We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good and expensive”

Marbella Club Grill
Ranked #191 of 1,378 Restaurants in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$47 - US$98
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The classic Grill and terrace, the gourmet restaurant of the Marbella Club, has long been a veritable culinary landmark. Its famous menu is made up of the most exquisite classic and traditional cuisines, both local and international. Only the best cuts of meat reach the grill and thus the emphasis is on seasonally available ingredients. All of this enhances the historical dishes served in the evocative patios of the hotel, possibly the most romantic setting in Europe, where guests linger over intimate dinners by the glow of candles and starlit skies.
amman
Level Contributor
132 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good and expensive”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Classy very good food and good service. Selection of menu is excellent and has a good variety to suit all. Difficult to book a table and seems to recognize their old clients more than others. Prices are exaggerated but food is worth eating.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dureid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    38
    16
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
428 reviews
263 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,119 helpful votes
“Thinking of trying this for the first time? Read this.”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Curro, the pastry chef, makes the best soufflés in Marbella. I’ve only ever had better at the Waterside Inn in England and the Waterside Inn restaurant has three Michelin stars. We order soufflé's all over the world and to use an expression made famous by a much missed "Sunday Times" reataurant critic who passed away earlier this year.....Curro's soufflés are "historic."

So, tip Number one.....try the soufflé....and unusually, you can choose whatever flavour you desire. We had Grand Marnier.....wonderful. Tip number 2.....if you are celebrating a birthday, tell them in advance. They then surprise you with a cake...also lovely, presumably made by the same pastry chef.

For evening dining al fresco in high season, only Villa Tiberio can compete with this. Marbella Club is terrific, their F and B people have totally got it together. The staff have all be around for years and work together as a team.

Have you ever heard a bad pianist in a restaurant or a terrible singer? I have often....including at two nearby restaurants.....but not here....the lady singer is good and the pianist is THE best in Marbella.

My wife did not want a starter. I ordered fois gras for myself. They brought this, put it in the centre of the table, produced two glasses of sauternes (the dish normally comes with one glass of sauterne) and two plates thus giving my wife the option. That was very classy.....but Marbella Club Grille is genuinely very classy.

The sommelier is highly worth talking to....he’s very, very good.

No visit to Marbella can be complete without at least one dinner at Marbella Club Grille (and also a visit to their poolside buffet for lunch). I'm only sorry I no longer stay at the hotel and that is only because we now have a home nearby....however I always recommend the hotel to friends who are visiting the area.

There are no downsides.......long may it last. A lovely venue, terrific service and good food that balances out the dreadful The-Only-Way-Is-Essex-type scenes at some of the beach clubs. There is a classy side to Marbella and it starts here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BarryAscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Atmosphere is so good”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

This hotel just feels so comfortable, the service is friendly and very efficient, food and wine good, and such great history oozing from the walls

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gillian1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Food and Service exceeded expectaions.”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Had a meal at the Marbella Club Grill where we were staying. I usually don't do Hotel restaurants but it was late. We were pleasnatly surprised by the food, the service, the wine,and the ambiance. It all exceeded our expectations. The steak and dover sole were both outstanding. The choice of wines was terrific. The deserts were great.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DifficultNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location but let down by the quality of the food.”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

First visit to the Marbella Club Grill for 3/4 years. We dined outside on the patio on a beautifully warm evening and the candles and intimate lighting all added to the sense of occasion.
However the food while OK just isn't up to the standard you would expect from a top quality restaurant.
Just one example was my Asparagus Starter (It was Asparagus Season) : A mix of white and green asparagus both overcooked and watery with little flavour left. A poached egg was included but it was a fried egg!

If the food could be as good as the location ...it would be a wonderful combination!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vixen28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria F, Manager at Marbella Club Grill, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments and for coming back to our Grill restaurant.

We apologize that your dining experience was not as good as you remembered. The Grill restaurant has long been a veritable culinary landmark. We have already informed our Cheff and we would like to welcome you back and restore your confidence in us.

Please don't hesitate to contact us for any future reservation to our restaurant and we will personally ensure that your dinner will be memorable.

All of us look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Grill Restaurant, before too long.

Sincerely,


Maria Fernández de la Vega
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marbella Club Grill also viewed

Marbella, Costa del Sol
Marbella, Costa del Sol
 
Marbella, Costa del Sol
Marbella, Costa del Sol
 
Marbella, Costa del Sol
Marbella, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Marbella Club Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing