We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Must See”

Iglesia Mayor de la Encarnacion
Ranked #9 of 94 things to do in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
3,570 reviews
3,175 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3,099 helpful votes
“A Must See”
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Many people who go to downtown Marbella miss this church. I enjoy seeing it whenever I go downtown because it is quite beautiful. I say a little prayer before I leave the church.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank BennyMalaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    83
    10
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Stunningly beautiful.”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Beautiful church, we spent a good hour wandering around. It was a great background to the marriage of my wife's niece who travelled from Ireland.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank fatman1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naches, Washington
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful historic church”
Reviewed 9 March 2013

This is a very pretty historic church. It is still very much in use so you need to be respectful. They have a wonderful pipe organ as well as some very beautiful chapels on each side. The entire Old Town area has little chapels all over and it can be interesting to look for them as you walk around.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Caldwem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
3,570 reviews
3,175 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3,099 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Church”
Reviewed 15 February 2013

I always enjoy visiting this church located in downtown Marbella. I find it very peaceful to enter the church and take a look around. This is a good place to rest a little and do some meditation.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank BennyMalaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marbella, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Of note in the interior is the Sol Mayor Organ”
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Of note in the interior is the Sol Mayor Organ. It is considered to be the most important organ built in Spain in the last century.From the exterior the door of the Sun , or main door, carved from ochre stone in the Rococo style (XVIIII c)A headstone with heraldic coat of arms attached : "Corduba Quem Genuit Malacae Dat Aethere Praesul Construxit Supor Hoc Ludovicus Opus Anno MDCXVIII".It has served to date the construction of the temple.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Mar C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Iglesia Mayor de la Encarnacion also viewed

Marbella, Costa del Sol
Marbella, Costa del Sol
 
Marbella, Costa del Sol
Marbella, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Iglesia Mayor de la Encarnacion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing