We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good little spot” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sultan Club Marbella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Sultan Club Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good little spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Stayed here for a weekend with the lads, decent location, rooms big and balconys are huge, cleaned every day.

The lifeguard, also known as Hitler, stopped anyone having any fun around the pool, could not speak a word of English and just ran around saying "no comprende"
A particular highlight of hers was taking the cock-a-hoop game off the hen do from Pontefract.

3 euros for a beer from the hotel bar which we took full advantage of us. If you want to buy 7 beers at 9am in the morning this is not a problem until around 12pm when your in a bad way, The sun is starts behind the huge building next door and doesn't get to the pool til around 11am.

Around 12 euro in a taxi down to Puerto Banus and the hotel will happily book them for you.

Overall i would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a cheap and cheerful place to stay whilst in Marbella/Banus.

And hopefully we did not upset the other guests too much.

The Halifax Lads
x

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federico L, Gerente at Hotel Sultan Club Marbella, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Many thanks for your comments, we expect to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    158
    52
    26
    20
See reviews for
121
90
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in May for a girlie wknd. Apartmnents ( including balconys ) are huge. Cleaned every day, literally 5 mins walk from beach, pool maybe on small side but who carescwhen beach so near. Loved it!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Victoria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federico L, Gerente at Hotel Sultan Club Marbella, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for your comments, please do not forget us, before booking your next family holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

16 of us (27yrs-37yrs) travelled to Marbella for a hen party and must say were pleasantly surprised at what we arrived to. Had 4, 1 bedroom apartments and they definitely did the trick. Room enough for 4 people and were nowhere near as bad as what other reviews make them out to be. The balconys were massive as well! Granted, you can't eat, smoke or play music by the pool but you are literally a 3 minute walk to the beach which is what we did on one of the days! Supermarket 2 minute walk away and only 7 euros in taxi to marbella town and 11 euros in taxi to Puerto banus. Burger King was only 2 mins walk away as well! Great location for everything! Would absolutely recommend these apartments.

There has been reviews about the lack of sun by the pool. The pool area has sun from mid morning so no cause for complaints there.

Some of the service we received wasn't the best or fastest but it ticked almost every box for what we were looking for!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federico L, Gerente at Hotel Sultan Club Marbella, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Many thanks for your comments, we expect to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Just arrived back from a 4 night stay at Hotel Sultan Club Marbella for my hen party. We booked two 2-bedroom apartments between 10 of us. I was worried after booking this hotel as I came on TripAdvisor and read some really negative reviews but thankfully there was nothing to worry about!!

We were given two apartments on the top floor (6th) along the corridor from each other. Both apartments were massive!! Had 3 separate balconies, two huge bathrooms (double bedroom and bathroom upstairs) and adequate kitchen. Plenty of living room space even though the pull-out bed was set up for one person to sleep on. Maids arrived every day to change beds and provide fresh towels and both bathrooms had plenty of hot water at all times of the day.

The pool is saltwater and a fairly decent size. Only downside was that it wasn't very deep. I could stand up no problem in the entire pool (I'm 5ft 6). Plenty of sun loungers available and contrary to other reviews posted on here, the pool does get sunshine and lots of it!! Only negative point about the pool area was the lack of a pool-side bar and music. You have to go into the reception and then the restaurant to purchase drinks to take outside which as lazy as it sounds, we couldn't really be bothered doing very much.

The reception has free wifi which my group found very handy and a great service. Also the rates for safety deposit box for in our apartments was very reasonable (€22 euro with €12 refund upon checking out). Hotel reception happy to call 3 taxi's to take us to Puerto Banus (around €12/€15 per way depending on time of day) and the taxi's arrived within a few minutes. There is a very well stocked supermarket a 2-minute walk from the front reception (come out and go to the left and up the street). On our first night we walked all around looking for a supermarket to then find it was super close to the hotel!! The fridge in our rooms was cold so great for keeping bottled water/juice etc.

Overall we had an amazing time visiting Marbella and Puerto Banus for my hen party and would not hesitate returning in the future! I would recommend this hotel for groups more than for couples as there were a couple of other stag/hen parties staying when we were there, so not always a quiet retreat (but also not too rowdy either!). I can't rate the food at the hotel as we didn't eat there, but plenty of reasonably priced bars/restaurants down by the beach (5 min walk from hotel). Prices slightly higher in Puerto Banus but to be expected.

Many thanks for helping to make my hen party a roaring success!

Room Tip: Rooms on top floor have a fantastic view from the balconies and don't worry - there are two lift...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 220288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Rented an apartment here for a week. I loved it ,everything that I needed was there .had kitchen washing machine,microwave ,balcony ,morning sun .Only draw back was it was slightly noisy as it was street side ,but again, not bad .5 min walk to beach,15. Min to grocery store .Excellent location .My husband and son and I had a beautiful, wonderful time .Very hard to leave as we came back to still snow and ice l. Good place to stay

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Michele F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

The location was great, 2 minutes walk to the beach. There was plenty of hot water at all times of the day.
The welcome received was terrible, the reception staff were extremely rude, I felt like we were disturbing them by wanting to check in. They need training in customer service. The facilities in the apartment were poor, no shelves in the oven, no basic things like a colander.
If you have hired a car, they ask for 10 euros a night, plus tax to park it there......don't do it, look around the close area and there are spaces (you don't have to pay).
Lovely location, loved Marbella but wouldn't return to this accommodation.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 1Gill2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federico L, Gerente at Hotel Sultan Club Marbella, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Many thanks for your comments,

We regret did not your fill your expentancies, regarding the appartment facilities, the colanders are not included, but every apartment has two shelves, we will check it. We do not keep bad reports about the reception staff, and as mentioned, they receive regular training in personal skills.
We apologize for any inconvenience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a room intended for 4 adults. On arrival we had 2 towels and bedding for 2 single beds. We found a tiny bed folded up in a cupboard. We asked reception for some bedding and they dismissed us saying it was being dealt with. Good job no one wanted a quick nap/shower as we had to wait several hours to get bedding and towels.
The bathroom wasn't particularly clean. The kitchen equipment was from 1972 and quite frankly I'm too young to know how to work that stuff!
In the bedroom, if you switched the plug on one side of the bed it turned on the other bedside light which is great at 3:30am when your friend gets in drunk and wants to charge their phone.
The wifi is great...if you're sat on the modem in reception.
The spa was basic, lifeguard spoke no English. You had to wear swimming caps to go in the pool which was 3 euros each. The two jacuzzis, one was lovely, the other was so hot it removed your skin so we decided to take some water to make a brew as it boiled quicker than our kettle.
The pool was freezing and filthy.
When we were leaving at 8:30am their was someones kebab thrown all over the reception.
Very run down and wouldn't recommend anyone staying here!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federico L, Gerente at Hotel Sultan Club Marbella, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Many thanks for your comments, we regret not to fill your expectancies. In many cases, we are not informed about how many people includes the reservation before the check in, that means that we can not provide the extra towels and bedding until that time.
Our hotel was built in the 90s, and the kitchen equipment has been renovated since then, every plug bedside is independent. We offer WIFI in every apartment and we do not keep any record about any incident on that date.
We apologize for the english level of the lifeguar, we will reported to the company in charge, and about the spa, we would just confirm that the cup is compulsory for the client according to the spanish laws, the jacuzzis are tested and checked every day.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marbella hotels
1.0 mi away
Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos
0.4 mi away
Aparthotel Puerto Azul Marbella
0.2 mi away
Senator Marbella Spa Hotel
Senator Marbella Spa Hotel
#27 of 71 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#4 of 71 in Marbella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
1.1 mi away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
#10 of 71 in Marbella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
2.7 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#15 of 71 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sultan Club Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sultan Club Marbella

Property: Hotel Sultan Club Marbella
Address: Avenida Arturo Rubenstein, 29600, Marbella, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 58 Speciality Lodging in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sultan Club Marbella 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotelopia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Sultan Club Marbella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sultan Hotel Marbella
Sultan Club Marbella
Hotel Sultan Club Marbella Andalucia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing