We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy area that's nice, but hard to navigate without help.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel San Cristobal
Ranked #21 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
Mattoon, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Busy area that's nice, but hard to navigate without help.”
Reviewed 5 May 2011

This hotel was nice once you got to it. Its in a very busy section of Marbella, almost impossible to stop outside hotel to offload luggage and check in! Parking is a distance from hotel and is not free! Nice breakfast, but staff not very friendly. Two older men at front desk were pompous, irritable and no help! Young lady tried to help, but as she was new, they over ruled her! Room was ok, very basic, but clean. Wifi available free, but not in your room. Great location for shopping, eating, and nightlife! Bakeries and their goods are to die for! Very difficult area to navigate on your own (we rented a car) as street signs are hard to find and each street twists and turns so much! Park across from hotel was lovely as was the promenade along the beach.

Stayed April 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank eppshel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    192
    99
    22
    12
See reviews for
71
229
44
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kilkenny, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2010

I was a little bit worried when i booked this hotel as other reviewers mentioned the smell of sewerage but luckily i can i got no unpleasant odour. It's very important to get a room with a balcony as they don't all have balconies. The location is excellent; centrally located between the beach and orange square. The only complaint i have is that while the breakfast is very substantial the orange juice is dreadful....buy your own!! Staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mariawalsh2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford UK
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2010

Unpreposessing from the front but a clean and friendly hotel.and excellent value for money. Access to the reception was up an escalator or steps so no good for disabled visitors. Our room was spacious at the front on the top floor giving a superb view of the main street (not noisy at night) and the sea. Mostly Spanish guests, we seemed to be the only English couple there in the week before Easter. Breakfast was the usual fairly unexciting buffet but the lunchtime menu at 11 euros per head seemed good value although we took advantage of beachside cafes as the weather was so good. An easy stroll through the formal gardens opposite to the beach or to the Old Town situated at the rear of the hotel. We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SusieABedfordUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire,England
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2010

The position of the San Cristobal was one of the main reasons for booking a Winter week with our friends. It is minutes from the seafront, Old Town and all the shops and restaurants you could wish for. We were impressed with the quality of the hotel and the cleanliness and size of rooms.The staff were helpfull and friendly. The room maids in particular did a very good job.
Hotel car park is a few minutes walk and is safe and secure.
The only downside was that the hotel restaurant was not open in the evenings and as our first night was very rainy it would have been a bonus. However, they provided us with umbrellas and restaurant suggestions.
If you don't need 5 star luxury this is a very good choice and certainly isn't basic. We had previously stayed at the unfriendly and basic El Rodeo (which now seems closed) and the two could not be more different for the same 3 star rating .

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Camera-Clicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2009

5 min walk to beach, 3 to the old town. Breakfast is fine, could have included some fresh fruit though. Rooms are very clean & so it didn't matter that the decor was not fashionable. The location of this hotel is perfect for access to the beach, bus routes, shops, restaurants! I would go back.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Macrel2904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2009

Excellent location. Good clean rooms with air conditioning. Food was good especially if you like fish. Staff mainly friendly but can be a bit abrupt. It felt like a truely spanish experience. I would definitely go back and stay in this hotel. Shame there is no swimming pool but its close enough to the beach to not worry. Felt like being in the city until you crossed the road (which is very busy but has lights to stop the traffic) and walked through the fountain area to the beaches and bars which were all good. Really reccommend Crusoes which is on the beach, great place to chill out and unwind. Must mention Head Waiter during our stay who was very helpful and friendly. We couldn't read the menu as it was in Spanish..he did a good job of translating it every night. Only disappointment was the staff turning off the lights dead on 10.30 at breakfast and glaring at you if you dared to go and get more! Tip was to go in before 10am. Overall I would definitely reccommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tintontan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2009

Used the hotel as a base when visiting family living in Estepona, so it suited our needs quite adequately, as the bus stop is less than 1 minute away.
The hotel is certainly in need of a good face lift, rather drab, with gloomy corridors leading to bedrooms, where the walls are so thin you can hear a pin drop in the next room. Unfortunately we were in the next room to an oversexed couple who kept us awake most nights.
The restaurant which was updated a year or so ago was quite pleasant, but the food was nothing to write home about,...we waited ages at breakfast for food to be bought out of the kitchen at times, and the evening meal served left us still feeling hungry, but this is more to do with the Spanish culture, they eat little, and often, whereas we Brits tend to eat to contentment, so no real complaints here.
The best thing about the hotel is its location, straight out of the door, across the busy road at the crossing, and you are within minutes of a wonderful beach with all its many bars thronging with people. That was really delightful.
So, to summise, if you are looking for a 4 star hotel, with all the trimmings and entertainment laid on for you, then this is'nt a hotel you will like. If its location, right in the centre of things, with basic ammenities, then it is just right..............but book B&B, and not full or half board, ...there are so many places to eat within minutes of the hotel.

i will be pressing the "Yes i would recommend this hotel to a friend button", but, only for its location.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Im_rod20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marbella hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lima Marbella
Hotel Lima Marbella
#24 of 70 in Marbella
497 reviews
0.2 mi away
Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos
0.2 mi away
El Faro
El Faro
#34 of 70 in Marbella
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Aparthotel Puerto Azul Marbella
0.2 mi away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 70 in Marbella
1,473 reviews
1.0 mi away
Senator Marbella Spa Hotel
Senator Marbella Spa Hotel
#30 of 70 in Marbella
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Cristobal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Cristobal

Property: Hotel San Cristobal
Address: Avenida Ramon y Cajal 3, 29601, Marbella, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Marbella
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Cristobal 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Marbella and 225 mts. from the Beach and the Sea promenade in front of the Alameda ParkShoping, restaurants,bars and Entertainment around the hotel not needing Vehicle.96 rooms (70% with terrace) redecorated between 2003 and 2007) complete bathroom, hair dryer ,telephone,satelite chanel TV, rental safe box, air conditioned and heating.Breakfast buffet. Lunch/dinner waiter service daily menu.Bar and meeting room 100 people with free WIFI.Over 800 private parking places 250 mts around hotel, the hotel owns a limited nº at special fare. Not suitable for phisically handicapped persons.Granted with “Q” Tourism Spanish autorities quality award and ISO14001 environmental management standard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel San Cristobal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencia San Cristobal Marbella
Hotel San Cristobal Marbella, Andalucia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing