We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite close to the interesting old city of Marbella”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel San Cristobal
Ranked #24 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2013

For first time visiting Marbella is right to stay close by the old city of Marbella where you can eat ,drink etc ...properly but expensively!!!So that you have to book a hotel quite central...like the old one but OK "San Cristobal" hotel.Otherwise you might stay to a beach hotel if you can afford the very very expensive rates of the 4 or 5 stars hotels of the area...

Room Tip: high floor rooms
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mak2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (534)
There are newer reviews for Hotel San Cristobal
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

226 - 232 of 535 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2013 via mobile

This is the 5th time I have stayed at this Hotel with my partner and it is brilliant for what we need. The staff are friendly, the rooms are spacious and clean with free wifi and the breakfast is great. It's not luxurious by any means but for the €60 per night including breakfast you wouldn't expect it. The back of the building faces onto small Andalucian cobbled walkways which are quiet and the front of the building over looks the main road which is slightly noisy but also looks over Marbella square which isn't a bad trade off. The beach is a few minutes walk away as are all the shops and resteraunts. Overall, great hotel in a great location. We will be back again soon.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pringy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

This place could seriously not have a better location: in the heart of the old town, 3 minute walk to beach, 3 minute walk to grocery store (Super Sol). It is in a very noisy area and is noisy at night but for us the noise level was fine. Free breakfast. The breakfast was not super exciting but all I usually have is yoghurt and muesli anyways so it was fine for that. The coffee at breakfast comes out of a machine and was disgusting. I kept asking the waiter if they had any fresh coffee and he just kept pointing to the machine. I quickly came to realize that the market (super sol) has a coffee bar in the from where you can get cafe con leche to go for .70 Euro. All of the rooms have wifi, safes (ours didnt work), and balconies. We could see the sea from our balcony (just barely) and had a front row seat to allof the "semana santa" (easter week) processionals/parades. The rooms are basic but clean and the matressess are tolerable. Parking nearby is a bit pricey but if you drive for a while up the hill where the white lines are you can park for free.
BTW- The people that work here do NOT speak English. I got by on my mediocre Spanish but beware all ye non-Spanish speakers!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank guslovesdisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Just returned from 5 day break to marbella, unfortunately the weather was the worst they have had in marbella for years in march, it rained every day! However the hotel has great location close to old town and to local transport links. The rooms are little dated but has all you need and is clean, room 503 had great balcony so if weather was good it would be ideal. A little traffic noise but we were at back of hotel looking at mountains so not too bad. Breakfast is buffet which was ok. Didn't eat in restaurant as loads of nice places to eat close by. A few minutes walk to beach too. Went to puerto banus which had good bars and shops, a little more expensive to eat and drink here. All in all would definitely return to this hotel however in the warmer weather.

Room Tip: Back of the hotel to avoid traffic noise
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alison K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Juan A, Director General at Hotel San Cristobal, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2013

Dear guest,
We are really happy to read that everything was good during your stay.
Just we would like to point out that we are refurbishing all the rooms, and we hope to finish them very soon.

Thanks you very much and hope to see you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

The quality of the hotel is better on the pictures than in reality. More than it usually is.
Receptionist does not speak any English.
The quality of the furniture could be better. Bed broke when I put my arm on it. And I am not overweight.
Management sent me now the request for recommending them here on Tripadvisor with the link.
They sent it first in Spanish, then in English. Two emails with all other customers cc:ed!!!
Where is the privacy? They should know what bcc (secret copy) is!
The location of the hotel is good. The price could be slightly lower. The breakfast is poor.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Dima D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Juan A, Director General at Hotel San Cristobal, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your opinion.
I would like to apologize for all the inconveniences caused during your stay with us.

First of all we understand your disappointment with the way the e-mail was sent. We always send one email per guest, but by mistake this time we send several at the same time without secret copy. We are completely sure this is not going to happen again.

Regarding the furniture in your room, we would like to mention that the problem was already solved.

Finally we hope that the problem to speak in English with one of our receptionists were a specific problem, because almost everyone speaks English.

I really hope to have the chance to talk about all your comments with you in person sometime in the nearly future.

Yours sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Clean and comfy in great location for old town, beach and shops. Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast fine with good choice overall very good . Rooms slightly dated but good size and really clean. Excellent choice of restaurants very nearby

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dickie07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We have just returned from this hotel - It is a great hotel in the heart of Marbella surrounded by shops and restaurants. The beach is a 2 minute walk away, the rooms are spacious and clean and the breakfast is fine. I would definitely recommend it and I shall definitely be returning.

Room Tip: The higher up the better. Always ask for a balcony.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank StaffordshireJilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marbella hotels
0.2 mi away
El Faro
El Faro
#34 of 70 in Marbella
308 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lima Marbella
Hotel Lima Marbella
#25 of 70 in Marbella
503 reviews
0.2 mi away
Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Aparthotel Puerto Azul Marbella
0.2 mi away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 70 in Marbella
1,485 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Don Alfredo
Hotel Don Alfredo
#38 of 70 in Marbella
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Cristobal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Cristobal

Address: Avenida Ramon y Cajal 3, 29601, Marbella, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Marbella
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
Price Range: £36 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Cristobal 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Marbella and 225 mts. from the Beach and the Sea promenade in front of the Alameda ParkShoping, restaurants,bars and Entertainment around the hotel not needing Vehicle.96 rooms (70% with terrace) redecorated between 2003 and 2007) complete bathroom, hair dryer ,telephone,satelite chanel TV, rental safe box, air conditioned and heating.Breakfast buffet. Lunch/dinner waiter service daily menu.Bar and meeting room 100 people with free WIFI.Over 800 private parking places 250 mts around hotel, the hotel owns a limited nº at special fare. Not suitable for phisically handicapped persons.Granted with “Q” Tourism Spanish autorities quality award and ISO14001 environmental management standard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel San Cristobal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencia San Cristobal Marbella
Hotel San Cristobal Marbella, Andalucia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing