We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos
Ranked #18 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
Dumfries and Galloway, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great hotel in great location”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We booked this hotel very last minute for a November get away. Couldn't have picked better location wise. Right on the sea front in a quiet area but with all the bars and restaurants only a couple of minutes walk away. Also only a 5 - 10 minute walk to the old town and even more bars, restaurants and shops which had a great atmosphere in the evening even so late in the year.
The hotel itself was great, Our room was large, studio style with lots of wardrobe space and a great little well equipped kitchen area which was perfect for making breakfasts/lunches or even an evening meal if you wanted. (There is a great small supermarket selling all the essentials just around the corner).The bathroom was also large with a window which is rare in hotels. Although there was no bath the shower was great. The furnishings were fairly standard however they were more modern than many places we have stayed abroad, the one small thing that let it down was the bed which was very hard and not comfortable. Our room had a small balcony which was not sea facing, although we asked there were no sea view rooms available. I would definitely recommend requesting a sea view when booking as if you can get one I'm sure it will be even better. We found the room to be spotlessly clean and it was cleaned and fresh towels provided (if required) every day.
The pool is on the roof top and the views from the restaurant and pool area are lovely.
Wifi is only available in the reception area although there were some workmen there during our stay feeding lots of cables through the walls so possibly a better wifi service to come?? Would definitely return to this hotel and would have given it the extra 'star' if the bed had been a bit comfier and wifi was a bit more available.

Room Tip: Request a sea view when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    395
    97
    23
    7
See reviews for
100
412
34
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

My colleague and I stayed in this hotel in Feb2013. To say that it was disappointment is to say nothing. The staff was not helpful and was really rude. The room room was not clean - the shower area was covered with different hair which seemed to remain from a number of previous guests, the furniture was dusty and spotted. The breakfast was very modest. The only reason why I put 2 to this hotel is the size of rooms. Our room was large.

Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank asyagrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Just returned from a one week self catering stay at Princesa Playa Hotel in Marbella.
What a fantastic hotel. Clean, comfortable and amazing staff.
Our room was at the front of the hotel (room 311) with a great sea view both too the left and right and comprised of living room, bedroom and kitchen all in the same space and a separate bathroom with hairdryer for the ladies.
There was a double bed and sofa with a pull out bed underneath, flat screen tv on the wall and free air conditioning.
The kitchen area had a 2 ring electric hob, sink, microwave, toaster, kettle, cups, plates and cutlery for a family of four and a fridge with freezer compartment.
The maids came in everyday and kept the apartment spotless and in keeping with the rest of the hotel.
There was a safe in the room which cost us roughly 20 euros for the week.
The location of the hotel is great, right on the beach and a five min walk to the many bars and restaurants along the front.
For those of you who prefer self catering as we do, the local supermarket (supercor) is a 1 min walk round the back of the hotel and stocks everything you will need.
We went on two trips while we were there, one too Puerto Banus which you can book on the sea front for 15 euros return by boat and the Gibraltar tour booked through the hotel at 18 euros per person. (Make sure you take the tour up the rock to see the monkeys and St. Michaels caves, 20 euros per person).
Also if you go to Gibraltar, the beer and cigarettes are half the price you pay in Spain but you're limited to 1 litre of spirit per person and 200 cigs.
Really recommend this hotel and its location.
Book it, you'll love it

Room Tip: most rooms seem to have sea view or partial sea view. Ask on arrival for sea view as you cannot pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank uny1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This is a nice clean seaside hotel on top of the promenade. I would recommend this hotel for people on their holiday who do not expect any spectacular atmosphere but a nice clean room to sleep in. I guess the 4 star tag on the advertisement of this hotel can confuse some of the guests to expect something extra,however the price should be a good indicator for this kind of illusion not to be true.I found this hotel to be absolutely perfect for my relaxing holiday with its perfect location and no nonsense service.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tublimari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The studio that we were allocated was very clean and met basic needs. The balcony was very small but we were lucky enough to have a sea veiw which was great (I had requested one when I booked). I found the receptionists to be helpful and were able to speak English.

We used the cafe at lunch time but this was expensive and I would not recommend it. Just next door, the cafe do really nice inexpensive food.

The beds are very hard and uncomfortable but the sheets are changed every couple of days and the maids clean the room every day.

Overall, i would recommend the Princessa playa and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Request a room with a sea view when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqueline E E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

While the furnishings are old, the rooms are spacious and the breakfast is a good spread! Location is great, being right on the promenade, and a short walk to the charming old city. And if like us, you need a clean room and good bed, the extra space and the kitchen were big bonuses.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VeeAar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I have stayed at these apartments on several occasions with my husband and also with a group of girlfriends. They are absolutely perfect, right on the seafront near the shops, bars and restaurants, but in a quiet location. The apartments are spacious and spotlessly clean. Although the apartments are classed as 3 star I feel this does not do them justice. I have stayed in so called 5 star hotels for double the price that aren't as nice as these. If you are looking for somewhere that is near to everything for a great price you couldn't do better in my opinion

Room Tip: A sea view is fantastic - but think it is just luck if you get one. There is no opportunity to pay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marbella hotels
0.1 mi away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 70 in Marbella
1,459 reviews
7.0 mi away
Barcelo Marbella
Barcelo Marbella
#15 of 70 in Marbella
1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Aparthotel Puerto Azul Marbella
0.4 mi away
El Faro
El Faro
#33 of 70 in Marbella
298 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 70 in Marbella
1,721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos

Property: Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos
Address: Paseo Maritimo s/n, 29602, Marbella, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#20 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princesa Playa Marbella
Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos Marbella, Andalucia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing