We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come on! ...this is simply the best!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marbella Club Hotel
Ranked #3 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Come on! ...this is simply the best!”
Reviewed 4 December 2009

Ignore the other reviews - read this one!

I have lived on and off in Marbella for the past 15 years. We sold our house a few years ago and now whenever we come back there is SIMPLY no other place to rival the MarbellaClub. It ooooozes history, it is STILL sexy, the LOCATION is great (a brisk walk to town along the seafront) and the service is unparalleled on the Coast.

People who have lived in Marbella for years use it as their meeting spot, it is a great pre-dinner drinks place...so much so that if Marbella had a Grand Hotel...this would be it - the place where everybody who is anybody in Marbella meets to see and be seen.

i would recommend this hotel to anyone - the young couple down for a few nights partying and beach; the young parents with boisterous kids who want to have an "upper-class-beach" experience; the elderly off-season couple who are down for a few days of RnR and perhaps visit the grandchildren, etc. etc. The MC has something for everyone!

It is private yet very public, you can use it as your hideaway or you can parttake in the public spaces. That is what makes this place a haven to return to.

Take it from me - I am pretentious enough to say "i know my Marbella" - and I recommend this hotel from my heart. You will love it too.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ILoveRoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAGP, Director of Sales & Marketing at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this review, 18 January 2010
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your lovely words about Marbella Club, we really appreciate them.

We would love to welcome you back soon, meanwhile please receive our best regards.

Carlos Quereda
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    513
    107
    38
    19
    19
See reviews for
211
289
18
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Marbella Club this fall for a re-energizer!
For me either May or October are great months to visit Marbella, not too many tourists and weather is still warm and sunny. We stayed in room 221 - my all time favorite room - with a lovely terrace to enjoy sunsets and big enough to host a small dinner party with friends.
Walking around the lush and scented gardens of the Marbella Club feels like pure therapy for the senses, but we also decided to indulge ourselves in the Thalasso Spa.

Me and my wife had flown in from South America and therefore started with a Jet-Lag treatment that took away all the pain and dryness that comes with a long houlflight. Followed by a Collagen Facial that put me to sleep because it was so relaxing. We tried different massages and all were good, there are to lovely Swedish ladies working at the Spa and they are strong as Vikings!

We started every day by a swim in the pool next to the breakfast restaurant followed by champagne breakfast where the superduper attentive waiter Javier took great care of us and met our needs with a smile. After one day he had memorized everything we liked. That is service!!

We enjoyed long lunches in the MC Café with some friends, and then spent a whole day by the beach. Another day we enjoyed the famous lunch buffet where we O-D´d on lobsters...

We had tennis lessons arranged by the hotel, these can be had at the neighbouring hotel PuenteRomano where there is what amounts to a championship tennis club - too good. We went for long walks on the beach and we ended most days in the Piano bar with a nice pre-dinner cocktail. Because of the lovely terrace in our room we enjoyed several dinners there with excellent room-service.
You can perhaps tell we THOUROUGHLY like this hotel and enjoyed it to the MAX.

After a week at the Marbella Club we felt more in love than ever and re energized for the rest of the Autumn!

Helpful?
1 Thank ILoveRoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth Western Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2009

The experience was awful. From arrival at the run down reception to the very dated suite.
Staff apart from a few notable exeptions give the impresion that you should not be there
and forget the idea that they are there to serve .This particularly applies to the main bar and the grill where I was served with the worst steak of my life.
Also the experence of binge drinking teenage children of British and Irish parents astonishing not to mention walking out first thing in the morning to be welcomed by empty beer cans and cigarette butts.

The only shining light was the MC cafe where the service was very good and friendly by a
happy young staff it would seem that the old guard is the problem.

Living in Australia we will stick to the likes of Aman , Four Seasons, and Trisara in Asia where a villa with your own private pool, wonderful service and food, all for a cost which is less than the Marbella Club Hotel.

Perhaps europeans use this property because of cheaper airfares but sadly it also cheapens the experience

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WA1A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAGP, Director of Sales & Marketing at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2009
Dear guest,

We thank you for your feed back and we feel very sorry about your impressions during the stay at the Marbella Club.

A message has been sent to your tripadvisor email, I remain at your entire disposal.

Thanks and best regards.

Carlos Quereda
Director of Sales & Marketing
Marbella Club Hotel · Golf Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2009

I strongly recommend the Marbella Club to anyone. Location is perfect, staff very friendly and the facilities are superb. Better to stay in the garden rooms by the pool as it is fresh and quite in the summer. The best lunch buffet I have ever seen. The superior suite rooms are just perfect!!! I could live there for a few months and still feel at home.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DuduSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAGP, Director of Sales & Marketing at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this review, 18 January 2010
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your feedback, we love to hear that you feel at home at the Marbella Club.

Please let us know when are you coming back, we would love to welcome you again.

All the best,

Carlos Quereda
Director of Sales & Markeing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2009

I had high expectations for this hotel based on reputation and other reviews. The service was good but sometimes snobbish, the room was fine but not luxurious, the breakfast buffet was very good, the beach was just fine.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maramu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAGP, Director of Sales & Marketing at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this review, 29 September 2009
Dear guest,

First of all many thanks for your review of the Marbella Club.

We appreciate your positive comments about the Breakfast and the service and we take good note about the downside impressions you had during your stay, we will certainly make sure we improve on those fields.

I'm sending you an email to your TripAdvisor account with further details.

Best regards

Carlos Quereda
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2009

I stayed at this hotel with friends in May 2009. It was one of the worst experiences at a hotel I have ever had ! I will also never be returning to tacky Marbella again. On arrival at the hotel at 12.30 pm we were told our room was not ready yet. We were then instructed to wait at the hotel's swimming pool until they would call me on my mobile when the room was ready. We decided to have lunch at the hotels poolside restaurant. The waiters were indifferent and almost rude to us. We paid almost 100 euros for a sandwich, a salad and two soft drinks. When asked to pay we told the waiter that we did not have a room number assigned to us and the waited started shouting and accusing us of trespassing the grounds ! I left some cash and headed off to the pool.
There were no towels around so we had to ask one of the pool staff who again shook his head when we told him we had not been assigned a room number yet.
We failed to receive the phone call so at 5 pm I returned to reception. I was so annoyed that I asked what the cancellation policy was as i wanted to check out the following day. I was told there was a cancellation fee of 24 hours so I would have to pay for atleast two nights. Eventually the manager came down and agreed to let me check out the following day just paying for the one night.
The hotel is situated in the middle of no where. You have to get a taxi to the restaurants unless you are keen on walking a good distance. This hotel is suited to people who just want to stay in the hotels grounds and pose around the pool.
Marbella is old and tacky and puerto banus is equally as bad. The restaurants are overpriced and awful. At one restaurant the manager kept humiliating his asian workers. So much so that one of the girls asked me why he kept being abusive to her.
In general the whole experience was a disaster. I ended up leaving the very next day and spent a more enjoyable break in Malaga city.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank candib17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAGP, Director of Sales & Marketing at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2009
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your feed back, we are very sorry to hear the inconviniences of your stay at the Marbella Club.

A message to your TripAdvisor email has been.

Thanks and regards,

Carlos Quereda
Director of Sales & Marketing
Marbella Club Hotel · Golf Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2009

I have stayed here on numerous occasions over the years and have nothing but praise for the hotel, yes it is expensive but the service and ambiance of the place make up for it. on several occasions i have been upgraded on several occasions(once to one of the private villas with it's own pool, very nice) although kids are welcome but it is not really kids orientated the buffet lunch is truly amazing but again very expensive i suggest a walk down to the beach at lunch and eat in one of the cafe/restaurants on the beach and save yourself a small fortune. when booking push to get breakfast included in your rate again a big money saver. the grounds of the hotel are beautiful and the pools clean and tidy the rooms are spacious with lavish bathrooms and quality amenities even if not staying here it is worth a visit just to see it

  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rohas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAGP, Director of Sales & Marketing at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this review, 29 September 2009
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your review, we are very satisfied to hear about your experience at the Marbella Club.

As you mentioned, we are kids friendly and since last year we have add a kids club called the "lions club" where the little ones have fun and learn painting, drama, etc. This is also helps keeping the adult areas more relaxed.

Also as you well pointed there are several special packages that include the breakfast and other added values.

So thanks again for the review, we are sending you an email to your TripAdvisor email.

Best regards,

Carlos Quereda
Director of Sales & Marketing
Marbella Club Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marbella hotels
0.5 mi away
Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella
1.0 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#4 of 70 in Marbella
1,750 reviews
2.1 mi away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#16 of 70 in Marbella
1,673 reviews
8.3 mi away
Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort
2.0 mi away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 70 in Marbella
1,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marbella Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marbella Club Hotel

Property: Marbella Club Hotel
Address: Bulevar Principe Alfonso von Hohenlohe S/N, 29600, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Marbella
#1 Business Hotel in Marbella
#1 Spa Hotel in Marbella
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
#4 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
#10 Family Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Marbella Club Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Southern Spanish Costa del Sol, on the heart of the 'Golden Mile' only 5 minutes to Old Town Marbella and Puerto Banus, the Marbella Club Hotel • Golf Resort & Spa enjoys 325 days of sunshine. Open year round, the renowned Marbella Club Hotel, one of the "The Leading Hotels of the World" was once the private residence of Prince Alfonso von Hohenlohe and features 37 luxury bedrooms, 78 suites, 14 Andalusian-Style villas and the majestic Villa del Mar, throughout 42.000 Square metres (452.083 Sq. Ft.) Of lush subtropical garden.In addition to its stunning accommodations and grounds, the Marbella Club also offers guests a wide variety of amenities and activities including two outdoor heated swimming pools, seasonal water sports, fitness centre, 10 tennis and 4 paddle courts at sister hotel, Puente Romano (only a 5-10 minute beach walk away), Kid's Club by minimec, shopping gallery, equestrian centre, Dave-Thomas designed 18-hole golf course within the hills of Benahavis, Thalasso Spa, an 800 square metre (8.611 Sq. Ft.) State-of-the-art facility with dynamic indoor sea water pool, steam baths and saunas, a solarium and 12 treatment rooms and more. The hotel also features six bars and restaurants including the famous Beach Club Buffet, legendary Grill Restaurant and avant garde MC Cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Marbella Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marbella Hotel
Marbella Club Hotel Andalucia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing