We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The gem of Costa del Sol”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marbella Club Hotel
Ranked #3 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2010

This is a true experience of Costa del Sol. Much like the Splendido in Portofino it represents class and elegance of a lost era. Some of the rooms may not be 'up to date', but the total ambiance an general quality of the resort makes up for it.

Stayed at the hotel several times both for pleasure and business, solo and with partner, always been very pleased.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mr_rosenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAGP, Director of Sales at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2010

Dear guest,

Many thanks for your feedback and comments about the Hotel atmosphere, we are happy also to be compares with such a special place as the Splendido in Portofino.

We look forward to welcome you soon, our best regards.

Carlos Quereda
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (732)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

466 - 472 of 732 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2010

We visited the Marbella Club Hotel for three nights at the beginning of June 2010. We had booked a Garden View room but were told that the particular room had not been refurbished.
We were somewhat perplexed with our room: Having been told the room had not yet been renovated, we arrived to find ourselves in a beautifully sumptuous and very large bedroom at ground level, with sun terrace, complete with table and chairs and loungers, as well as a very large bathroom, all appearing very modern. We have travelled a lot, and I would hazard a guess that there are hotels out there who considered us “picky”, but everything in this room was impeccably clean by our standards and the bed was luxuriously comfortable. We both immediately commented that we must have been given an upgrade (but we had not), such was the cleanliness and overall "brand new-ness" of the room. We hazarded a guest that it MAY have been last renovated (completely) 3 years earlier, but there wasn’t a single sign of wear and tear, and one could easily have thought this was a new room – a slightly older looking wardrobe safe was the only hint of a date of completion for the room, which was kept spotlessly clean throughout our visit. Partner was happily impressed with the complimentary large bowl of cherries which lay invitingly on the table which lay in wait for us, along with some delicious almonds and bottles of water and wine, both agreeing that it’s the little things that count.

On checking in the very friendly staff informed us of the dining options now (it was late) so we opted to just enjoy the evening with perhaps the most relaxing G&T's in the terrace piano bar - a beautifully relaxed, old world setting amongst lush trees and waterways.

The Beach Club pool was beautiful - we had no difficulty finding a spot in the sun each day, however we could understand how this might be more difficult in high season. The pool was calm, and to the parents who had the children: you should be proud, some of the best behaved children I have ever encountered on holidays, making the pool area a calm but fun place for everyone. The beach is right beside and it was just as lovely, though we stayed by the pool each day. We enjoyed the hydrotherapy pool in the Spa (also by the beach) and relaxed there one evening before dinner. Again, very friendly staff. We discovered MC’s Café across the road on our final day, and had a beautiful and very mid priced lunch.

I cannot emphasise how friendly and professional the staff was. Front of house (Juan) was always happy to make arrangements with no fuss and always an air of calm. Staff were always on hand to provide whatever was needed in a professional manner – a bedside lamp was not working one day (identified by housekeeping), and within 3 minutes a technician had arrived and fixed it.
Overall a wonderful stay and would highly recommend for a short 2-3 night break.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomInDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAGP, Director of Sales at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2010

Dear guest,

Many thanks for your feedback, it is important for us learn about your experiences in order to improve the quality of our establishment, and in this case we are very about your experience.

We look forward to welcome you sooner than later, all the best.

Carlos Quereda
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2010

This is paradise on earth. An elegant resort that provides all the modern amenities while taking you back in time. Truly, we could do without ever stepping foot outside of the resort property. Marbella club redefines tranquility and peace. Imagine a location where all your senses are delighted. The smells from the fragrant gardens enhances the beauty of your surroundings, while you listen to the waves of the ocean and the birds singing. We enjoyed the wondeful facitlies including the spa and the resort golf course. The spa was outstanding with the special therapy pool treatment. The golf course, while a resort course, was challenging and provided wonderful panoramic views. Definitely a place we would love to return again one day.

Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
3  Thank iranto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAGP, Director of Sales at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2010

Dear guest,

Many thanks for your feedback, we are delighted to learn about your experience at the Marbella Club.

Looking forward to welcome you very soon, best regards.

Carlos Quereda
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2010

Once you arrive at the Marbella Club you feel like you have been transported back 20 or 30 years to the age when Marbella had a bit of 'golden glamour' to it...this hotel is NOT cheap, and it is not for the package tour group 'set'... it is like staying at a private estate of the Von Hohenlohe family (the orginal owner/founders). It is class A for style and substance. The gardens and casitas are quiet, and well appointed. The Beach is nothing to write home about..but that goes for most of Marbella. The pools are small but heated (great for early spring swims!), the choice of restaurants is great (MC Cafe is my favourite...it is almost like being on Rodeo Drive in Beverley Hills)...and the beach bar buffet is excellent. Service is exceptional all through the hotel..and the Thalasso Spa is excellent. The hotel is designed like a finca estate so if you dont like to walk distances..be prepared, and order your golf cart for transport...the upside, peace and quiet. Gorgeous gardens make every walk seem like you are anywhere but in Marbella..A great location...just far enough from Marbella to make it a good walk and keep it quiet...far enough from Puerto Banus to make it...er, far enough from Puerto Banus (!)..and it does seem like 'old marbella'.

The rooms are comfortable..we had a sea view over the spa. Apart from the occassional smell of sea water...it was great. A perfect spring break with sun/food/spa and shopping. Toiletries are excellent...fresh flowers from the garden changed daily! lots of pillows, big robes..slippers and closet space. Nothing too much trouble for staff...and waiter service at all restaurants was flawless...we had one problem with ordering one day at the MC cafe and it was immediately rectified and they made up for the 'lack of service' with a free glass of champagne and we had not even complained!!! Illy coffee is served at ts establishement...great! Wine...great choice and reasonably priced. Honestly...it is like a step back to good old fashioned quality service...ok, at a price. BUT - it is authentic. It is of the highest standard and THAT never goes out of fashion. Congrats on it being a leading hotel of the world...we agree, and we'll be back. One last tip...Sushi Des Artistes across the road is one of the best restaurants for sushi we have ever experienced...creative, delicious and stylish...if you can tear yourself away from the Marbella Club...try it, you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris_Battersea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAGP, Director of Sales & Marketing at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2010

Dear guest,

Many thanks for your review, we have copied and spread around to all the staff involved so they are aware and enjoy it too.

From my point of view you have perfectly understand the essence of the original idea of the Prince Alfonso Hohenlohe, elegant, charming but simple luxury in a mediterranean paradise.

We look forward to welcome you again soon, with best regards,

Carlos Quereda
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2010

Firstly i did not stay at the hotel-probably could not afford it. But this is our way of thanking the receptionist and other staff who helped an Irish family who were lost! They could not go to enough trouble so if the hotel is anything like the staff, it must be brilliant.
Gracias.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Service
2  Thank BJCDublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAGP, Director of Sales & Marketing at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2010

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your kind review, we have thanked you on your behalf the Reception department.

We would love to welcome you soon for the first time at the Marbella Club, please let us know when.

My best regards,

Carlos Quereda
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2009

Ignore the other reviews - read this one!

I have lived on and off in Marbella for the past 15 years. We sold our house a few years ago and now whenever we come back there is SIMPLY no other place to rival the MarbellaClub. It ooooozes history, it is STILL sexy, the LOCATION is great (a brisk walk to town along the seafront) and the service is unparalleled on the Coast.

People who have lived in Marbella for years use it as their meeting spot, it is a great pre-dinner drinks place...so much so that if Marbella had a Grand Hotel...this would be it - the place where everybody who is anybody in Marbella meets to see and be seen.

i would recommend this hotel to anyone - the young couple down for a few nights partying and beach; the young parents with boisterous kids who want to have an "upper-class-beach" experience; the elderly off-season couple who are down for a few days of RnR and perhaps visit the grandchildren, etc. etc. The MC has something for everyone!

It is private yet very public, you can use it as your hideaway or you can parttake in the public spaces. That is what makes this place a haven to return to.

Take it from me - I am pretentious enough to say "i know my Marbella" - and I recommend this hotel from my heart. You will love it too.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ILoveRoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAGP, Director of Sales & Marketing at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2010

Dear guest,

Many thanks for your lovely words about Marbella Club, we really appreciate them.

We would love to welcome you back soon, meanwhile please receive our best regards.

Carlos Quereda
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Marbella Club this fall for a re-energizer!
For me either May or October are great months to visit Marbella, not too many tourists and weather is still warm and sunny. We stayed in room 221 - my all time favorite room - with a lovely terrace to enjoy sunsets and big enough to host a small dinner party with friends.
Walking around the lush and scented gardens of the Marbella Club feels like pure therapy for the senses, but we also decided to indulge ourselves in the Thalasso Spa.

Me and my wife had flown in from South America and therefore started with a Jet-Lag treatment that took away all the pain and dryness that comes with a long houlflight. Followed by a Collagen Facial that put me to sleep because it was so relaxing. We tried different massages and all were good, there are to lovely Swedish ladies working at the Spa and they are strong as Vikings!

We started every day by a swim in the pool next to the breakfast restaurant followed by champagne breakfast where the superduper attentive waiter Javier took great care of us and met our needs with a smile. After one day he had memorized everything we liked. That is service!!

We enjoyed long lunches in the MC Café with some friends, and then spent a whole day by the beach. Another day we enjoyed the famous lunch buffet where we O-D´d on lobsters...

We had tennis lessons arranged by the hotel, these can be had at the neighbouring hotel PuenteRomano where there is what amounts to a championship tennis club - too good. We went for long walks on the beach and we ended most days in the Piano bar with a nice pre-dinner cocktail. Because of the lovely terrace in our room we enjoyed several dinners there with excellent room-service.
You can perhaps tell we THOUROUGHLY like this hotel and enjoyed it to the MAX.

After a week at the Marbella Club we felt more in love than ever and re energized for the rest of the Autumn!

1  Thank ILoveRoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marbella hotels
0.5 mi away
Puente Romano Marbella
Puente Romano Marbella
#9 of 70 in Marbella
1,434 reviews
1 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 70 in Marbella
1,846 reviews
8.3 mi away
Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
1.6 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#16 of 70 in Marbella
1,784 reviews
2 mi away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 70 in Marbella
1,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marbella Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marbella Club Hotel

Address: Bulevar Principe Alfonso von Hohenlohe S/N, 29600, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Marbella
#1 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#1 Spa Hotel in Marbella
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Marbella
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
#4 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
#9 Family Hotel in Marbella
Price Range: £292 - £776 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Marbella Club Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Southern Spanish Costa del Sol, on the heart of the 'Golden Mile' only 5 minutes to Old Town Marbella and Puerto Banus, the Marbella Club Hotel • Golf Resort & Spa enjoys 325 days of sunshine. Open year round, the renowned Marbella Club Hotel, one of the "The Leading Hotels of the World" was once the private residence of Prince Alfonso von Hohenlohe and features 37 luxury bedrooms, 78 suites, 14 Andalusian-Style villas and the majestic Villa del Mar, throughout 42.000 Square metres (452.083 Sq. Ft.) Of lush subtropical garden.In addition to its stunning accommodations and grounds, the Marbella Club also offers guests a wide variety of amenities and activities including two outdoor heated swimming pools, seasonal water sports, fitness centre, 10 tennis and 4 paddle courts at sister hotel, Puente Romano (only a 5-10 minute beach walk away), Kid's Club by minimec, shopping gallery, equestrian centre, Dave-Thomas designed 18-hole golf course within the hills of Benahavis, Thalasso Spa, an 800 square metre (8.611 Sq. Ft.) State-of-the-art facility with dynamic indoor sea water pool, steam baths and saunas, a solarium and 12 treatment rooms and more. The hotel also features six bars and restaurants including the famous Beach Club Buffet, legendary Grill Restaurant and avant garde MC Cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Marbella Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marbella Hotel
Marbella Club Hotel Andalucia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing