We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very rude members with no regard for other golfers.....”

Marbella Golf & Country Club
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Marbella Golf Country Club is located in the heart of the Costa del Sol, just five minutes away from the cosmopolitan city of Marbella. It is considered one of the best and most challenging golf courses in Spain. Designed by the legendary Robert Trent Jones Senior in the late 80's and occupying one of the largest remaining green areas on the Costa del Sol, the 6.000 meter long 18-hole links course with a par of 72, has been imaginatively designed to respect the natural terrain and make the most of the spectacular Mediterranean backdrop. Each hole is uniquely challenging. There are numerous cleverly placed bunkers and lakes which will have to be successfully negotiated if you are to achieve a decent score. The course blends in perfectly with the lush natural surroundings which include rolling green hills and olive trees, and is a joy to play it for a perfect Spain golf holidays.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very rude members with no regard for other golfers.....”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Unfortunately our experience was severely marred by 3 members. Our tee time and the 4 ball In front of us was put back due to a members competition that had started late. The starter was very apologetic and we waited for the members to play through. Whilst the 4 ball in front teed off a female golfer stormed up to the starter with absolutely no regard for those on the 1st tee. She was accompanied by 2 men and they were moaning that 20 minutes of their life had been wasted and they wanted to go off immediately. The starter explained that all the tee times had been put back and that they had to wait - all the time the guys in front were trying to play their first shots. We teed off behind the guys and were closely followed by the 3 ball - they did not wait to be called for the call hole, they hit their balls on to the green whilst we were still putting out, gave us no courtesy with regards room on the tees and parked their buggies next to ours and parked directly next to the reds whilst we were teeing off (the boys had played their shots) and we had to ask them to move which they refused initially until we insisted. Bearing in mind the course was completely backed up and there was nowhere to go we were completely hacked off by this stage. So imagine our disgust when we spoke to the pro shop and they apologised on behalf of the 3 ball and said they knew they were very rude but were also founder members. We won't be returning :(

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Blueskylady19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike M, General Manager at Marbella Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Blueskylady 19,

I am so very sorry for the bad experience you and your golfing partners had at our golf club recently. The answer you received in the pro shop to your complaint was not a reasonable response and I apologize for that as well. As we are an American owned golf club with American management, this is unacceptable. I would like to invite you to make contact with me personally at mike@marbellagolf.com to begin a dialogue on how to make this right with you.

Kind Regards,

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    55
    20
    8
    7
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“10/10 its got the wow factor.”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I've been running a Golf Society for Many years (Golf Buddies UK).We have played @ many courses over the UK & Europe with Marbella being right up there as one of the Best. If your a Golfer & like a challenge with variety then Marbella has the lot. Well kept course & Greens to die for & test your putting ability.
Highly rate the complex of which has every facility to please all & staff were fantastic.
We were welcomed open armed & were asked which hole we would prefer having are ordered hot baguette on of which arrived hot and well worth the money. Also gave us water & arrived on the 9th with cold flannels to assist with the heat. Service was 100% and felt like home.
Monty the Professional is a great guy and welcomed us all and a very true friend who I will defiantly be joining for a beer on the terrace in 2015.
Emails were sent prior as we run a Charity event each year for prostate cancer "Men United" of which they donated towards ,,, Many, Many Thanks.

Looking forward to Next Years event

Thanks to each & everyone of you @ Marbella Golf & Country Club x

Kindest Regards & Thanks again

Richard Clayton
Golf Buddies UK
Organiser & Fonder
17ynys y gored
Port Talbot
SA132EB
07952377422
Shift Manager Tata steel Works
South Wales
richyclayton@hotmail.com
Richard.g.clayton@tatasteel.com

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank 75Richie1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A unique experience”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

If you love golf, enjoy impeccable service then you must go and experience Marbella Golf & Country Club. The golf course is unique (designed by legendary golfer Dave Thomas) with views and tranquility that you will struggle to beat anywhere. Where else would you be told that 'the line (for your tee shot) is just left of the edge of Africa ! ( 7th tee Par 5). 18 holes carved out of the most amazing terrain - it's a must play. When you've finished your round indulge yourself in the smallest clubhouse where you will find and receive the best service and attention possible. Simply it's one of the best golfing experiences you will have - enjoy!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ahwpgapro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
97 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Enjoyable golf and first class hospitality”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Played last Friday (13th June) as part of an annual boys golf trip to the area and played MG&CC for the first time.
We were a mixed bunch of standards ranging from handicaps of 10-28.
The day was dedicated to an absent friend and consequently we dressed up in what we called 'rascal' outfits. While it was all golf attire we were a little concerned that the bright colours might be frowned upon. Not a bit and a group photo was posted on the club website.
First impressions - Excellent reception
The golf course itself was tricky, but fair. The higher handicaps did find it tough but still very much enjoyed playing there. No two holes were the same which made for a very interesting round of golf - it helps when you birdie the 1st and 4th holes :-)
The front 9 is tighter and back 9 more open but all equally challenging and enjoyable. The greens ran the quickest and truest of the 3 rounds we played over the weekend. WHEN I return to play again I'll certainly have some local knowledge, ie playing irons off 13 and 14 instead of driver and going too far and running out of fairway....double blob!

What can I say about Mike and the entire team. Not since a golf holiday in Orlando have I experienced such hospitality on and off the course. The Americans do it so well and was a pleasure to have the american experience brought to Europe. Well done and thanks to everybody. We hope the rascal trophy sits well in the office!

A year off next year as golfing in the UK, back in 2016!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank RJhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands,UK
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Enjoyed golf but..l”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Everyone was really helpful and friendly. We have played here before. Course well cared fore but very tricky for higher handicappers..take irons!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank LindseyMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marbella Golf & Country Club also viewed

 
Marbella, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Marbella Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing