We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (993)
Filter reviews
993 results
Traveller rating
196
351
237
99
110
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
196
351
237
99
110
Show reviews that mention
All reviews blue bay puerto banus half board superior room minute walk along the beach pool bar ceiling fan breakfast and dinner larger pool plenty of sunbeds hen do main pool restaurant staff lovely hotel girls holiday rooms are basic sun loungers
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 993 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I visited with 6 friends for my 40th birthday. I emailed in advance to request a room with a nice view as it was a special occasion. When we got there, we were put in rooms that were accessed via the busy road. Our rooms were clean and had air conditioning. That’s all they had going for them really. Extractor fans didn’t work, plug sockets hanging off walls. Just in really poor condition. The reception staff were not particularly helpful with these issues either.
Food was good, pool was good. Location was good. Would not return.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
3  Thank elizabetht241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing B, Owner at BlueBay Banus, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Client,

Thank you very much for helping us improve by answering our survey.
Regarding the type of room, those that face the street are our cheapest rooms and are the ones that you reserved. the hotel has up to 4 types of rooms that vary according to the prices from basic to superior ....

Our main objective is to help our clients to enjoy their stay in the city to the maximum, that is why, their comments will be taken into account for future improvements.
Receive a warm greeting,

Hotel BlueBay Banús

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

This hotel is extremely dated built in 1978 and hasn’t been updated since .prior to arrival emailed the hotel requested ground floor near facilities due to a disability,was advised this was no problem,on arrival only to be told by a extremely rude receptionist the manager said no we must save room for someone else ,I attempted to explain and show my email and was met with several rude words directed at me in Spanish, when I advised him I understood what he said in Spanish he threw a tantrum and walked off .it reminds me of fawlty towers,was given a room at the furtherest point of the hotel up two flights of stairs no lift.no help with suitcases.dont got here with a disability they don’t care .
The room smelt air con was poor hardly working a ceiling fan squeaky when in use.internal doors had patched up holes in them ,bed with cheapest uncomfortable mattress ever spring sticking up.mini fridge filthy full of mildew empty .net curtains had blood on them .have to pay for WiFi 9euros per day.one device ,towels 10 euros refundable deposit.for the pool I asked to buy a coffee with evening meal told no not possible.shouted at by restaurant management for not bringing card cover with room number..this guy was ridiculous and kept saying no card no food ..
When leaving asked about shower room as out of the room for 12pm ..told no you must book only one .
Not a four star .no waiter service around the pool and not allowed in till 11am .im sure this hotel was nice in its day .but we made enquiries to move hotels as it was awful but other hotels were booked otherwise we would have left .when your glad to get home from holiday it shows just how bad it was .any attempt to speak about issues with staff were meet with temper tantrum s bad manners or comments made in Spanish such as you get what you pay for ..and stupid person etc
Honestly don’t go here grubby dirty hotel,staff are ridiculous and rude ..pools nice though

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
4  Thank sambell59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing B, Owner at BlueBay Banus, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Client,

Thank you very much for helping us improve by answering our survey.
We are very sorry to read that your expectations have not been met during your stay.


In reference to the room, tell him that if the guest requests a change of room, whenever possible, we will change it, since our main objective is that all our customers are satisfied and have a pleasant stay with us.
Regarding the Reception Department, We will talk to the person in charge to take the appropriate measures and prevent it from happening again

We take your comments seriously and we will take them into account for future improvements in the facilities / services of the Hotel.


Receive a warm greeting,
Hotel BlueBay Banús

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018 via mobile

Every time we have been to Puerto Banús we have stayed at blue bay! Their staff are extremely helpful and friendly and the rooms are spotless. Pool area is one of the best with plenty of room to sunbath and never have to fight over sunbeds. Will keep coming back !!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jodie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing B, Owner at BlueBay Banus, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our establishment for your last stay in Marbella, and for your positive assessment. Your comments about our location, service and quality, are the best reward and encouragement to continue making our guests' stay an unforgettable experience.

Best regards,

Hotel BlueBay Banús

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018

My daughter and I stayed for 6 nights bed and breakfast in August for our now annual girlie break in Puerto Banus. I should explain that we usually stay at the Hotel Guadalpin Banus but this year as we visited in August, our favourite hotel was completely out of our price range, so we decided to try the BlueBay Banus.
The hotel is further out of The marina area (a good 25 mins walk but mainly along the lovely promenade).
We booked a package with Jet2 and were very pleasantly surprised by the service we got - we will certainly consider booking with Jet2 again.
We were disappointed that on arrival we were simply given a map to get to our room and had to struggle with our own cases (including dragging them up two flights of stairs). The hotel is set out as a village of low rise (max three storey) rooms and I imagine when it was new (many years ago) was fabulous.... However, it is now in desperate need of a complete renovation. It is very very dated.
The room we were allocated was in a good location and a really good size with a great balcony and large well lit bathroom. However, there was hardly any lighting in the bedroom and no lights near the dressing table/mirror so the whole feel was dark and dingy. It was also very dusty and the floor was constantly dirty so that we couldn’t walk on it without flip flops or the soles of our feet were black!
We had to pay extra (per night) for the use of the safe which was on the floor of the wardrobe so not easily accessible. Wi-fi was also an extra charge although not a problem for us aw we just used our phones as hotspots.
Breakfast was very good - absolutely no complaints here.
Our main problem was the pool area. It is all on grass which obviously had to watered daily and cut. The areas below the sunbeds weren’t cut so were very long and therefore inevitably contained creepy crawlies, cigarette buts and various other small bits of rubbish- ugh!! The watered grass was also very muddy all the time and the mud transferred into the pool which, the whole time we were there, was just cloudy (with the mud) and so not exactly inviting! The smaller pool was beautifully clear but had hardly any sunbeds and the grassy area there was very sloped.
The other strange thing about the pool was that it didn’t officially open until 11am and the gates to it were locked- although this didn’t stop people climbing around the side area and putting towels on sunbeds from before 7am!
Overall we had a good break - Puerto Banus is a fabulous location with so many places to eat, drink and people watch. If the hotel can’t stretch to a complete renovation then a few changes would make it a totally different experience; paving the pool areas, more lighting in the bedroom and a full length mirror either in the bedroom or hallway area in room would all significantly improve the experience. As it stands this is not a 4 star hotel.
We will return to Puerto Banus but not the BlueBay Banus unless there are significant improvements.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
3  Thank JulieD154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing B, Owner at BlueBay Banus, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Julie,

First of all, we would like to thank you for sharing with other fellow users of TripAdvisor your experience in Hotel Bluebay Banús
We regret to know that your expectations weren't satisfied during your stay.
We will contact the department and take action to prevent a recurrence. We take in consideration your comments for future improvements in our services / installations of our Hotel.

Best Regards,

Hotel BlueBay Banus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018

Stayed here a couple of times now for a girls holiday with ages ranging from 17-70 and this hotel suits all. Ideally situated to reach the beach and short taxi ride away from the marina with all the lively bars etc, the rooms are comfortable and clean, food is always fresh and hot with variety to suit all and the gardens/pool area are well presented - would definantly recommend this hotel and would stay there again

Stayed: December 2017
1  Thank jackie591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing B, Owner at BlueBay Banus, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Jackie,

We appreciate the time that you took to post your comments. We are delighted to know you enjoyed your experience with us and the city. Please don't hesitate to contact us again for any question or requirements.

Best Regards,

Hotel BlueBay Banús

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews