We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Barcelo Marbella
Nearby Hotels
US$340
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$628
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$583
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$698
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$625
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$188
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
H10 Andalucia Plaza(Nueva Andalucia)(Great Value!)
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$207
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$201
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$246
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$470
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$421
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$290
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$273
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$277
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$249
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,622)
Filter reviews
1,622 results
Traveller rating
769
526
199
82
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
769
526
199
82
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssan pedrogolf coursepool arearecommend this hotelnice hotelspanish guestsplay golfguadalmina golfgood sizerooms are largehired a cartaxi riderooms are lovelyper dayresidential areanice poolquiet location
Filter
Updating list...
301 - 306 of 1,622 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We arrived here on the 7th July at 11.30am following a very fast private transfer in a Mercedes
Car.we decided to use the toll road at a cost of 7 euros extra to save 15 mins possibly not worth
It but to us it was and thankfully our room was ready to check in,again very fast as only us at the counter.
The door lock/ card entry system refused to work until many in and out attempts and likewise the
Toilet flush had the same fault.
The food is OK and you won't go Hungary,unless you stand by the leg of pork station and wait for
The Chef to slice you some and likewise the next night with the roast beef.
Puddings are really nice and always a good selection of fruit although the breakfast is not great
the Chef ( if on station ) will cook the bacon some more for you if you ask,along with fresh
Fried eggs omelettes and pancakes to your liking.
Orange juice pastries and cakes plus cheese ham fresh crusty rolls and bread for toaster,although
You could die while waiting for toast (6 times per slice per side )to brown on conveyor.
We had problem with noisy bad mouthed Brits next door and we moved to what is clearly the
Spanish section of the hotel.
The key card worked first time the toilet flushed with a blue tinge first time,the view was stunning
Over the golf course and the mountains,our neighbours both sides are Spanish and very quiet.
The hotel is 80% Spanish with a few Germans,eastern Europeans and thankfully only a few Brit
Yobos ( why are they always Brits who are drunk and foul mouthed )
We are here for another week and will do final report when home,oh and flight was with Jet2 it
Left 10 mins late and got to Malaga 20 mins early.
Worth a mention is the staff are really nice and friendly attentive waitresses plates cleared quick
Or do it yourself if you want.
Pool is beach entry with lifeguard, it smells a bit sweaty and I have not really smelled any chlorine
Or witnessed any cleaning of the pool.
I pointed out some loose floor tiles round the pool to one of the groundsmen as They tip up and
Could injure someone especially the toddlers.
One day later not repaired.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luvdubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marbellabar, General Manager at Barcelo Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Dear Guest, Thank you for the time spent writing your personal opinion about Barceló Marbella. We do appreciate your comments and will like to welcome you again.

Yours sincerely,

The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

I had read some negative reviews about this hotel on holiday watch dog which made me reluctant to stay there. I am glad I did, the hotel was great value for money and none of the bad things that I had read about it were true.

The breakfast buffet is great, I'd stayed half board and the evening buffet is not so great but you can always find something to eat so you wont starve.

There is a free shuttle bus that takes you into Puerto Banus and Marbella which is ideal if you dont like walking as the hotel is a bit of a distance aay from most things. I love walking so that suited me but if you dont enjoy walking I'd suggest hiring a car or taking advantage of the shuttle bus.

The only slightly negative thing I could say about the hotel is that the walls are really thin and its its tiled floors throughout so you hear every noise and by the time I left I was surrounded by guests with young children who were not so well behaved.

Room Tip: Dont have a room overlooking the pool or the front of the hotel
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank samantha b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marbellabar, General Manager at Barcelo Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments. We will be very pleased to see you again in Barceló Marbella.

Yours sincerely,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

My husband and I and our 16 year old daughter stayed at this hotel for one week in June 2013 and found it pleasant and welcoming. It has a very 'laid back' atmosphere...but the service is good and we were never kept waiting for drinks or hot food when we ordered it. We stayed on a half board basis which was sufficient, if we had been full board I think the buffet served in the canteen/restaurant would have seemed too repetitive. Instead we ordered a snack from the bar if we wanted one and being able to eat it outside at a different location in the hotel suited us better. We found the food and drink to be reasonably priced.

A car was a real bonus and on recommendation from the hotel receptionist we had a day out in Ronda...a long drive up/down windy roads but well worth it...such a beautiful scenic place to visit, lots of breath taking views...and also a good place to shop in the town if you want to.

My only disappointment with the hotel was that our junior suite did not have a door separating our bedroom from our daughter's bed which was placed in the lounge area. It meant that we had no real privacy, but apparently none of the suites have doors so we just accepted it.

The pool area is lovely, no shortage of sunbeds and nice size 'walk in' swimming pools which means you can 'glide in' gracefully!

A relaxing and chilled out hotel, and one that we would recommend.

Room Tip: The view from our room was out over the golf course..it was truly beautiful with the mountains in the background..one of the nicest views I have ever had and although the balcony is long and very narrow, the evening sun is a real bonus.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisotrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marbellabar, General Manager at Barcelo Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments. We hope to see you in te future.

Yours sincerely,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Hotel in the middle of nowhere - when asked, the reception staff informed us that the nearest shops were 20 minutes walking. However, if you have a car, San Pedro Alcantara is close.

First impressions were good, but when you have to pay 10/15 euros to park the car (and we coudn't find anything closer), you see in reception scales to weigh luggage (paying), massage chairs (paying) - you begin to understand that this hotel wants money from you!

For some unknown reason, there was an extra bed in our room. It took 4 personal requests and 24 hours for the bed to be removed.
Amenities in bathroom are very scarce. After asking 3 times for hair conditioner,,,(and being told to walk 20 minutes to local shop), we gave up.
WC seat was broken...again, nothing done.
Bathroom large, but shower cubicle tiny - I'm 168 cm and couldn't close the door!

Can understand guests want entertainment, but rather annoying at 4pm

Breakfast was low quality - canned orange juice, bad coffee,

There are better and cheaper places in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quijano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marbellabar, General Manager at Barcelo Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time spent writing your personal opinion about Barceló Marbella. We will be very pleased to contact you personally to talk about your comments.

Yours sincerely,

The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

I don't play golf so didn't know what to expect. What I got was a great value all inclusive 4 day break. The food improved over the 4 days. As usual the breakfast bacon wasn't cooked well. The staff were great pleasant and helpful. The maid service good with the rooms kept very clean. The corridors could do with a bit of a spruce. The bar service was very good with international brands being offered as part of the all inclusive deal - a bonus. I liked the fact that mixers and soft drinks were dispensed in branded bottles not from the awful soft drinks dispensers that seem to have taken over everywhere. Plenty of room around the pool. Would I go back yes without a doubt.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank waterhenbloa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marbellabar, General Manager at Barcelo Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your comments. we will be very pleased to welcome you again.

Yours sincerely,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews