centre were great, but a good 40 minutes away up into the hills above Marbella, but great quality

Overall, a great trip, relaxing and the hotel did not disappoint, we will return.

End:

Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank olicanaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAGP, Director of Sales at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your feedback and the positive words about the staff, location, service and charm of the Marbella Club.

Please note that we are taking very good note of your comments about access to the Hotel, the fitness facilities located in our sister Hotel and that certain parts look a little tired, measure are going to be taken in order to solve these issues.

Also we apologize for the parking inconvinience caused by the car launch, but we are glad you enjoyed it too.

We remain waiting for your next visit, with best regards.

Carlos Quereda
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Still the best place to stay in Marbella,Class,That's what make the difference.
An old Gentlemen,full of charme and knowledge,like it's used to be,when it's about 5 stars.The breakfast is plenty and of good quality,There's always some fresh flowers everywhere,The restaurant is a standard hotel food, but of a highly innovative menu and there is a good selection of wine,The garden is well kept,everything is efficient and impeccably clean.
Golf is a bit far and rundown,but still the best course and the best clubhouse.
Many which categories 5 stars,rarely seem to have the same class and atmosphere.
It's special and it's a treat to getaway for a few days there.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank umaGenova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAGP, Director of Sales at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Dear Guest,

We appreciate very much that you enjoy the elegance and soul of the Marbella Club.

We are constantly working on updtating parts of the Hotel without damaging its old world elegance, as the Champagne Room and the Grill Restaurant cases.

We hope to welcome you soon and enjoy the Marbella Club, with best regards.

Carlos Quereda
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marbella hotels
0.5 mi away
Puente Romano Marbella
Puente Romano Marbella
#8 of 70 in Marbella
1,397 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 70 in Marbella
1,806 reviews
2.1 mi away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
#10 of 70 in Marbella
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#16 of 70 in Marbella
1,746 reviews
8.3 mi away
Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort
2.0 mi away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 70 in Marbella
1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marbella Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marbella Club Hotel

Address: Bulevar Principe Alfonso von Hohenlohe S/N, 29600, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Marbella
#1 Business Hotel in Marbella
#1 Spa Hotel in Marbella
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
#4 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
#10 Family Hotel in Marbella
Price Range: £295 - £887 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Marbella Club Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Southern Spanish Costa del Sol, on the heart of the 'Golden Mile' only 5 minutes to Old Town Marbella and Puerto Banus, the Marbella Club Hotel • Golf Resort & Spa enjoys 325 days of sunshine. Open year round, the renowned Marbella Club Hotel, one of the "The Leading Hotels of the World" was once the private residence of Prince Alfonso von Hohenlohe and features 37 luxury bedrooms, 78 suites, 14 Andalusian-Style villas and the majestic Villa del Mar, throughout 42.000 Square metres (452.083 Sq. Ft.) Of lush subtropical garden.In addition to its stunning accommodations and grounds, the Marbella Club also offers guests a wide variety of amenities and activities including two outdoor heated swimming pools, seasonal water sports, fitness centre, 10 tennis and 4 paddle courts at sister hotel, Puente Romano (only a 5-10 minute beach walk away), Kid's Club by minimec, shopping gallery, equestrian centre, Dave-Thomas designed 18-hole golf course within the hills of Benahavis, Thalasso Spa, an 800 square metre (8.611 Sq. Ft.) State-of-the-art facility with dynamic indoor sea water pool, steam baths and saunas, a solarium and 12 treatment rooms and more. The hotel also features six bars and restaurants including the famous Beach Club Buffet, legendary Grill Restaurant and avant garde MC Cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marbella Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marbella Hotel
Marbella Club Hotel Andalucia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing