We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Original and spot on location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marbella Club Hotel
Ranked #3 of 69 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

I love Marbella club hotel.
The ambience and location are inpeckabble.
The only thing to point a finger on is the food and service at the pool bar it . The food is boring and didnt almost not update since last year and the service really need an american service course and english protokol then it will be perfect

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Liv F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranckSibille, General Manager at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Liv F,

Thank you for your review about the Marbella Club.

It is a pleasure to hear that you have enjoyed the atmosphere and location of the hotel, they are really unique features that we are very proud of.

I have taken good note of your comment regarding the Garden Pool Snack and will ensure the service & menu offering is top notch!

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at the Marbella Club.

Kind regards,

Franck Sibille
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (747)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 747 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed in this one earlier this year. I like marbella but in spite of being the poorest province of spain prices ,especially in semana santa,the holy week are stunningly absurdous and no one actually cares about your wellbeing or not. We spent like 500 euros anight, 90 euros for brunch and 30 for champagne (1glass) but no vibe at all. The pool was dirty,the rooms kind of outdated and ants evverywhere and the seaside promenade terribly dirty. The beach not nice either, the rooms from the 1980s....never ever renovated.....We did not enjoy our stay.....
I like Marbella , though ....

Room Tip: Get a bu galow to have more privacy but inquire the price before!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DRLuxury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranckSibille, General Manager at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear FRANK C,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.

We regret to hear that your stay was not as extraordinary as we would wish it to be. I am extremely disappointed to read that our pool was not up to our standards during your stay. Please accept our apologies for this shortcoming.

All our rooms and suites are refurbished but ten and these will be done this winter. Kindly contact me directly for your next visit and I trust you will keep a memorable souvenir of Marbella and the Marbella Club.

With best regards,

Franck Sibille
Area General Manager
sibille@marbellaclub.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

we chose this hotel as part of Fine Hotels and Resorts of Amex Platinum. It is very far from the standard FHR we have stayed over the years :(( The grounds are absolutely beautiful but the rooms are very old, furniture is stained and ripped and the smell is musty.... We are paying the price of a 5 star hotel I would give it 3 stars when it comes to quality. Location is great and the food is good. The pool area bar by the ocean, which is very nice, stops serving drinks at 5 pm.
We are very disappointed with the place and will not recommend it. The website is deceiving
By the way the pillows and beds are very bad quality and we are in a one bedroom suite that has 2 single beds put together..... I have pictures but can't find the way to upload them.

Room Tip: I did not see one and I was shown 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Myrnaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranckSibille, General Manager at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Myrnaman,

I appreciate that you took the time to write about our hotel and I regret to hear that your stay was anything less than extraordinary. We are currently refurbishing all our rooms and suites. We only have ten to go and they will be done this winter.

Our Pool Bar service stops at 7 pm and in Summer the bar at the Chiringuito at MC Beach is open until 2 am. I am sorry we gave you the impression the bar was closed at the Beach Club.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back so that you can truly enjoy the experience of the Marbella Club.

With best regards,

Franck Sibille
Area General Manager
sibille@marbellaclub.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

we were disappointed. My wife and I have been coming to Marbella for over 12 years but this trip was celebrating our 10th wedding anniversary - so we wanted somewhere a bit special to celebrate. We decided to pop in to the legendary Marbella Club for a glass of champagne - staying there has always been a bit beyond the budget. First impressions were that it was lovely but a little tired. On entering the hotel we could not find a bar so asked where we could find one for a glass of champagne. We were told there was not a main bar open until 7pm so we would need to go to the pool bar. No bar open for champagne at the legendary Marbella Club? What? Anyway, were there and so decided to go. The prices were so extortionate that we had to change our choice to a little wine and cheese! We are used to high prices in lovely hotels having been to Villa Padierna several times but this was poor €14 for seven slices of Manchego? Chris Tarrant was sat behind us which added some interest to an otherwise expensive disappointment.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranckSibille, General Manager at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Andy D,

Thank you for your review.

We would like to congratulate you and your wife on your 10th wedding anniversary and we are pleased to hear that you chose the Marbella Club to celebrate your special night.

As you truly say our Champagne Room and Summer Terrace bar only open at 19:00 like most of International Evening Venues in the World. During the day we offer three other bars located at the pool snack, the beach club and the Chiringuito at MC Beach. They are more informal and much more convenient to our guests who can still enjoy a drink in their casual & beach outfit.
Kindly contact me directly next time you are in Marbella and I would be delighted to organize a memorable evening at our Champagne Room for you. We certainly would like you to keep a profound memory of our hotel.

With best regards

Franck Sibille
Area General Manager
sibille@marbellaclub.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Marbella Club hotel has the apparently best Kids Club in town.
The structure and location is amazing, so is the young staff that really look after our kids.
But careful now because kids do not want to go back to that list of wonderful fun activities.
do you know why? because the management is not children friendly and makes them feel uncomfortable all the time!!
The daily menu is down to three dishes with the choice of two only.
Fried chicken or fish with chips, pasta bolognese and pizza when the kids make it.
At times they are denied water simple because they could not bother.
Don't use the dance room, nor the music room, nor the perfume room.
Think twice before leaving your kids there even for the day.
it is surely not worth what you pay for.
Us parents feel guilty for leaving our children there and go to work.
We honestly thought it would have been the best option available but never came across any place or any one so anti kids.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fgtosca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranckSibille, General Manager at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear fgtosca,

Thank you for taking the time to send us your comments. We are very proud of our Kid´s Club, the programs we offer and the management. We take great care to ensure that the children are not only well taken care of, but also receive an educational and fun experience. The feedback that we have had from our guests has been phenomenal. We have been working vigorously on the children´s menus and offerings throughout the hotel as we value them as both current and future guest; which is why I was so disheartened to read about experience with our Kid´s Club. I would really like the opportunity to speak with you so that I may better understand your concerns. I am certain we can come to a solution.

Please kindly contact me directly at your earliest convenience.

Kind regards,

Franck Sibille
Area General Manager
sibille@marbellaclub.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Spent three beautiful days at this luxury hotel. The grounds are beautiful beyond description; the rooms large and very comfortable - the staff very friendly and helpful - management always on hand to help. Restaurant prices are, however, exorbitant and cannot justify such high prices - especially when it's almost US$100 for a buffet lunch!
But a stay here is highly recommended for the sheer pleasure of the location and ambience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Halrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranckSibille, General Manager at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Halrice,

We truly appreciate your review.

It is lovely to read that you have enjoyed our location, service and comfortable rooms and also that you have fell in love with our gardens.

We are looking forward to welcoming you in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Franck Sibille
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I chose this hotel because it wasn't a large modern impersonal establishment, it had character history and style. I was not disappointed at all. From the moment you arrive until the moment you leave the service is second to none. The staff REALLY do care, they are not simply reading from a script.
The hotel and its restaurants are not cheap , however the quality backed up by the service do justify the cost.

I have looked at under par past reviews, and honestly disregard them- these people simply do not get what this hotel is about! It is about class, style discreet customer service and attention to detail in all areas. I own and run a 5 star establishment myself, so I am naturally critical, well for the first time ever there is simply nothing to criticise .

So impressed were we I have today contacted the general manager to book up for 2 weeks next year so that we can bring our grandchildren.( Simply because the booking calendar for next June doesn't seem to be available yet) Children I hear some people gasp!! Yes there were children staying while we were there, all of whom had parents who had clearly taught them how to behave in such establishments, however when we went to check out the kids club on site we were once again blown away by the offering! Our granddaughters will love it!

The style, attention to detail and service whispered "class". Remember new money "shouts"- old money -whispers!!!

Room Tip: We favoured the room over looking the smaller pool, but that was personal choice! The Beach Club bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fusspot123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranckSibille, General Manager at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear fusspot123,

It was with great pleasure that we read your review about the Marbella Club. Your comments about our caring staff, the quality of our facilities and attention to detail means a lot to our team. We take great pride in the authentic service and experiences we provide to our guests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you and your family to the Marbella Club next June.

Kind regards,
Franck Sibille
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marbella hotels
0.5 mi away
Puente Romano Marbella
Puente Romano Marbella
#7 of 69 in Marbella
1,450 reviews
1 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 69 in Marbella
1,883 reviews
8.3 mi away
Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Hotel Claude Marbella
Hotel Claude Marbella
#1 of 69 in Marbella
363 reviews
1.6 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#15 of 69 in Marbella
1,819 reviews
2.1 mi away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marbella Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marbella Club Hotel

Address: Bulevar Principe Alfonso von Hohenlohe S/N, 29600, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Marbella
#1 Business Hotel in Marbella
#1 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Marbella
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
#4 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
#9 Family Hotel in Marbella
Price Range: £242 - £1,424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Marbella Club Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Southern Spanish Costa del Sol, on the heart of the 'Golden Mile' only 5 minutes to Old Town Marbella and Puerto Banus, the Marbella Club Hotel • Golf Resort & Spa enjoys 325 days of sunshine. Open year round, the renowned Marbella Club Hotel, one of the "The Leading Hotels of the World" was once the private residence of Prince Alfonso von Hohenlohe and features 37 luxury bedrooms, 78 suites, 14 Andalusian-Style villas and the majestic Villa del Mar, throughout 42.000 Square metres (452.083 Sq. Ft.) Of lush subtropical garden.In addition to its stunning accommodations and grounds, the Marbella Club also offers guests a wide variety of amenities and activities including two outdoor heated swimming pools, seasonal water sports, fitness centre, 10 tennis and 4 paddle courts at sister hotel, Puente Romano (only a 5-10 minute beach walk away), Kid's Club by minimec, shopping gallery, equestrian centre, Dave-Thomas designed 18-hole golf course within the hills of Benahavis, Thalasso Spa, an 800 square metre (8.611 Sq. Ft.) State-of-the-art facility with dynamic indoor sea water pool, steam baths and saunas, a solarium and 12 treatment rooms and more. The hotel also features six bars and restaurants including the famous Beach Club Buffet, legendary Grill Restaurant and avant garde MC Cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Stayforlong S.L., TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Marbella Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marbella Hotel
Marbella Club Hotel Andalucia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing