We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NOT vegetarian friendly”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Garnacha

Garnacha
Reserve with
Save up to 30% when you reserve online *
Garnacha is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #97 of 1,373 Restaurants in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Gourmet space with two well-defined offerings, the first, the kitchen where each plate forming the letter is intended to satisfy you taste as visually and the second wine, will find here a wide selection of wines from different denominations, all fell a relationship quality price very high. Enjoy all this on our terrace in the old town of Marbella.
gaserati
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“NOT vegetarian friendly”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

The only thing i can say, is that this place only offered me a green salad with dryed tomatos as a vegetarian dish. Oh wait, he also mentioned plain goat cheese (yes plain goat cheese with 3 grapes decoration).
I would not go back to such an unflexible and unopen type of cuisine.
I forgot to mention that our group composed of 8 peopke were the ONLY customer in the restaurant.
NEVER AGAIN!

Helpful?
2 Thank gaserati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garnacha2012, Propietario at Garnacha, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
She is you the one that decided to enter a not vegetarian restaurant, and because of it it unloads all his fustrations in tripadvisor, it is our option not to have vegetarian alternatives, I respect the vegetarian ones and expect for the same thing from you.
Do not come any more if it does not want, one be going to the vegetarian one to eat a good cucumber. His friends went away delighted, even they asked for cards us. And this day ther isn´t people because thankfully or unfortunately it was playing Spain, to the football, clear you do not like people the football either.
Tripadvisor is a free way where the people can express freely, all kinds of people.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    69
    11
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Dont judge a book by its cover”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We ate at Garnacha for the first time on our most recent trip to Marbella (first two weeks of June). The food was excellent. We ate pork cheeks, octopus in potato cream and marinated salmon. Separate dishes you understand - not all on the same plate.

All were served tapas style. However this is elevated tapas with a lot of care and creativity going in to some excellent ingredients. The level of cooking that we enjoyed would not be out of place in a Michelin starred restaurant. In fact we ate in a Michelin starred restaurant during this trip and it didn't match the flavours at Garnacha. I should also give an honourable mention to the wine list which is well thought out and reasonably priced.

I understand from the waiter that the business has been established for around 2 1/2 years. Getting established in a competitive market like Marbella wont have been easy but they have clearly managed costs well by starting out in basic premises and have developed a following generated by the food they provide on the plate. Prices are competitive for this quality

The current premises on the Calle Virgen Del Pillar are modest and the limited seating may make for a suppressed atmosphere but don't judge this book by that cover. Particularly as the owner tells me they are relocating to Plaza De Los Olivos soon. Before I left I shook the chef patrons hand and the waiters. Popped back the next day to make a reservation for our next visit in September to the new premises. Something we are looking forward to very much

Keep up the good work Garnacha

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garnacha2012, Propietario at Garnacha, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
thanks for your opinion, what he does best is that they are satisfied
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Superb quality, taste and service at a great price too”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Guided by Tripadvisor we easily located the restaurant and were welcomed by the very friendly staff, two chefs and a front of house manager in person (we were the first into the restaurant at lunch time).

There is a choice of around 20 starters and main courses and we chose a smoked fish combination, pork cheeks in Pedro Jimenez sauce, fried egg with potato, jamon de Iberica and baby anguillas,and finally oxtail tacos. Each dish was an absolute knockout in taste and presentation and we 'scored' the dishes at 9/10 on average. The fried egg dish was marked down slightly since we felt that the anguillas did not add anything to the taste however they provided a pleasant visual texture.

The restaurant filled up while we were there and we noted the looks of delight and empty dishes from the other diners.

Go, try, enjoy. We will be back soon to try more from the inventive menu.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bobtracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garnacha2012, Propietario at Garnacha, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
It us takes pleasure to have pleased them in almost almost quite, thank you very much for his constructive critique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marbella, Spain
Level Contributor
141 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“spanish creative cousin with a twist”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

A nice little spot an bit away from the bitten track.
Inviting creative menu that makes you feel like trying it all and the good news is that you can as you can order half portion of all of them from just 6€.
it was two of us and we tried a good selection of 7 different dishes, all delicious.
The service was very very good, so was the selection of wines.
Sure not a place to go if you are in a hurry……
check it out.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fgtosca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garnacha2012, Propietario at Garnacha, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
I understand that a trick puts us for the lateness in the service, my excuses if this was like that. Apart from this I estimate the words of a critic with experiences as you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashtown
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful place - Brilliant value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I went here based on other trip advisor reviews. A wonderful small restaurant. The waiter was very attentive and helpful (made sure we didn't order too much) and every course we had (1 starter and 4 half portion mains) was wonderful - particularly the cod and the ox tail. In terms of value for money, as good as any restaurant we have been to in Spain.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rainrobbie81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garnacha2012, Propietario at Garnacha, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Thank you for his comment, we wait to see them soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Garnacha also viewed

Marbella, Costa del Sol
 
Marbella, Costa del Sol
Marbella, Costa del Sol
 
Marbella, Costa del Sol
Marbella, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Garnacha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing