We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worthy of detour to play”

Marbella Golf & Country Club
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Marbella Golf Country Club is located in the heart of the Costa del Sol, just five minutes away from the cosmopolitan city of Marbella. It is considered one of the best and most challenging golf courses in Spain. Designed by the legendary Robert Trent Jones Senior in the late 80's and occupying one of the largest remaining green areas on the Costa del Sol, the 6.000 meter long 18-hole links course with a par of 72, has been imaginatively designed to respect the natural terrain and make the most of the spectacular Mediterranean backdrop. Each hole is uniquely challenging. There are numerous cleverly placed bunkers and lakes which will have to be successfully negotiated if you are to achieve a decent score. The course blends in perfectly with the lush natural surroundings which include rolling green hills and olive trees, and is a joy to play it for a perfect Spain golf holidays.
Cleburne, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worthy of detour to play”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Had 7 day trip with 7 other golfers to South of Spain last year and was stunned to play this golf course our last day in Spain. (Also played Valderrama and Finca Cortesin - 2 other gems) Arrived at this course in rain storm and the wait staff was incredible in taking clubs, keeping dry and watching over our needs. We ended up having to come back to club house due to rain, and they were so accomodating that we ended up finishing the 18 holes and they even comp'd us on another 9 holes. Had wonderful lunch and were amazed at the quality and pricing. Golf course was incredible -- among finest ever played. (And, I have been blessed to play 24 of the top 100 in the world)

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank pushincushin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    55
    20
    9
    7
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Not in great condition”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Arrive early to find my pre-ordered hire clubs were not available ! They only have 4 sets of clubs for hire and all were allocated. Having said that, they let me use the set until the tee off time of the hired clubs and I finished the round with an old set - so at lest I could play the. Difficult, tight front 9 with position off the tee essential . Greens were in pretty poor shape with lots if un-repaired pitch marks and worm casts. Buggy only course which I dislike. Overall an interesting course, but i would expect it to have been in better condition. I enjoyed my round but wouldn't hurry back. The staff were friendly and helpful but the course not well signposted and diffiuclt to navigate with some long drives between holes.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brit in Spain
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Marbella Golf Club”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

The course has improved immensely over the last 2 years the greens are some of the best on the coast and the envy of many of the more expensive courses, their members views not just mine. The girls in the pro shop are helpful and the bar waiting staff friendly and courteous. The view from the terrace is the best on the coast and a great place to have a meal even if you are'nt a golfer (Try the sushi ) or Sunday roast.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Redmatlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zug, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“always a pleasure...”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

nice setting, no stress to play,nice clubhouse and personnel, very good shape and challenging, excellent pro,go back there everytime i come to the area, reasonable green fee

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank rolf d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
407 reviews
193 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“The Best Sunday Lunch in Spain”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Had a table overlooking the 18th Green. There were six of us who had not booked but required Sunday lunch. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff who were only to willing to accommodate your wishes. The lunch was priced at 25E for three courses or 28E to include half bottle of wine. - both excellent value for money. The group had roast lamb and roast beef. The roast beef, beautifully pink in the middle had sumptuous taste - only wish we could get it like this at home. This was the best roast beef I have tasted for years. The whole meal was superb and the service was outstanding - my own golf club need to take some lessons! We will definitely come back again for a Sunday lunch and probably evening dinner next time we are in Mijas on holiday.
Thank you staff and not forgetting the chef.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank GordonW318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marbella Golf & Country Club also viewed

 
Marbella, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Marbella Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing