We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to the stated standard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Melia Marbella Banus
Ranked #16 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 14 February 2011

The Melia Banus does not meet its advertised standard. The room I got was nice, large and comfortable, but that's about it for the positive side. The hotel location is unattractive (long walk to Puerto Banus); it is very close to the highway, which makes it noisy. There are quite a few quirks suggesting that the hotel management is taking shortcuts. The hotel staff was mostly unpleasant (perhaps owing to excessive work pressure). Frankly, I was expecting much better for a 4-star hotel !

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil0009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando Preto R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Marbella Banus, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2016

Dear Philippe0001,

Thank you very much for sending your opinion in 2011.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again very soon at Meliá Marbella Banús Hotel and let you enjoy the new changes experienced by our structure since.

We will be expecting you!

Warmest Regards,

Fernando Preto
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,750)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

945 - 951 of 1,750 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2011

hotel is very clean and it is very close to the famous port banus. The swimming pool has a good design and very nice for the families to spend a day. food is also very good with something for every taste.
very quite at night to sleep and walls are very thick so you do not hear the next door tourists.

Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
Thank rk15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando Preto R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Marbella Banus, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2016

Dear Rk15,

Thank you very much for sending your opinion in 2011.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again very soon at Meliá Marbella Banús Hotel and let you enjoy the new changes experienced by our structure since.

We will be expecting you!

Warmest Regards,

Fernando Preto
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2010

I stayed at this hotel for two nights with my husband, daughter and her partner. This was part of a holiday travelling through Andalusia where we prebooked three hotels through Last Minute.com.
We found the hotel easily thanks to their road signs.
Our greeting on arrival was friendly and efficient. We were provided with adjoining rooms without asking and the rooms were spacious, modern and with good sea and mountain views at no premium.
Bathrooms were clean and a good range of toiletries and extras like toothbrushes and shaving kits.
The breakfast both mornings was excellent, amazing choice of freshly prepared fruits, cheeses, breads, pastries and muffins, plus hot buffet choices and cooked to order omelettes.
The evening meal was buffet style plus cooked to order steaks etc. Service was good and the bar staff very friendly when we sat outside enjoying the balmy evening, until the early hours!
We enjoyed the indoor swimming pool and jacuzzi, tennis court and beautifully maintained gardens. The outdoor pools looked immaculately maintained, but were a little too cold for us to try. Although we didn't have young children with us, as Grandparents we were impressed with the childrens' play area and pool it seems to be brand new.
We didn't try any of the Spa Treatments but the treatment room looked lovely.
We were able to pick up a taxi from the hotel carpark to take us into Marbella, 10euro there, 9 euro back. We left our car at the hotel as we planned a lunch in town where we would be drinking alcohol. We loved the older parts of Marbella and the long clean beaches.
We were almost sorry to be moving on to another hotel and would have loved to have extended our stay.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatchCambridgeshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando Preto R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Marbella Banus, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2016

Dear KatchCambridgeshire,

Thank you very much for sending your opinion in 2010.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again very soon at Meliá Marbella Banús Hotel and let you enjoy the new changes experienced by our structure since.

We will be expecting you!

Warmest Regards,

Fernando Preto
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2010

This hotel is the best one we have stayed in on the costa del sol,Nice sized bedrooms very clean, nice pools and grounds,well looked after,quiet hotel with carpeted corridors,good selection of food nice 10 minute walk to the harbour.

Bad Points., staff not really very helpfull,If you go for a late meal some food not hot enough.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simmo520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando Preto R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Marbella Banus, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2016

Dear Simmo520,

Thank you very much for sending your opinion in 2010.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again very soon at Meliá Marbella Banús Hotel and let you enjoy the new changes experienced by our structure since.

We will be expecting you!

Warmest Regards,

Fernando Preto
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2010

Just back from a long weekend in the Melia Banus. Having stayed in the Melia La Quinta in August we thought that we'd try the sister hotel.

The hotel is spotless and modern, close to the beach and only a 10 minute walk to the Port and the perfect location. Read a review below about access to the beach and didn't really find the walk to the beach at all offensive, although agree the fly's around the main pool were really annoying so we spent most of the time on the beach. There's a great beach bar nearby and very reasonable priced good food. The outdoor swimming pools were freezing, (they're nice to look at though) but it is out of season and they have an indoor heated pool which makes up for it. Just enough sun loungers around the pool areas but no obvious sign of any more if it was main season.

The staff were professional but really aloof - none seemed to love their jobs, and the head waiter in the restaurant in the evening was abrupt and borderline rude and put us off eating there for dinner again. The breakfast buffet was very good. The terraces around the restaurants were lovely and in the evening they had a great saxophone entertainer playing. The gardens were all well-tended and there is a mini playground for children which is a nice touch.

Imagine in peak season it would be too crowded and claustrophobic but would come back again out of season as its a lovely hotel (but with different expectations of the staff ).

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SophiesHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando Preto R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Marbella Banus, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2016

Dear SophiesHouse,

Thank you very much for sending your opinion in 2010.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again very soon at Meliá Marbella Banús Hotel and let you enjoy the new changes experienced by our structure since.

We will be expecting you!

Warmest Regards,

Fernando Preto
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2010

Good points: pool areas,

Bad points: fly infestation, crappy 'welcome gift', overpriced, limited internet acccess

The nicest hotel I have stayed in to date but that came at a price (130 euros per night plus taxes). That was for a room with a sea view (but it was not a frontal view, rather a side view of a stagnant pond, rusty bridge and beach). I certainly don't feel that I got value for money as the price didn't include breakfast.

I guess if you choose this place you are attracted to the photos of the pool areas. These lived up to expectations and I spent three fantastic days topping up my tan by the pool. The only downside was that there was a nasty infestation of flies that constantly prevented pieceful sunbathing. This is probably down to the amount of manure used to maintain the gardens or due to nests not being exterminated by the groundsmen.

The accomodation was very comfortable and spacious with nice bathrooms. The hotel is a ten-fifteen minute walks from the port where all the shops and restaurants are. It is a short walk to the beach but the quickest route is via a dirty little car park next to the hotel.

I guess if you have more money than sense this hotel might be the place for you. No doubt the more expensive rooms are more spacious and have better views-if you can afford it why not...

I found the 'welcome gift' (a cheap set of candles) a bit insulting given that I am a man and had paid quite a bit to stay there. All the staff are interested in is selling you a membership to the Melis chain's vacation club. They even called our room to tell us a presentation was about to start.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newc1531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando Preto R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Marbella Banus, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2016

Dear Christopher_brierley,

Thank you very much for sending your opinion in 2010.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again very soon at Meliá Marbella Banús Hotel and let you enjoy the new changes experienced by our structure since.

We will be expecting you!

Warmest Regards,

Fernando Preto
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

A very nice hotel, just off the beach and an easy walk into the Marina at Puerto Banus. The breakfast buffet was superb, so much choice and everything fresh. The main drawback was the noise of the entertainment at night. The singer/pianist performed outdoors next to the swimming pool, and it was difficult to go to sleep listening to the music.

Another disappointment was the swimming pools - the water was sooo cold, no wonder hardly anyone went in for a swim. Even though the weather is good in Spain, you do need a little heating in the pools. So, I didn't swim for the whole duration of our stay. Swimming pools are not for decoration, they are to be used, so please make a point of making them "user friendly".

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank EssexSuzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando Preto R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Marbella Banus, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2016

Dear EssexSuzie,

Thank you very much for sending your opinion in 2010.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again very soon at Meliá Marbella Banús Hotel and let you enjoy the new changes experienced by our structure since.

We will be expecting you!

Warmest Regards,

Fernando Preto
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marbella hotels
2.6 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 70 in Marbella
1,808 reviews
3.7 mi away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
#10 of 70 in Marbella
931 reviews
3.4 mi away
Barcelo Marbella
Barcelo Marbella
#13 of 70 in Marbella
1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
H10 Andalucia Plaza
H10 Andalucia Plaza
#1 of 1 in Nueva Andalucia
2,318 reviews
1.2 mi away
Puente Romano Marbella
Puente Romano Marbella
#8 of 70 in Marbella
1,405 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus
Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus
#19 of 70 in Marbella
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Marbella Banus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Marbella Banus

Address: Mario Vargas Llosa, S/N, Carretera de Cadiz km 175 | Puerto Banus, 29660, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
#14 Family Hotel in Marbella
#19 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
Price Range: £105 - £277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Marbella Banus 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the exclusive area of Puerto Banus, in the famous Golden Mile and very close to the beach and some of the most Deluxe shopping and leisure facilities in Europe. The Melia Marbella Banus Hotel is the perfect choice for visiting Puerto Banus and Marbella thanks to its excellent location, its complete and comfortable facilities, and the quality of its services. In the heart of the "Costa del Golf", and surrounded by some of the finest golf courses in the area, all available at a special discount. Amongst its magnificent facilities and services, Melia Marbella Banus provides 200 superb rooms with two double beds; different dining spaces such as El Rio Verde Restaurant, the Patio Bar, La Hiedra Restaurant and the Pool Bar (the last two only open in summer); free high speed WiFi internet; exclusive The Level service; 3 outdoor pools (1 adults only pool, 1 pool with 3 waterfalls and 1 children’s pool); Wellness Area with indoor heated pool, sauna and Turkish bath; 1 tennis court; 2 paddle tennis courts; a children’s play area; 4 meeting rooms for up to 150 people, and underground parking for the exclusive use of guests with space for 60 vehicles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Melia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Melia Marbella Banus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Marbella Banus Hotel Marbella
Sol Melia Marbella Dinamar
Melia Marbella Dinamar
Melia Marbella Banus Andalucia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing