We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel, I definitely recommend it!!:)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melia Marbella Banus
Ranked #15 of 71 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely hotel, I definitely recommend it!!:)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012

It was truly a great experience staying at this hotel and I highly recommend it! The hotel is beautiful, has a great pool area, great breakfast area with a lot of variety, super attentive staff makes you feel taken care of at all times and they always had a smile on their face. They truly made our stay feel warm and personal. They have a private lounge also that you can book, and here you have everything from coffee to champagne, lovely tapas, fruit, everything you need to enjoy and relax a little between the sun bathing. Loved this! The lunch was great as well, and the restaurant had a great menu at all times.The rooms on the ground floor was beautiful with our own garden with sunbeds. Just lovely. This is a great hotel for a romantic getaway, or to stay with friends or family. Great location, a little hidden, which can make it hard to find, but worth it when you do. I truly recommend this hotel for your Puerto Banús vacation if you are looking for a relaxed stay, in a peaceful enviorment!! Thank you so much for an unforgettable stay!!!Meliá just never disappoints :)))

Room Tip: We loved our ground floor room with a private garden and direct access to the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando Preto R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Marbella Banus, responded to this review, 27 March 2016
Dear Maria R,

Thank you very much for sending your opinion in 2012.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again very soon at Meliá Marbella Banús Hotel and let you enjoy the new changes experienced by our structure since.

We will be expecting you!

Warmest Regards,



Fernando Preto
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    714
    594
    162
    56
    36
See reviews for
393
681
20
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012

I booked through Trip Advisor and selected the best value four star in the area.

Upon arrival it was not easy to locate the hotel, yes there are large signs on the roundabout but the last two hundred meters is quite difficult with no signage through back streets and many parked cars. Tip : as you exit left at the last roundabout when you see what looks like a bank, turn left just after and you'll soon see a large sign for helicopter tours, turn right following adjacent to the old road (on your left side), if you find yourself in what looks like the back of the hotel (it is) at an un-surfaced carpark facing the bridge / river then go back toward the roundabout to drive around the block.

The reception is clean and there is a taxi rank on the premises with no shortage of service if you are not hiring a car, although Banus itself is a short walk along the seafront to connect with local transport the distance is not suited to the less able (about 1km) but I would say a perfect distance from both noise in the busier season whilst close enough for entertainment. Our welcome at first was 'cold' until I started talking in the native tongue which is not unusual, some Brits need to accept this fact before looking inwards and penning their reviews about The Empire with Egg & Chips... There is an LCD display offering room upgrades from €80 to which we accepted a 'full blown' upgrade to a Superior Suite in The Level with lounge access. This, if in your budget and style of holiday is a must do...

Our suite was on the sixth floor facing the river with views over Marbella to the fore, the Med to our right around to Marbella and mountains to the left which were majestic. With the bridge over the river you can see the water fowl landing, the fish sparkle in the sun as they swim and get eaten by the water fowl... well ok that's my sense of humour... all of which were viewed from a massive terrace accessed by two double doors from our accommodations. The terrace had two quality sun loungers and a bistro table with chairs, perfect for having a morning coffee brewed freshly by the capsule machine in the room which also boasted two televisions with a wide range of television channels including BBC1 and BBC2 - so you won't miss Eastenders my lurv... Whilst the bed was very comfortable with a choice of pillows (including a heated one) the other furnishings are a little 'basic' for my preference, loads of storage and the room service was very good indeed.

I read a few reviews from others commenting upon The Level lounge and yes they are right, it is a place of solitude from other guests paying less for their lowly standard rooms but then again our upgrade included free unlimited wine, cava, beer and soft drinks with snacks at selected times of the day. How much was their bar bill at the high prices mentioned by others in their own reviews? I think the word we're looking for is "DOH" in a Homer Simpson voice... Thus, if you are looking for a relaxing quiet break and do intend to have a few drinks in the hotel, take the upgrade and enjoy looking down upon the poor. (Just kidding LOL). Yes, the choice was a bit repetitive in agreement with others but so what.

As out of season I can't comment upon the outdoor pools etc but they did look very good, sell secluded and private with sculpted gardens which are well tended. All in all if you are looking for a stag / hen night then I'd stay somewhere else, couples or indeed those on business will find the hotel more suited to their needs and the Level upgrade is certainly a consideration and we certainly got value for our money on drinks alone never mind the room upgrade, it's your preference and your choice.

For the more critical reviews on this hotel I would sprinkle a large pinch of salt, personally we would return and found little wrong with the whole package.

Room Tip: Enquire about upgrade upon arrival, if suited to your needs take The Level rooms with lounge access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AyrshireBacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando Preto R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Marbella Banus, responded to this review, 27 March 2016
Dear AyrshireBacon,

Thank you very much for sending your opinion in 2012.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again very soon at Meliá Marbella Banús Hotel and let you enjoy the new changes experienced by our structure since.

We will be expecting you!

Warmest Regards,



Fernando Preto
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

The hotel is impressive on entry with nice lounge areas. We found our room a bit disappointing, could do with a bit of tlc and 2 double beds would be better replaced by a king. This was after we moved rooms - our first room smelt very musty, but second fine with a nice balcony view of the pool.

the food was very good, plenty of choice and nice dining area, and location handy for getting into puerto banus / marbella.

The staff seemed a bit grumpy with us, not rude as such but not exactly going out of their way to be friendly and helpful. Having said this a handwritten note, complimentary bottle of cava and slippers/bathrobe plus turn down service on first night was a nice touch (not sure why only turn down on one night though?)

I would return to this hotel, it was really good value for what we paid but would not expect the royal treatment from it's staff!

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Travellerchaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando Preto R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Marbella Banus, responded to this review, 27 March 2016
Dear Travellerchaz,

Thank you very much for sending your opinion in 2012.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again very soon at Meliá Marbella Banús Hotel and let you enjoy the new changes experienced by our structure since.

We will be expecting you!

Warmest Regards,



Fernando Preto
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2012

Rooms are old fashioned and come with tiny beds.
Staff are very rude (excluding the bar staff)
Bar area is nice, massively overpriced however.
The pool area looks nice and tidy / well kept.
Off some dodgy unlit side road in an area not safe for walking into the port.

A nice hotel with terrible rooms and terrible service (except in the bar)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank korkibucek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando Preto R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Marbella Banus, responded to this review, 27 March 2016
Dear Korkibucek,

Thank you very much for sending your opinion in 2012.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again very soon at Meliá Marbella Banús Hotel and let you enjoy the new changes experienced by our structure since.

We will be expecting you!

Warmest Regards,



Fernando Preto
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchestere
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

This hotel justifies the quality of the Melia group. In Marbella terms. Being in walking distance of Puerto Banus the location is outstanding, but is let down by the views from some rooms overlooking the desalination plant are disappointing. The staff are excellent. The grounds with two pools and lawns for the loungers are a delight. It is worthwhile considering paying the premium for the Level Lounge, providing a quiet area to relax indoors with extensive snacks at lunch tea and dinner, which could be a meal for some. The food in the restaurant is excellent. We enjoyed our stay and would go again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden, particularly on the ground floor where you can walk straight off your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdrianCharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando Preto R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Marbella Banus, responded to this review, 27 March 2016
Dear AdrianCharles,

Thank you very much for sending your opinion in 2012.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again very soon at Meliá Marbella Banús Hotel and let you enjoy the new changes experienced by our structure since.

We will be expecting you!

Warmest Regards,



Fernando Preto
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, CT
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

The hotel is beautiful but there was directory in the room so we didn't know what all they offered without inquiring at the desk. We thought it would be fun to stay in a luxurious setting but found out we are really happier in smaller, more intimate hotels.

Also, I should know by now that "ocean view " and ocean front" mean two very differ t things...

But, I would recommend this hotel to someone who wants a gorgeous beach.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando Preto R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Marbella Banus, responded to this review, 27 March 2016
Dear Laura C,

Thank you very much for sending your opinion in 2012.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again very soon at Meliá Marbella Banús Hotel and let you enjoy the new changes experienced by our structure since.

We will be expecting you!

Warmest Regards,



Fernando Preto
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012

We booked the hotel direct, the hotel arranged for a taxi to pick us up at Malaga airport & likewise the return journey to the airport a week later, the cost of the Taxi half the price if you booked privately. An excellent hotel if you wish to relax & enjoy a little piece & tranquility. We always look for a hotel that can offer clean reasonable size rooms, Good food, a location that has beaches, shops, "Wow" Puerto Banus had it all. This hotel covered all of our requirements. We did book a Levels room, We had a room top floor overlooking the pool garden area. The service we received from Melia was excellent, we are looking to book our future breaks with this chain.

Room Tip: The Levels, The 5th floor, Quiet with good views over the pool/ gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fielder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando Preto R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Marbella Banus, responded to this review, 27 March 2016
Dear Fielder,

Thank you very much for sending your opinion in 2012.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again very soon at Meliá Marbella Banús Hotel and let you enjoy the new changes experienced by our structure since.

We will be expecting you!

Warmest Regards,



Fernando Preto
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marbella hotels
2.6 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 71 in Marbella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,610 reviews
1.4 mi away
Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella
1.4 mi away
Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus
Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus
#20 of 71 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
H10 Andalucia Plaza
H10 Andalucia Plaza
#1 of 1 in Nueva Andalucia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,114 reviews
2.4 mi away
NH Marbella
NH Marbella
#17 of 71 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Marbella Banus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Marbella Banus

Property: Melia Marbella Banus
Address: Mario Vargas Llosa, S/N, Carretera de Cadiz km 175 | Puerto Banus, 29660, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
#14 Family Hotel in Marbella
#19 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Marbella Banus 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the exclusive area of Puerto Banus, in the famous Golden Mile and very close to the beach and some of the most Deluxe shopping and leisure facilities in Europe. The Melia Marbella Banus Hotel is the perfect choice for visiting Puerto Banus and Marbella thanks to its excellent location, its complete and comfortable facilities, and the quality of its services. In the heart of the "Costa del Golf", and surrounded by some of the finest golf courses in the area, all available at a special discount. Amongst its magnificent facilities and services, Melia Marbella Banus provides 200 superb rooms with two double beds; different dining spaces such as El Rio Verde Restaurant, the Patio Bar, La Hiedra Restaurant and the Pool Bar (the last two only open in summer); free high speed WiFi internet; exclusive The Level service; 3 outdoor pools (1 adults only pool, 1 pool with 3 waterfalls and 1 children’s pool); Wellness Area with indoor heated pool, sauna and Turkish bath; 1 tennis court; 2 paddle tennis courts; a children’s play area; 4 meeting rooms for up to 150 people, and underground parking for the exclusive use of guests with space for 60 vehicles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Melia, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Melia Marbella Banus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Marbella Banus Hotel Marbella
Sol Melia Marbella Dinamar
Melia Marbella Dinamar
Melia Marbella Banus Andalucia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing