We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location.”
Review of El Faro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Faro
Ranked #35 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Reviewed 9 July 2014

A friend and I stayed here in June this year. The hotel itself is lovely, has a really nice outdoor bar area and a small but excellent pool. The staff are just wonderful, very friendly and helpful when it comes to advice about trips and the local area.The rooms are a very good size with comfortable beds and a nice sized balcony. Breakfast has a good variety of fruits, cheeses, meats and bread.The only problem that you may encounter is Hen and Stag parties that will keep you awake!! The location of the hotel is superb, it is a 3 min walk to the beach and restaurant area plus only a 5 mins walk to the old town which is very picturesque and has a number of lovely restaurants. I have never been to this part of Spain before, but I was very impressed with the cleanliness, friendliness, and the wonderfully relaxed atmosphere. I would certainly recommend this resort and specifically this hotel, and I would most definitely go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool, ours overlooked the road, which was fine except for the bin men...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank EnniskillenJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014

My husband and I spent 5 days at EL Faro while we were in Spain for a wedding. The rooms were clean and spacious and the staff are friendly and helpful. They let us borrow a power adaptor and iron during our stay so that we didn't have to buy one. El faro is very centrally located and only steps away from the beach and restaurants. The food at breakfast was of limited variety and quality but we were always out to eat with friends anyways so it didn't bother us. For the price you pay you couldn't find a better place!! Thanks for a great vacation!!

Room Tip: The back of the hotel might be quiter than street side and a little more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Erin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

El Faro is on a quiet side street only 50 metres from the beautiful beach and main promenade with plenty of bars and restaurants. It only about a 10 minute walk to the beautiful old town with lovely shops and restaurants.
The staff are all lovely and very helpful - the reception staff helped us to book our trip to Gibraltar. (£18 each)
The breakfasts are very good- selection of cold meats, cheese, tomato. Fruit, Toast, Croissants, pain au chocolate. Tea/coffee/juices/water.
The rooms are spotless with towels changed every day (the room had a small kitchenette area (but we didn't use it) with a large balcony.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the street - on some occasions was a little noisy due to bin collection (w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dofawcett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I arrived on the 11th junewith my wife and mother for an eight night stay.On saturday 14th a welsh stag party arrived for a four night stay.Doors and WRONG doors were being banged constantly from 4 am onwards meaning no sleep for anyboby on the second floor.They were lying totally inebriated from alcohol served at the hotel bar in the pool area cursing and acting in an intimidating mannerwith the result people did not use the pool.If the new management are going to condone and allow stag parties people should seriously think about not using this hotel.One very dissatisifed customer

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

I got her yesterday June 11th to Marbella, a city where I enjoy spending part of my yearly vacation (in June). This time I picked El faro, located in the center of Marbella close to water and the marina. A 3 star hotel, yet surprise to find a helpful staff and great manager, clear modern rooms close to all the Fun. A great welcome and smile from everyone at this hotel. Especially the manager, Juan Carlos. Thank you guys

Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank Pti1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

excellent friendly, chatty staff couldn't have been more helpful, close to beach in quiet street
even close to 11.00am, we were allowed to come in for breakfast, great selection for breakfast nice outdoor area and pool

Room Tip: room at back overlook pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Park your small car for a small fee. Walk to shops and the beach. If you would like to save your money for sho0ping and eating, and luxury lodging is not a priority, El Faro is perfect. Clean, friendly, breakfast (with fruit) included. No complaints here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marbella hotels
0.4 mi away
Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos
0.2 mi away
Aparthotel Puerto Azul Marbella
0.8 mi away
Senator Marbella Spa Hotel
Senator Marbella Spa Hotel
#29 of 70 in Marbella
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 70 in Marbella
1,495 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Cristobal
Hotel San Cristobal
#24 of 70 in Marbella
543 reviews
3.9 mi away
PYR Marbella Hotel
PYR Marbella Hotel
#38 of 70 in Marbella
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Faro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Faro

Address: Calle Virgen del Pilar 11, 29670, Marbella, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
Price Range: £45 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Faro 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Superbreak UK, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your El Faro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Faro Hotel Marbella
El Faro Marbella, Andalucia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing