We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Barcelo Marbella
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Paloma Blanca Boutique Hotel(San Pedro de Alcantara)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Avenida 31(San Pedro de Alcantara)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel NH San Pedro de Alcantara(San Pedro de Alcantara)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Dona Catalina(San Pedro de Alcantara)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Diana Park(Estepona)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,600)
Filter reviews
1,600 results
Traveller rating
756
521
198
79
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
756
521
198
79
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssan pedrogolf coursepool arearecommend this hotelnice hotelspanish guestsplay golfguadalmina golfgood sizerooms are largehired a cartaxi riderooms are lovelyper dayresidential areanice poolquiet location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
261 - 266 of 1,600 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel is a great value. I've got a 4 star quality for a 2 start price. The room was huge with a fantastic view of the golf course and the hills and the pool area is really nice. Would definitely come back.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank Natalia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marbellabar, Director General at Barcelo Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Customer,

Thank you so much for sending us such kind and attentive words, we are very grateful. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Those words are the reason of motivation and satisfaction for the entire Barceló Marbella team. Our main aim is to make our guests happy, to give an unique and memorable experience, make them feel at home and to share unforgettable moments.


Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Sincerely,

Enrique Castellanos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Just for 1 night, on business, wifi decent but hotel showing signs of age. Long dingy corridors to room which was big. Everything looks a bit old now, bathroom, fittings, bed. Used snack bar which was expensive for drinks and my food was distinctly average. Good location but could be better in terms of the above.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts
Thank Nigel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marbellabar, Director General at Barcelo Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Mr. Nigel,

Firstly I would like to thank you for your e-mail as well as the included comments.

Let me apologies if you did not get the quality tea that you had expected.

Nowadays we are improving our services and products in the hotel, thanks to the feedback from our clients we are able to updating continuously.

We feel much displeasure and take note about all your comments to try to find the best way and prevent future problems.



Let me show you our gratitude for your comprehension and apologies for all inconveniences, and I hope that you fin better. We looking forward to seeing you soon.

Kind regards,

Enrique Castellanos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

All reception staff are helpful and speak good English. Jose in particular is very helpful and quick to sort out any problems, I cannot praise him enough. Initially had a few problems with our room, cleaner had not done a good job in the bathroom which was eventually sorted by Jose the receptionist. In fact he alerted the manager who could not apologise enough. However we then had a problem with a leak oi our bathroom and Jose and the manager dealt with the matter immediately and upgraded us.

Pool area was nice and the sunbeds were good quality.

The breakfast is very good and staff are friendly and we had the evening buffet one evening and as buffets go this was a good quality one with good quality food and lots of variety

The location of the hotel is fine as long as you don't mind walking. It is about 20 min walk to the restaurants and the main bus stop. However, if you don't mind walking the hotel is in a good position for getting about, we visited Marbella and Estepona by bus and the bus service was regular, cheap and reliable.

On the down side, most instructions / information in the hotel is not provided in English despite many of the visitors at the hotel being from the UK. Even the details on how to work the safe deposit box are not printed in english.

There are not tea / coffee making facilities in the rooms and we were disappointed to find that the hotel does not even provide guests with a complimentary bottle of water on arrival. We arrived about 11pm and had no water unless we bought some at the bar. I would expect a hotel of this standard to at least provide a welcome bottle of water in the room, especially given the distance from the nearest shop.

Also there are only two english TV channels (news), no we do not go away to watch television but it is nice to have the option to switch the TV on when you are in your room and have a couple of channels you can view.

I would visit this resort again, it was a lovely hotel with a few little changes it would be very good.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wedding08_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marbellabar, Director General at Barcelo Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for sending us such kind and attentive words, we are very grateful. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Those words are the reason of motivation and satisfaction for the entire Barceló Marbella team. Our main aim is to make our guests happy, to give an unique and memorable experience, make them feel at home and to share unforgettable moments.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Sincerely,

Enrique Castellanos Jaque
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here several times
Decided to write a review
What a great hotel for a god price
I was amazed by how complex it is
It has a good size gym , really big to be Honest ,, seen bigger hotels with smaller gyms
Rooms are really clean every time and bed comfortable
Pools have different sizes and enough sun beds on the side
Breakfast is delicious
Couldn't fault this hotel
Really nice
I always stay there when I go in again as it's a really good price for what you're getting
The only thing I would complain about is that is a bit far away from the sea
Definitely a car is needed or a taxi or anything
Is far
It's not 10 min walking
Maybe 40 easily

Apart from that is great
Thank you

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marbellabar, Director General at Barcelo Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Alexandra,

Thank you so much for sending us such kind and attentive words, we are very grateful. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Those words are the reason of motivation and satisfaction for the entire Barceló Marbella team. Our main aim is to make our guests happy, to give an unique and memorable experience, make them feel at home and to share unforgettable moments.


I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Sincerely,

Enrique Castellanos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Just returned from an overnight stay. This hotel could be really good with a bit of tlc.
Firstly the good points......the staff were fantastic, very friendly & helpful.
The rooms were spacious.
Nice views from the balcony.
Great breakfast.
Bar prices very good €2.50 for a glass of wine.
And the not so good.....
The pool was filthy with what looked like algae in the bottom.
The rooms need decorating, paint job very tired.
Having to pay €15 to park was excessive.
safe in room didn't work.
Balcony divide was not private.
No changing rooms by the pool.
I have to say that we enjoyed our stay but the main concern for us was the state of the pool, it was a lovely sunny day & we would have liked to have used it.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bennettkatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marbellabar, Director General at Barcelo Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Customer,

Firstly I would like to thank you for your e-mail as well as the included comments. Only by receiving feedback from our clients we are able to improve.

I deeply regret that you could not swim in our outdoors swimming pool, but the day before, was raining,It is not usual, in this season and in this place of the coust, to have temperature changes from 15ºC to 26ºC in few days, it is a natural effect, beyond our control and a case of force majeure

With our gratitude and comprehension and regretting once more the inconveniences produced.

My sincerely apologices

Bes regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews