We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful al fresco restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gran Plaza

Gran Plaza
Ranked #975 of 1,353 Restaurants in Marbella
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A beautiful al fresco restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

A beautiful al fresco restaurant on the edge of Orange Square, The Gran Plaza in Marbella is a great restaurant serving authentic Spanish food. They always have great fish choices and if you want to choose your own catch of the day you can. Excellent service too.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Debi919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    36
    31
    20
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Conamara
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ok food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

The food was good enough but not good value for the price. We shared a great spicy prawn starter & the seabass/prawn main was good but should have been excellent for the price. We received a small free glass of cava & an excellent free liquer after we paid the bill. Overall couldnt fault it just a bit pricey.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TaistealaiChonamara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drogheda, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location Great disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

This restaurant is in a great location on the edge of Orange Square in the Casco Antiguo (The Old Town) in Marbella. The staff are very anxious on the walkways to get tourists to come in and have a meal in their restaurant. Unfortunately once your are in they are not as nice and helpful as you would expect. There was a delay before our order was taken and then a long wait for the food to arrive. We had a very average grilled chicken and Spanish salad etc. Properly managed, trained staff would improve this restaurant greatly. It has huge potential because of location and the footfall passing. We had a great disappointment in this restaurant. Also there was a cover charge of €1.50 per person which was totally unjustified

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joseph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Do not eat here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

Possibly the worst restaurant meal my party of four has ever eaten. The location as mentioned in other reviews is excellent. After negotiating to get a table that would seat four (the maitre d' wanted to squeeze us on to a table sized for two) we ordered from the menu not knowing what would accompany each main course. (when asked the water said vegetables! Yes I know, should have left then...) After a poor quality fino sherry was delivered unrequested, everything else went further downhill. You don't need to hear loads more about poor quality food, when we complained the response was basically a shrug of the shoulders...The one star is for location...DO NOT EAT HERE

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bettws Cedewain
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Promised a dream, delivered a Nightmare”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Great location on Orange Square (BTW: I've submitted corrections to this restaurant - It's actually "Gran Plaza" on the Plaza de los Naranjos (Orange square) in old Marbella. Stopped there for a meal for family of 5. Service poor and impersonal, food was well below par and overpriced. Couldn't order from Pizza menu, The pork Tenerloin was reasonable, Carbonarra passable, Omlete - satisfactory but the Lasagne - dry, bland, unseasoned, and virtually unpalatable. 95 Euros down the drain and a wasted evening. steer clear. There's a multitude of choice in this area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nsummers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gran Plaza also viewed

 
Marbella, Costa del Sol
Marbella, Costa del Sol
 
Marbella, Costa del Sol
Marbella, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Gran Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing