We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atrocious”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marbella Playa Hotel
Ranked #28 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I have just booked out of this hotel after only one night and a breakfast that didn't exist. We stayed in rooms 518 and 519.
Three of yes were booked in for 5 nights. We checked in at 12.45 am on Sunday morning and just left at 1.30pm Sunday afternoon. We moved and paid for another hotel 5minutes away. The Don Carlos.
Do not go near this hotel It is like holiday camp. It is atrocious. We left and even though we had paid for 5nights bed and breakfast we left and obviously have lost the cost of this hotel.
Breakfast was a joke. The choice was a laugh. I believe it predominantly French. Good luck to them. This was the worst hotel I have ever experienced. Don't be fooled by what some people say This hotel is the worst. It's a sprawling holiday camp overloaded with noise a children and if you have walking difficulties rule it right out. Never again. But we live and learn at a cost.

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank onthecase25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Marbella Playa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Guest, thanks for your review about our resort.
I feel really sorry about your not good feelings.
However I’m not agree about your opinion: First of all I should tell that your stay was so short in time that you did not really know our facilities at all. Your negative review is based only on one breakfast. I don’t understand the sense of your bad review: our buffet breakfast is very complete; There is everything: juices, various kinds of bread, fresh fruit of the day, different types of cakes, jams, teas, coffee... Apart offer show cooking where our guests can eat various types of grilled dishes such as eggs, sausages, bacon, etc.

I must tell you that the facilities our hotel resort offers are very enjoyable by families, and we feel really proud about it.
Sorry again about your bad experience. All and all we hope to see you again and know deeply our facilities.

Best regards.

Alejandro Castillo
Gerente Hotel Marbella Playa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

122 - 128 of 1,150 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

Really lovely holiday we went in june it was soooo hot and lovely pool outside and inside, if you buy I bag from the people on the beach buy it from blue he is lovely and genuinely happy friendly person :) defo go again :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Camilla Milly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Marbella Playa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Guest, we appreciate your review and feel glad about your pleasant holiday in our resort. We hope to see you soon again.
We remain at your disposal. Thank you again and best regards.

Alejandro Castillo
Gerente hotel Marbella Playa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My 8 year old son and I spent a week at this hotel from 14th July 2014. We were in one of the bungalows and had a great time. The bungalow was lovely with plenty of room and the maid service was superb. The mattress on the bed was very firm though, not good if you have back issues! The bungalow was a couple of minutes from the dining room and pool and the hotel was situated right on a beautiful beach. The food was lovely with plenty to choose from at every meal - we were all inclusive. There was live cooking in the restaurant and food theme nights too. The staff were all very friendly and couldn't be more helpful. We didn't go to any of the entertainment night as they started at 2215 which was a bit too late for my son and for me! but there was children's entertainment on at 4pm each day which was great. There was always plenty of sunbeds around the pool area and if you didn't want to sit round the pool area there was a large tree filled area away from the pool with plenty of sunbeds where you could read and soak up the sun in peace. Would definitely return to this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Chend72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Marbella Playa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear guest, we appreciate your fully descriptive review about your experience in our resort Marbella Playa. We feel glad knowing that your family has enjoyed the holidays. We will keep working hard day after day to give all our guests the best service. We hope to see you again next year. Thank you again for your comments.
kind regards,

Alejandro Castillo
Gerente Hotel Marbella Playa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We've just returned from a one-week holiday in this hotel (4 adults) and it was just great. The hotel area is beautiful, one of the nicest I've ever seen, plenty of flowers, palms, picturesque corners, pretty fountains, colourful bungalows. The beach is large, clean and right at the hotel. The food was ok, the staff nice and helpful. The entire area and rooms (which are big with large beds and bathrooms) are kept clean all the time. I usually don't return to places where I've already been, but I like this place so much that I definitely want to come back. Highly recommended! Many thanks to the entire staff for beautiful holiday :)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Katarina Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Marbella Playa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear guest, we deeply appreciate your review about the hotel. We feel really glad with your pleasant experience in our hotel. We will keep working harder to get fully satisfaction of all our guests.

Thank you very much indeed. We expect to see you again soon.

Alejandro Castillo
Gerente Hotel Marbella Playa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Had a fabulous week staying in 1 of the bungalows. The room was kept very clean. The pool area was fab & there was never a problem getting sunloungers. The pool was massive & the warm outdoor jacuzzi was a bonus! We were half board - breakfast & evening meal were good, plenty of choice of salads, fish, meat, pasta. The location of the hotel was superb, it was midway along a lush sandy beach that seemed to go on forever both ways, perfect if you're after a relaxing holiday! A good choice of places along the beach to have a refreshing drink or food. 5 minutes walk from the hotel was a bus stop which had buses running to Marbella every 1/2 hr at a cost of 1 euro 18 each way, & into Fuengirola the other way, also 1/2 hrly at around 2 euros. You had no problem getting a seat on the buses like in some countries. There is absolutely no need to get taxis out & about unless people are too lazy to make a 5 min walk to the bus-stop. Just before the bus stop, so 4 mins walk, there is a well stocked supermarket open from 8am til 10pm, plus a very good general hardware store next door selling suitcase locks & lots of very useful items, a Chinese Takeaway, a pharmacy & a cafe. I needed the hospital whilst there & reception staff speedily called me a taxi to the Costa Del Sol Hospital, which arrived in minutes. They were also responsive & friendly in helping us with a minor problem we had. I couldn't fault the accomodation, food, pool, location, beach, transportation to local resorts or any other aspect of the holiday. The only very minor thing was that it would've been nice to have more English people, probably only 30% of the guests were British, & 1 nationality that I won't name didn't seem to understand the concept of queuing at mealtimes!!! Thank you Marbella Playa for a superb holiday, we plan to come back the same time next year :-)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ShellTheBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Marbella Playa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear guest, we appreciate your positive review about your experience in our hotel. Glad you enjoyed your holidays. We also appreciate your opinion about the staff. Our objectif is always getting our guests feel like home or even better. According to dinner we are sorry about not having met your expectations, but our Buffet-Restaurant offer daily several kinds of meat, salads, pasta, desserts, etc. and also in our show-cooking you can have several kinds of meals, so we try to satisfy all our guests with varied menu of dishes to choose.

We expect to see you soon again. Thanks again for your kind words.

Alejandro Castillo
Gerente

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We wanted to for the first time leave a review on this hotel to help other travellers who are thinking of going to Marbella. If you want a relaxing chill out time this is just perfect for you. The hotel staff, Isabella at reception and all other staff were amazing. They were super friendly and any requests we had were acted upon almost immediately. We stayed in the hotel and the rooms were well kept, cleaned every day and beds were very comfortable. There is a very relaxed atmosphere in this complex. The entertainment by the pool was good and there was a real fun holiday atmosphere here during the day. It will suit a couple or older persons or families. The best bit was its location. Right on the beach. The only downside was that some of the garden areas could do with more planting, especially at the railings overlooking the beach. Breakfast was good. Dinner not so good. So maybe just B & B will work fine. There are great little restaurants along the beach to the right when you exit the hotel. We can totally recommend Miguel Y Marias for quality of food, service and price. On the whole a fantastic chilled out week in sunny spain. Thank you..................

Room Tip: Choose a hotel room if you are a couple. I cannot comment on the bungalows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Marbella Playa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Guest,
It is a pleasure for us to know that your stay at our hotel was as nice as you say. Your comment makes us proud of the work we do every day as we make the best effort to accomplish this task and provide the best service to our customers.
We remain at your service and we hope you return to visit at any other time.

Alejandro Castillo Aguilar
Gerente Marbella Playa Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

After reading the reviews after booking I was very nervous about staying here but couldn't cancel which was a shame.
This is not a 4 star hotel, I have been all over the world & stayed in many 4 star hotels, this is a 2 star maybe 3 star hotel,
There is props my no point writing this review as you can see from other reviews the manager doesn't address your concerns or critisms he just sends the same standard response such as "we are sorry you are not 100% satisfied, please stay again"!!
The location is terrible, you must use taxis or hire a car to go anywhere although hotel is next to a beach.
The hotel is understaffed, you have to wait very long times to get any service especially at reception and bars.
The staff are unhelpful and unfriendly, especially the bar staff.
We had massive cockroaches in our room.
The invite cafe served us a raw burger and barely cooked chips.
We asked for a cot prior to arrival, this was confirmed by email but no cot on arrival.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Prodigygee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Marbella Playa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. Our apologies for not having satisfied you as far as you expected, it is a pitty that you had insects in the room, but this is an area surround of lot of gardens. Our hotel is just in front of the beach, that is why we are chosen for the people who want sun and beach, if you want to go to Marbella you need to take a taxi or rent a car or take a bus, it is true, but our beach is the best in the area. We put the baby beds when the client ask, not before, because sometimes are errors of the travel agencies, but you had your bed when you asked. We will take care about your feeling in order to improve our services as much as possible.

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us.
We remain at your disposal and we hope to visit again,

Alejandro Castillo Aguilar
Gerente Marbella Playa Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marbella hotels
0.1 mi away
Diverhotel Marbella
Diverhotel Marbella
#49 of 70 in Marbella
725 reviews
11.4 mi away
Barcelo Marbella
Barcelo Marbella
#12 of 70 in Marbella
1,544 reviews
5.8 mi away
Senator Marbella Spa Hotel
Senator Marbella Spa Hotel
#29 of 70 in Marbella
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Benabola Hotel & Suites
Benabola Hotel & Suites
#1 of 3 in Puerto Banus
210 reviews
5.2 mi away
Aparthotel Puerto Azul Marbella
1 mi away
Hotel Vincci Seleccion Estrella del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marbella Playa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marbella Playa Hotel

Address: Ctra Cadiz, Km 189, 29604, Marbella, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
Price Range: £54 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This marvellous tourist resort situated in Marbella, which imitates the style of an Andalusian town, offers fully equipped cottage type rooms and a fantastic themed pool with slides for the little ones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Marbella Playa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lti Marbella Playa Hotel Marbella
Lti Hotel Marbella
Hotel Marbella Playa
Marbella Playa Hotel Andalucia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing