We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“greens not great” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cabopino Golf Marbella

Cabopino Golf Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Cabopino Golf is located on the border between Marbella and Mijas Costa, opposite the charming little Cabopino Port. The Course was designed by Mr. Juan Ligués Creus, who’s layout presents spectacular views of the Mediterranean Sea and the surrounding pine forest.. The Course with 5.170 metres; and par 71 has three par 3’s, two par 5’s and the rest par 4’s. Amongst the many spectacular holes, the par 4, 3rd hole would be the one to mention. The tee box perched on the side of the cliff presents you with a tee shot that has a drop of nearly 80 metres to the fairway, then you face an elevated green protected by a large bunker. Holes 13 and 15 are also attractive, with streams and lakes.
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“greens not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

the greens were poor compared to other courses but the course is a nice one to play regarding costs.
very tight, but we had a fairly quick round

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Laj361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    53
    12
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hindley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“excellent golf course:-)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

I played Cabopino Sven years ago and was not impressed, on this visit I noticed many improvements and new facilities, I was welcomed by Chris the caddie master, he has been at the club for nine years and told me of the new improvements and club policies, not least of which was the new fleet of buggies that had been purchased.
The course was the same lay out as seven years before, but the condition of the tees, fairways, and greens are all in superb condition, this is probably the best condition of any golf course that I have played abroad during the past three years, and is truely a credit to all of the people like Chris who have been involved.
I heartily recommend playing Cabopino, and in addition to all of my previous report, the cost from 3.30pm with a buggy included was only 55euro, definately a bargain by any standards.
Well done Cabopino golf

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobshaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands,UK
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Much improved”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Course in great condition, buggy guy so friendly, but ladies tees need work as does some bare patches , but would go again.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank LindseyMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC VALUE FOR MONEY”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Just returned from 5 days in Marbella area, played Cabapino 3 times over 2 days, played twice on the Wed and once on the Fri before flying home. We booked through Golf in Spain and got a good deal for Cabopino and El Chaperral. We were staying at Las Flamingo's and the directions we were given were 1st class and sign posts take you straight to the course. On arrival we were directed to Pro shop and then to Caddy Master who supplied us with a buggy and directions to first tee, The course was in very good nick and we had 3 different kinds off weather each time we played. Wed am when we arrived it had just stopped raining so course was very wet, Wed pm we had sunny spells with strong wind and on Fri we had perfect conditions.Tees could have been better but only a small gripe. Greens were good and only slightly spoiled by the number of unrepaired pitch marks on them. Course lay out is really good with holes that suit every type/handicap golfer, Loved the 3rd 288yd hole with tee approx 150 ft above the green, I had a go at it 3 times and failed on all 3 front bunker once and rough to left of green twice.Par three's all different and Par 5s a good test, water comes into play ona few holes but it only adds to the character of the course, Buggy is a must tried walking on first round and it was pretty hard going.Good challenging course, friendly, helpful staff.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Eyeball1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“GOLF AS IT SHOULD BE”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Played here 13th may all our party of eight thought it excellent, course was brilliant fairways tees perfect, the greens are tricky and fast,yes there are bigger more reknowned clubs on this coast,we played 3 off them,El Chapperal,Rio Real, and Santa Clara paid twice as much dosh,but enjoyed them less. We are single figure golfers,and yes its a bit short,but quite tight and requires good management,had a great meal after 11euros anf 30euros for the golf with buggy,this course is a gem.Will be bk next year for sure.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank peterb170450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cabopino Golf Marbella also viewed

 
La Cala de Mijas, Mijas
Marbella, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Cabopino Golf Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing