We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Melia Marbella Banus
Ranked #16 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Happy Holiday”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This hotel lives up to its 4 stars for proximity you could not wish for better, you can walk into Puerto Banus for the evening and enjoy good food, bars and boats. Or you can go for a walk along beach towards Marbella with excellent bars and restaurants with sea views.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MLA1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando Preto M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Marbella Banus, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Good Afternoon MLA 1996,

We hugely appreciate your kind and sincere words because for us your feedback is very important. It is a great pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us!

I hope to have the opportunity to meet you personaly during your next visit,

Kind Regards,

Fernando Preto
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,650 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    767
    615
    167
    65
    36
See reviews for
416
715
22
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The hotel was situated in a good location 10 minutes from PB which was a nice leisurely walk away. The hotel itself needs a touch up, the external elevations need a fresh coat of paint and our room had a few problems. The shower had virtually no power to it at all and was not attended to despite a number of requests. The main light in the bathroom kept going off, again no response from staff. The bathroom door kept hitting a "high spot" on the tiled floor and numerous times it stuck. There were more staff on reception than on the bar during the busy periods in the evening. We had to wait some time to get served. Staff on the reception were not very friendly and accomodating It was almost as if we were a nuisance.

The hotel was very noisy in the daytime, particularly the corridors where the maids, cleaning staff etc seemed to be always knocking walls, vauuming etc. Nightime noise was reasonable apart from the "act" that was performing around the pool.

As with other reviews the hard sell for the Club Melia was very disconcerting. A number of hen parties were located in the hotel which was fine as they caused us no issues but it seems a bit strange for a family orientated hotel.

The gardens were very well kept and relaxing.

Overall the hotel was average but I dont think I would stay again, particularly for the money we paid.

Room Tip: Try and get a room at the top of the hotel so to avoid noise from upstairs and also get one that doe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando Preto M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Marbella Banus, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Anthony G,

First of all, we are very sorry if during your stay with us you could find some inconvenience or if your stay with us did not meet your expectations. Do not hesitate that we will follow your remarks. Be sure that your comments will help us to keep improving our service and product.

Secondly, we cannot explain why your request were not attended by our staff because the comfort of our clients is our main objetive... We apologise for it.

We are disapointed to know your impressions about our Front Desk staff, who normally receive a lot of good reviews by the rest of the guests. And please do not think that you could be a nuisance.

With respect to the Vacation Club Program, do not hesitate that we will share your comments with our colleagues to try to avoid a possible annoyance in the future.

Nevertheless, thank you for sharing your experience with us and your kind words about our location and pool areas. We will appreciate if you may reconsider to give us another opportunity to welcome you again, in order to provide you with our best service and recover your trust in our hotel.

Your sincerely,

Fernando Preto
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marbella
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Having stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions we have always enjoyed our stay. However this time we did encounter some flaws! Firstly we were bombarded by staff to attend a talk about Club Melia which is nothing short of Timeshare although this was denied! We did not attend! Surprisingly the hotel had Hen parties which we found unusual in a family orientated hotel. On a positive note the guest Manager handled a noisy situation very well. Finally. I would stay there again as the comfort and surroundings of the hotel are excellent as are the majority of the staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando Preto M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Marbella Banus, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Lisa L,

Thank you very much for the time you took in writing your impressions about our hotel on TripAdvisor after your recent visit. We are happy to know that you love our hotel and that we will count on your fidelity in the future.

With respect to the Vacation Club Program, do not hesitate that we will share your comments with our colleagues to try to avoid a possible new nuisance. Regarding the rest of staff, it has been a pleasure to receive such good reviews; we will share them with all the team!

Your nice review will help others travelers that would like to come, so I would like to present you again all of my appreciation,


Fernando Preto
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

First time for us staying at this lovely hotel! Location wise, I would say this hotel is perfect for couples and families looking for a quiet base near the beach and the Old town, with plenty of traditional Spanish restaurants and nice bars around and nearby.
The hotel itself is quiet & clean, with friendly staff who have always been very helpful. The rooms are more than adequate for the price paid. Very good value for money in my opinion - clean, quiet, spacious and overall a 5*... Will be back when back in Spain! Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnccokburn8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando Preto M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Marbella Banus, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Johnnccokburn8,

It is great to hear that you have had an enjoyable stay with us and it is a pleasure for us to know that you were delighted with the hotel facilities and our staff. I will be in charge of sharing your words with the rest of the team!
We are constantly working on providing our very best services for our guests, like in a 5 *****, and we are glad to see that our attempts are appreciated!

It is amazing to know that we will count again with your visit in the future. Do not hesitate to contact me directly in advance to try to have everything ready upon your arrival.

Waiting for this occasion...

Fernando Preto
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Lovely hotel, nice rooms and well kept grounds. About 15 min stroll down promenade to town. We travelled with our kids aged 3 and 4, there was a small playground in hotel for them and a kids pool. We enjoyed our trip here but it seems more suitable for adults. Stayed full board and food was very good. Beach is just out back gate but was very breezy so didn't stay too long just time for a few sandcastles and back to the pool. 50 mins from airport €80 each way for private transfer.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lesken11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando Preto M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Marbella Banus, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Lesken 11,

Thank you for such as nice reviews! It is a pleasure for us to know that our customers feel comfortable and glad with our facilities, services and our food because this is the main goal of our Hotel and our Company, Meliá Hotels International, and we all thank you for appreciate the hard work that all our team do every day.

The entire team will be very glad to welcome you and your young kids very soon!

Fernando Preto
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidcup, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Our 5th year staying at the hotel, we will be re-booking again for next year. We stayed for the weekend, we always enjoy this hotel, we are a group of 4, and enjoy how peaceful it is around the pool during the day, but also enjoy that the nightlife is only 10 mins walk away, so it is easy to dip in and out of whatever you fancy.
This year for the 1st time we did struggle to find 4 sunbeds around the pool and noticed that many of the empty beds had towels or bags placed on them, and no one seemed to appear throughout the whole day to make use of the sunbeds that they had obviously got up extra early of claim.
Sidcup

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando Preto M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Marbella Banus, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Karen W,

We highlight appreciate the time that you have taken to share your experience with us and other guests through TripAdvisor because we constantly strive to exceed our guest’s expectations of service and it is always satisfying to hear that these efforts are noticed.

Regarding to the sunbeds, we have a system through which when a sunbed is not occupied during more than 30 minutes, we remove the personal items from them to get them free for the other clients. Do not hesitate to ask for assistance next time to our pool concierges.

We are really pleased that you have had an impressive stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!!!

Fernando Preto
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, UK
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Just returned from a 5 night stay at the Melia Banus.

Good points
Location - 2 minutes from the beach and 10 minutes walk along the promenade to PB centre
Rooms - very nicely appointed with lots of storage space, a nice bathroom with good amenities and an outside terrace or balcony with seating for two.
The Pools - lovely, although for some reason, the adult only pool did not have the comfortable sun beds of the family pool. Therefore, we spent our time at the family pool which was lovely, with nice waterfalls and friendly staff and a great pool bar. I do wish hotels in Europe would heat their pools though - it might be 30 degrees but the pool is still too cold to swim in.

Bad points
WIFI - although not required by everyone, the hotel does offer free WIFI. However, the reception was awful. You could get on quite easily before eight am but after that, it became a constant battle. I counted 27 attempts to get on one day. And it just couldn't cope with loading heavy pages (e.g. Facebook). I expected more of a hotel which markets itself as a global brand.

The noise - the hotel is very noisy. You can hear actual conversations in the corridors and light switches being turned on and off in adjacent rooms, plus people walking overhead. PB is a party town so you had people coming back at four and five am and it was impossible to sleep through. I didn't get a full nights sleep the whole time I was there. It could be because our room was on the ground floor and quite close to an exit but even so, it was noisy.

Greeting at check in - I'd read lots on Tripadvisor about the fantastically warm welcome. I did not receive such a welcome. My husband and I were seen by Domenico who did not crack a smile the whole time checking us in. I asked about potential upgrades to The Level and when I was greeted with nothing but silence, I added 'or is it full?" He replied 'Full' without checking. Everyone else at reception that I met with was great and everyone else around the hotel really friendly but I'd been expecting a warm greeting and I just didn't get it.

The 'Welcome Gift'. When you give your room number at the entrance to breakfast, you are told that they have a welcome gift for you and to come and get it when you finish breakfast. I wasn't interested and so did not bother. However, when I was asked repeatedly day after day, I gave in and went to collect my 'welcome gift'. There was a gift - a holder for your bag that you could use at breakfast - but this was a ruse to try to sell you 'Club Melia'. I felt this approach was very disingenuous and one of the main reasons I don't usually vacation in Europe (preferring instead to take my holidays in the USA, where you don't get this hard sell of something you're not interest in). I would have preferred a more upfront approach when I could have just said that I wasn't interested.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mozzer98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando Preto M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Marbella Banus, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Good afternoon Mozzer98,

Thank you for having taken some of your valuable time to send us your comments; we believe it is only through listening carefully to the comments and suggestions of our guests that we will be able to achieve the constant improvement, guest satisfaction and quality service that we strive for.

We are happy to know you liked our rooms and pool areas.

We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your experience lived at our reception and with the wireless internet service during your visit. We try every day to create a quiet and silent atmosphere in our hotel but unfortunately is a bit complicate to control the behaviour of all our clients. We apologize for any inconvenience caused.

Regarding to the "Welcome Gift ", we will trasmit your comments to our Club Meliá Staff to try to avoid this experience in the future.

We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in order to provide the best of our service to make your stay more comfortable.

Yours sincerely,

Fernando Preto
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marbella hotels
2.6 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 70 in Marbella
1,721 reviews
1.2 mi away
Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella
0.9 mi away
H10 Andalucia Plaza
H10 Andalucia Plaza
#1 of 1 in Nueva Andalucia
2,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus
Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus
#19 of 70 in Marbella
918 reviews
3.7 mi away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
3.4 mi away
Barcelo Marbella
Barcelo Marbella
#15 of 70 in Marbella
1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Marbella Banus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Marbella Banus

Property: Melia Marbella Banus
Address: Mario Vargas Llosa, S/N, Carretera de Cadiz km 175 | Puerto Banus, 29660, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#14 Family Hotel in Marbella
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
#19 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Marbella Banus 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the exclusive area of Puerto Banus, in the famous Golden Mile and very close to the beach and some of the most Deluxe shopping and leisure facilities in Europe. The Melia Marbella Banus Hotel is the perfect choice for visiting Puerto Banus and Marbella thanks to its excellent location, its complete and comfortable facilities, and the quality of its services. In the heart of the "Costa del Golf", and surrounded by some of the finest golf courses in the area, all available at a special discount. Amongst its magnificent facilities and services, Melia Marbella Banus provides 200 superb rooms with two double beds; different dining spaces such as El Rio Verde Restaurant, the Patio Bar, La Hiedra Restaurant and the Pool Bar (the last two only open in summer); free high speed WiFi internet; exclusive The Level service; 3 outdoor pools (1 adults only pool, 1 pool with 3 waterfalls and 1 children’s pool); Wellness Area with indoor heated pool, sauna and Turkish bath; 1 tennis court; 2 paddle tennis courts; a children’s play area; 4 meeting rooms for up to 150 people, and underground parking for the exclusive use of guests with space for 60 vehicles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Melia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Melia Marbella Banus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Marbella Banus Hotel Marbella
Sol Melia Marbella Dinamar
Melia Marbella Dinamar
Melia Marbella Banus Andalucia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing