We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Using the Level”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Melia Marbella Banus
Ranked #16 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Really enjoyable 2 night stay. Used the Level which was great value. Room was everything expected at this grade of hotel, comfy beds and pillows. Reception exceptionally helpful. Adults only pool area, not masses of sunbeds, maybe time of year, lots of trees for shade. Breakfast excellent lots of choice, nice smiley staff, very helpful.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank emjayen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristina I, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Marbella Banus, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear emjayen,

Reading such a possitive review of your last experience in our exclusive The Level service and regarding the genuine care from our team members, makes every one in our Meliá Marbella Banús family immensely proud.

We all look forward to seeing you very soon!

Warmest regards,

Cristina Iñesta
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,743)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

709 - 715 of 1,746 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2014

It has been many years since I have visited this area of Spain as I usually prefer City breaks rather than pool/beach breaks. However given that it was the end of March we decided that we would do just that so that we would be more likely to get decent weather on the Costa del Sol than almost anywhere else. In the event we were wrong on that score as it rained for the first time evidently since November but we were correct in choosing the hotel for a relaxing break.
As noted in many reviews the Hotel itself can be difficult to find when driving and we were glad that we took a SatNav with us. The Hotel itself has really nice landscaping, at this time of year the grounds will have had a rest from peak season traffic and they looked really good. The public areas were spotless and the staff welcoming. We checked in at the level lounge at the back of the public area. Macarena (?) who was on duty the day we arrived and for the reat of our short break was the sort of person who absolutely makes a hotel work. She was pleasant, thoughtful and efficient and seemed to be there all the time.
The level itself is worth the little extra that you pay, at least if you book in advance. The details have been covered in many posts but snacks and drinks are readily available and refreshed. The Lounge itself is very clean and kept that way by Macarena (?) and other staff. I would have only one caveat to make, despite being a recent innovation at this hotel the Lounge had no ramp for disabled access and although staff and clients were very helpful in providing assistance this could be easily addressed. In terms of improving it even further it would benefit by having a terrace. The weather we had meant that it was no hardship being indoors however our weather was not typical and outdoor facilities would really improve the experience.
The room was fine and as always the beds provided by Melia are comfortable and provide a good nights sleep. Breakfast in the restaurant was good with lots of choice. We ate in the restaurant one night as well and I would recommend it. Our nights in Puerto Banus were quiet, obviously it was off season and the hotel was busier that Banus. The food again was good with a range of Fish and Meats cooked to order and a good range of other foods.
In terms of leaving the hotel for Banus there is a Garden Entrance at the back of the hotel, this is signposted and is accessed when you return via you room card. We found the walk along the Prom very accessible and roads and the Prom itself were lit. Along the Prom were two beach bars neither one of which we visited before arriving in the Port Area itself. certainly no more than a 15 minute stroll.Once you reach the main area then a left turn will take you to the harbour and high end shops and bars whilst going straight on will lead towards more affordable shopping, drinking and eating. There is a Cinema behind that you will find a small shopping mall with Spanish chains such as Zara, Massimo Dutti etc and just over the road a large Cortes Ingles.

If you leave the hotel and cross the bridge, there is a beach bar immediately once you cross, possible only open in High Season and then walking in the direction of Marbella there are then plenty of other bars and restaurants, many open off season. They looked popular. The Prom does stop by a Beach Bar and you walk the beach for 30m before it picks up again or if in a wheelchair, or on a bike (very popular) or with a pushchair then turn left at the sign for Villa Romano and then follow the road parallel to beach returning to the Prom by the beach bar.
When making a judgement about an area and a hotel you think would I return? Well we will.

Room Tip: Level Rooms are on top floor, sea view is a side view as an apartment block is built on the front li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ruffwood1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristina I, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Marbella Banus, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear ruffw00d,

It always gives us great joy to read such a wonderful review about your Meliá Marbella Banús experience.

We really appreciate your lovely description about our Hotel and facilities, and mainly for the glowing comments about our The Level Service you received.
Our front line team do really strive to make every guests´ stay exceptional and Macarena, in particular, shows a great passion every day.
We have passed on your kind words to her and we feel very proud for having her on board.

We really look forward to that return trip for you to receive our 5 star service and to live another unforgettable experience!

All the best,

Cristina Iñesta
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Stayed for a week in late September 2013 in a "level" room. This provided a sort of all inclusive lite deal with beer wine and soft drinks available all day, a tapas lunch and more extensive open bar before dinner in the "level" lounge. We felt the package was worth it, especially as there were not many alternatives in the immediate area. Food at breakfast and buffet dinner provided good choice and quality.
The hotel grounds are beautifully landscaped with natural shade only-no unsightly umbrellas. No problem finding a peaceful spot whether overlooking the formal pool or the shadier free form one.
Drinks prices (for us after dinner only) were reasonable.
The hotel is a 15 minute walk from Puerto Banus in a pleasant residential area. But if you have done the walk twice in the day you may not want to do so again in the evening. So the lack of bars in the vicinity meant staying in the hotel at night.
Bedroom quite large, comfortable and well furnished. Only problem was that in the afternoon it was too hot to sit on the balcony-my kind of problem.
Overall- a very pleasant week we way well repeat.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristina I, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Marbella Banus, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear peter s,

Many thanks for your excellent comments and for sharing your Meliá Marbella Banús experience at TripAdvisor.

On behalf of all of us I would like to thank you for your last visit and for letting us know that you enjoyed our exclusive The Level service.

Thank you very much for your lovely description about our surroundings. There is no better location than ours, a step away from all the entertainment and just in front of the sea. A perfect combination for a perfect stay!

We really hope you come back very soon! Meanwhile receive our best wishes,

Cristina Iñesta
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I booked this hotel as a relaxing end to a very busy week sightseeing in spain. This has been the most stressfull and least enjoyable part of our holiday and we cannot wait to leave.
1. We were promised a room with a pool view instead our room faces a building site
2. We were also promised a double room but recieved a twin room and when asked to move we were told double rooms do not exsist
3. After a night of no sleep due to loud guests in all of the surrounding rooms and drunk guests running around at all hours we asked to move rooms and then were told we each had to pay an extra 50 euros to do so!!!
4. To refer to another guests review where they were mugged and the hotel said they would introduce lighting in the surrounding area to stop this from happening, they have not. My partner and I could not even go for a walk along the front to escape the hotel or the dump that is puerto banus as it was pitch black. Probably another ploy by the hotel to keep you captive so you have to pay 5 euros for a coke.
Overall really dissapointed with what looked like a lovely hotel but the staff and the guests ruin it. Basically if you have money or a melia rewards csrd because you have visited the hotel before you will be well looked after but if you are a new customer the staff are not interested. They are just interested in making as much money out of you as possible and youre happiness is not important-unless you can afford to buy it.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank e m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristina I, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Marbella Banus, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear e m,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience during your last stay in our Meliá Marbella Banús. Your comments are very appreciated as they will help us to do better day by day.

We are extremely sorry that we failed to meet your needs and fulfill your expectations and about the fact you did not have the pleasant stay you deserved.

Please, let me point out that we are surprised regarding the size of our beds as all our rooms have two standard double beds, apart from our Junior Suites and Junior Suites Deluxe, which have king size beds. There should have been a misunderstanding and we do apologize for that.

We would like to assure you that this is not our usual high standard of service and attention to detail as our aim is to serve our guests as we would love to be served, always doing our job from our heart.

Let us tell you, once again, how much we regret the inconveniences you suffered during your stay.

We truly hope you could give us another opportunity to make you feel really special, as all our guests do.

Yours sincerely,

Cristina Iñesta
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We stayed for almost a week in the hotel. It was clearly off season. Hotel's price offer was good

Puerto Banus was quiet - almost too quiet in the evenings. No problems of finding empty tables or empty restaurants.

The Melia hotel in Puerto Banus have a number of advantages compared to other hotels in the area. Great walk to the city along the beach. Not more than ten minutes.

The water in the hotel's outdoor pools were too cold at the moment, but the hotel environment is attractive. Gardens are beautiful.

Excellent service throughout our visit.

Friendly staff in the reception and the restaurant. Good value breakfast table. We had dinner on the last night with a good choices as the buffet table and wine at an acceptabke price.

We found a parking space for the car close to the hotel, but it may be more difficult in the high season.

We had a room towards the sea, with limited sea view. Rooms towards the pool with have more sun, but will be very warm in the evening.

Good choice of tv-channel with news in English

Room was kept clean throughout our visit.

I would like to recommend a massage. I was impressed.

Room Tip: We looked at the level offer, but found that it did not offer enough added value from the room we ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank retired43Oslo_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristina I, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Marbella Banus, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Dear retired43Oslo_Norway,

We are very pleased to hear that you have had a fantastic stay at Meliá Marbella Banús and we are even more pleased to hear that we have delivered to you high standards of service all throughout your visit. Indeed we genuinely love to look after our guests.
Certainly, we will keep up!

Also we would like to thank you for mentioning the great atmosphere and excellent environment of our Hotel and surroundings.

We all really look forward to hearing from you very soon and welcoming you back!

Warmest regards,

Cristina Iñesta
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Very nice Hotel Situated not far from the Harbour. Staff were very friendly and always happy to help. Stayed for 2 nights. Room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast had pleanty of variety and was a good meal.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
Thank ivy31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristina I, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Marbella Banus, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear ivy31,

Thanks so much for choosing us during your stay in Marbella and for posting this lovely review about your Meliá Marbella Banús Hotel.

We are all about great experiences and we strive to ensure that all our guests can leave with this, as you did!

It is simply marvellous to receive that feedback and we would be delighted to have you here again, hopefully sooner than later!

Kind regards,

Cristina Iñesta
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Have stayed in many hotels in puerto banus this is my first but not my last visit to the melia wonderful staff clean hotel great facilities even the bed was comfy !! deff worth a visit we booked the level and was very pleased ,looking forward to staying again just a five min walk from the port as well

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Champagne_ste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristina I, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Marbella Banus, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Champagne_ste,

Thank you very much for sharing your 5 star review with us!

We are always happy to hear that our guests are pleased with our team members.

It was a privilege for us to have you here and to know you could take advantage of our exclusive The Level service.

Should future travel plans return you to Marbella, we would be delighted to welcome you back in Meliá Marbella Banús.

Thank you once again for your encouraging comments.

Our best wishes,

Cristina Iñesta
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marbella hotels
2.6 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 70 in Marbella
1,804 reviews
3.7 mi away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
#10 of 70 in Marbella
925 reviews
3.4 mi away
Barcelo Marbella
Barcelo Marbella
#13 of 70 in Marbella
1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
H10 Andalucia Plaza
H10 Andalucia Plaza
#1 of 1 in Nueva Andalucia
2,310 reviews
1.2 mi away
Puente Romano Marbella
Puente Romano Marbella
#8 of 70 in Marbella
1,396 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus
Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus
#19 of 70 in Marbella
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Marbella Banus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Marbella Banus

Address: Mario Vargas Llosa, S/N, Carretera de Cadiz km 175 | Puerto Banus, 29660, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#14 Family Hotel in Marbella
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
#19 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
Price Range: £90 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Marbella Banus 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the exclusive area of Puerto Banus, in the famous Golden Mile and very close to the beach and some of the most Deluxe shopping and leisure facilities in Europe. The Melia Marbella Banus Hotel is the perfect choice for visiting Puerto Banus and Marbella thanks to its excellent location, its complete and comfortable facilities, and the quality of its services. In the heart of the "Costa del Golf", and surrounded by some of the finest golf courses in the area, all available at a special discount. Amongst its magnificent facilities and services, Melia Marbella Banus provides 200 superb rooms with two double beds; different dining spaces such as El Rio Verde Restaurant, the Patio Bar, La Hiedra Restaurant and the Pool Bar (the last two only open in summer); free high speed WiFi internet; exclusive The Level service; 3 outdoor pools (1 adults only pool, 1 pool with 3 waterfalls and 1 children’s pool); Wellness Area with indoor heated pool, sauna and Turkish bath; 1 tennis court; 2 paddle tennis courts; a children’s play area; 4 meeting rooms for up to 150 people, and underground parking for the exclusive use of guests with space for 60 vehicles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Melia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Melia Marbella Banus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Marbella Banus Hotel Marbella
Sol Melia Marbella Dinamar
Melia Marbella Dinamar
Melia Marbella Banus Andalucia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing