We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location to Puerto Banus shops restaurants”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melia Marbella Banus
Ranked #15 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 21 June 2010

A really nice 4 star hotel close to puerto banus shops restaurants all within walking distance, service food and staff all very nice, garden and pools really good , we could not swim too cold , rooms very clean and confortable, all sorted out for us at distinctivedestinations.co.uk who really knew there stuff and were great to deal with.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boman17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando Preto R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Marbella Banus, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2016

Dear Boman17,

Thank you very much for sending your opinion in 2010.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again very soon at Meliá Marbella Banús Hotel and let you enjoy the new changes experienced by our structure since.

We will be expecting you!

Warmest Regards,

Fernando Preto
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,785)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

974 - 980 of 1,785 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2010

I went on a 5 day shopping/sunny break to this hotel in June. First impressions weren’t great after a 70 euro taxi from the airport to the hotel (which can’t really be helped) we were greeted by....no one. We had to lug our suit cases up the front stairs to the hotel ourselves, out of all the hotels I’ve been to this is a 1st. Check in was smooth and the room was nice, everything and everywhere was extremely clean. I would defiantly recommend getting a deal that includes breakfast; it’s a buffet quite nice great selection of fruit. There’s no way we would have eaten it if it wasn’t included in the price as to buy it would be very expensive, but in a deal worked out at an extra £10 each per day. The 1st day we made the mistake of eating lunch from the buffet in the restaurant the bill came to 65 Euros all we had was a salad each and some cokes. I wouldn’t mind paying for great food but it was well below par for the price tag. After this every evening and lunch time we would go out I would recommend Don Leone on the port front, food was fantastic and staff were great. For lunch our favourite was the 1st beach bar you come across from the hotel the lunch time food was amazing at good prices(sorry can’t remember the name). And finally the most fantastic cocktail bar on the entrance to the port area, huge glasses decorated with lots of fruit at 10 Euros each. The hotel grounds were gorgeous there’s a constant smell of flowers and the 2 pools are lovely I couldn’t fault the hotel itself at all. Unfortunately the staff was a bit of a letdown they came across quite unhelpful and not very interested. I don’t expect to have to walk around looking for a cushion for my sun lounger everyday then have to carry both of them across to my sun bed when I’m staying in a 4 star hotel....also there was no waiter serves for the pool.....and a gym would have been a bonus. I would recommend this hotel for a girly week/weekend overall it was very good.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrincessB-0202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando Preto R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Marbella Banus, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2016

Dear PrincessB-0202,

Thank you very much for sending your opinion in 2010.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again very soon at Meliá Marbella Banús Hotel and let you enjoy the new changes experienced by our structure since.

We will be expecting you!

Warmest Regards,

Fernando Preto
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2010

Nice and clean hotel, with a lovely pool. Very close to Puerto Banus, and an hours walk to Marbella 8km. Food and drink is more expensive in Puerto Banus than Marbella. Breakfast was ok, nice fresh fruit, boxed cereal, lovely fresh orange juice, plus enough cakes and pastries, enough bread and a lovely freshley baked brown bread in morning and evenings. We stayed Half borad which was again ok, the chef cooked whatever meat or fish you wanted on a bbq style grill, which was lovely and enough choice of fresh fish or meat. I had seabass most evenings, and the chicken was lovely which had a chargrilled flavour to it. The salad choice was good but the biggest downfall was the chips, they were cold and all the food that were under tha lamp things wearn't hot enough!! The staff are very rude, they constantly watch you while you eat, they take the plate off you once you have finished (ish) they where lovely to everyone else if they wearn't english, the hotel got very busy toward the end of our stay, one breakfast was really busy, an insident happened when the dinning room was full 1 waiter gave the two english females a table then another waiter gave a spanish couple the table, in the end the spanish couple were seated and the two females where disgusted (so where we) as they where given the table first!! The rooms are very nice and spacious always very clean. On departure day they didnt even say bye, or thankyou for staying, the attitudes of 90% of the staff was disgusting! My main complaint is the attitudes of staff towards the english eventhough i'm welsh,plus I never felt comfortable having my dinner or breakfast. It was my second visit to Marbella and would definetly visit again but in another hotel.

Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
Thank Global82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando Preto R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Marbella Banus, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2016

Dear Global82,

Thank you very much for sending your opinion in 2010.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again very soon at Meliá Marbella Banús Hotel and let you enjoy the new changes experienced by our structure since.

We will be expecting you!

Warmest Regards,

Fernando Preto
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2010

we went for my mates stag weekend and all I can say is its a very nice hotel apart from staff who were far too rude and unhelpful. we was on the bottom floor occupying 3 rooms which were very nice. The pools were really really nice but the water was freezing. oh and be careful if your playing with a football the member of staff don't take to kindly with this type of English behaviour. surprised that not many people writing reviews as it was busy when we was there.
Overall really good time would use the hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m0neym0ney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando Preto R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Marbella Banus, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2016

Dear Moneymoney,

Thank you very much for sending your opinion in 2010.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again very soon at Meliá Marbella Banús Hotel and let you enjoy the new changes experienced by our structure since.

We will be expecting you!

Warmest Regards,

Fernando Preto
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2010

Stayed here with a friend for a long weekend and had a really lovely time. The staff were extremely helpful, our room was spacious, nicely decorated and immaculately clean - just like the whole hotel. We stayed B&B and there was plenty of choice for breakfast although the lunchtime menu was a bit pricey. As for location, it was pretty much on the beach - about a 10 minute walk on the promenade to the famous marina! Lovely, lovely hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KIRST1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando Preto R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Marbella Banus, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2016

Dear Kirst1001,

Thank you very much for sending your opinion in 2010.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again very soon at Meliá Marbella Banús Hotel and let you enjoy the new changes experienced by our structure since.

We will be expecting you!

Warmest Regards,

Fernando Preto
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2010

I stayed at the Dinamar for a Hen weekend. There were quite a few of us so we had quite a few rooms and they were very mixed in terms of quality. Some rooms were great, the AC worked and everything was fine. Other rooms were like ovens, the curtains didn't work, the noise outside was awful and the safe didn't work. I can totally understand why the reviews on TA are so mixed.

The staff were quite rude. For someone that doesn't speak Spanish they would come across as unhelpful and disinterested. I speak fluent Spanish so I could understand their tone of voice but still doesn't justify their lack of customer service.

The pool however is lovely, the grounds are well kept and there were plenty of sunbeds. I would go back here and recommend it but i would say if you are not happy with your room make sure they move you to one on the poolside with AC that works.

Stayed: June 2010
Thank tannedchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando Preto R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Marbella Banus, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2016

Dear Tannedchi,

Thank you very much for sending your opinion in 2010.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again very soon at Meliá Marbella Banús Hotel and let you enjoy the new changes experienced by our structure since.

We will be expecting you!

Warmest Regards,

Fernando Preto
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2010

I did not know what to expect from this hotel with such a mixed bag of reviews. We were 3 girls looking for a high standard hotel for a 4 night trip and that is exactly what we got with this hotel.

We all loved this hotel, the room was huge, and the breakfast was a very high standard, I had something different everyday. Freshly cooked omelets, and coffee brought to the table with hot frothy milk as soon as you were seated, not to mention the complementary cava !

The grounds of the hotel were beautiful with plenty of beds, there were always empty loungers. We were very happy that when we sat down an attendant came straight over with cushions.

The location was perfect very central to Puerto Banus and the bus left from outside the hotel to Marbella centre or a taxi cost 11 euros.

Our weather was not great but we still had a ball and often remarked at least we are staying in a really lovely hotel !!

Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
1  Thank SarahJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando Preto R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Marbella Banus, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2016

Dear SarahJim,

Thank you very much for sending your opinion in 2010.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again very soon at Meliá Marbella Banús Hotel and let you enjoy the new changes experienced by our structure since.

We will be expecting you!

Warmest Regards,

Fernando Preto
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marbella hotels
2.6 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 70 in Marbella
1,847 reviews
3.7 mi away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
0.9 mi away
H10 Andalucia Plaza
H10 Andalucia Plaza
#1 of 1 in Nueva Andalucia
2,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus
Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus
#19 of 70 in Marbella
980 reviews
1.2 mi away
Puente Romano Marbella
Puente Romano Marbella
#9 of 70 in Marbella
1,436 reviews
3.4 mi away
Barcelo Marbella
Barcelo Marbella
#12 of 70 in Marbella
1,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Marbella Banus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Marbella Banus

Address: Mario Vargas Llosa, S/N, Carretera de Cadiz km 175 | Puerto Banus, 29660, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Marbella
#12 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
#19 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
Price Range: £100 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Marbella Banus 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the exclusive area of Puerto Banus, in the famous Golden Mile and very close to the beach and some of the most Deluxe shopping and leisure facilities in Europe. The Melia Marbella Banus Hotel is the perfect choice for visiting Puerto Banus and Marbella thanks to its excellent location, its complete and comfortable facilities, and the quality of its services. In the heart of the "Costa del Golf", and surrounded by some of the finest golf courses in the area, all available at a special discount. Amongst its magnificent facilities and services, Melia Marbella Banus provides 200 superb rooms with two double beds; different dining spaces such as El Rio Verde Restaurant, the Patio Bar, La Hiedra Restaurant and the Pool Bar (the last two only open in summer); free high speed WiFi internet; exclusive The Level service; 3 outdoor pools (1 adults only pool, 1 pool with 3 waterfalls and 1 children’s pool); Wellness Area with indoor heated pool, sauna and Turkish bath; 1 tennis court; 2 paddle tennis courts; a children’s play area; 4 meeting rooms for up to 150 people, and underground parking for the exclusive use of guests with space for 60 vehicles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Melia, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Melia Marbella Banus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Marbella Banus Hotel Marbella
Sol Melia Marbella Dinamar
Melia Marbella Dinamar
Melia Marbella Banus Andalucia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing