We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food not priority 1”
Review of Trocadero Arena

Trocadero Arena
Ranked #127 of 1,433 Restaurants in Marbella
Price range: US$59 - US$65
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Trocadero Arena, a welcoming place immersed in the essence of the Mediterranean, sand and sea combined with authentic colonial-style decor in our Lounge Area. You can relax in our Beach Club area, which is exclusively reserved for our customers, or enjoy our indoor halls.All of this is reflected in our top-quality fish or meat dishes accompanied by ecological produce which has been especially grown for us.You’ll get special service from the very moment you arrive with a car park equipped with a valet service to pick up your vehicle and hand it back to you when you leave our facilities.Enjoy our facilities to hold any kind of celebration or event with seating for up to 250 guests.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Food not priority 1”
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Have been to Trocadero again -first time after a somewhat dissapointing visit this summer.
What,s good? The service from some of the "old" staff - yes, the setting and the ambience -yes, but the food served? Yes -to some extent -for example carpaccio of beef with lots of parmesan added, but then in between Trocadero serve some really "ordinary" dishes that you normally would expect to receive at mediocre ventas close to the autopistas.

For example the chicken dish they serve as "corn fed chicken in a delicious sauce etc etc" , and then it turns out that what you get is half of a dry tasteless carcass of a chicken surrounded by a potato mash.

As I said very dissapointing,especially when taking into consideration that when this restaurant was brand new in this location they served a very good chicken dish which for some reason or other was taken off the menu very quickly.
Please make the culinary experience of a visit to Trocadero a bit more secure in the future.
Signed
1of your close neighbours on the beach that very much wants Trocadero to be a valued restaurant into the future.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank mysuseter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Digitmedia, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Trocadero Arena, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por su dejarnos su comentario.
Tomamos nota especialmente de este tipo de opiniones para mejorar nuestro servicio, esperamos que note la diferencia en su próxima visita y nos lo haga saber.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    203
    78
    60
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Made by the wonderful people”
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

Located in a wonderful frontline location with great atmosphere. My criticisms would relate to the apparent importance of design over function. The restaurant is too dark, one cannot read the menu. Seeing our problem a thoughtful server produced a torch/light. The diameter of the tables is too large precluding any hope of joined up conversations at them and the real killer to me was the thoughtless lack of coordination between cutlery and crockery. Each time I put the knife down it slid into the plate resulting in sticky hands. Here again once I mentioned it the server he immediately produced wipes.
From the moment we came in the door to the moment we left we were made most welcome and without exception ALL the staff showed themselves to be interested, involved concerned and professionally competent.
So to the food, which is fusion with an Asian emphasis. The amuse-guele was a tuna salad tasty moist and flavoursome. We decided to share a
Wok cooked ginger chicken pasta which was excellent. Our mains of
pork and chicken were both delicious and spicily flavoursome served with chips. A bottle Protos Crianza 2009 and water were added to our bill which came to €100 including tip. Good value for a great evening made by the staff but smudged by poor design.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cc4bees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Digitmedia, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Trocadero Arena, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Google Translation
¡Muchísimas gracias por su comentario!
Nos alegramos de que disfruta de Trocadero Arena que nuestro servicio fuera satisfactorio y la comida de su agrado.
Igualmente, tomamos nota de sus recomendaciones para mejorar esos aspectos. Gracias de nuevo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Worth the trek”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I was a bit concerned that Trocadero Arena was going to be a case of style over substance, but in the end it was very very good. I went with a very good friend on a Friday evening. Great spot. We loved everything, the food, the beautiful surroundings, the service. Be warned though that they allow smoking inside, something that disappointed us a lot!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank abc_def062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Digitmedia, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Trocadero Arena, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por su comentario!
Nos alegramos de que la experiencia en Trocadero Arena fuera mejor de lo que usted esperaba y que disfrutara de nuestro entorno y comida.
Tomamos nota, y le esperamos de vuelta pronto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englishman on the Move
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great setting excellent dinner”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Just a few kms outside of Marbella, at the Rio Real slip road head for the beach. You will met by someone to park your car and you can walk straight into a setting which is an amazing mix of African Game Park decoration and beachside style, an unusual but highly effective , relaxing combination. At night it is delightfully lit with tables well-placed for you to dine on the terrace or, if it is windy inside , but still with a great view.

Service a bit mixed , been for afternoon drinks and found it quite slow but in the evening it was a different story, great staff and plenty of them to look after you. We had dinner as a group of six and thoroughly enjoyed it. The menu is very comprehensive, if anything far too many cheese options as an entree but plenty of other choices, mixing beachside dishes with traditional restaurant fare. Good wine list with plenty of national and several international wines. We shared some assorted "tapas-type" dishes before individually selecting a main course- The Dorada was excellent as was the veal, the plaice a bit insipid. Portions are good. Afterwards only one dessert , which was a chocolate soufflé - very good. With a couple of bottlews of wine and drinks before the bill was about Euro 60.- a head. About what one would expect for the setting, service and quality.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Loafingalong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Digitmedia, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Trocadero Arena, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Google Translation
Muchísimas gracias por compartir su opinión sobre Trocadero Arena.

Que nuestros clientes disfruten de nuestro servicio y del entorno es una de nuestras mayores satisfacciones y además, si son agradecidos ya alcanzan la perfección.

Esperamos verles de nuevo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Barefoot Elegance”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Away from much of the pretentious glamour that is Marbella, to the less fashionable east, is an oasis of laid-back cool. We had lunch of black rice and the following day had dinner of Turbot baked in Salt. Both were delicious, as was a starter of Russian Salad with Crab. Service, décor and cocktails were all elegantly understated, discreet and perfect. A special place!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Digitmedia, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Trocadero Arena, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por compartir su experiencia en Trocadero!
Nos alegramo de que disfrutara de nuestro restaurante de forma diferente y especial...
Esperamos volver a verles pronto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trocadero Arena also viewed

Marbella, Costa del Sol
Marbella, Costa del Sol
 
Marbella, Costa del Sol
Marbella, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Trocadero Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing