We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice golf & family Hotel”
Review of Barcelo Marbella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Barcelo Marbella
Ranked #15 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice golf & family Hotel”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Fresh and clean Hotell with almost all staff very service minded. For children there are nice pools and activities. Perfect if you want to play golf, first tee 20 m from Hotel entrance. You can choose to have a room with a view of the pool area or the golf course. If you are into music during your stay please bring your own sound system though ;-)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Magnus R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marbellabar, Director General at Barcelo Marbella, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Magnus R:

It is a great satisfaction for the whole team of the Barcelo Marbella to know that your expectations have been covered.

Your comments are a matter of professional pride and joy that inspire and motivate us in our daily efforts to the full satisfaction of our customers.

Please feel free to advise me of your next stay.

Best Regards


Alberto Segura
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    642
    466
    190
    78
    39
See reviews for
530
482
25
137
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed here on a weekend away and had a lovely time. The rooms were dated but very well equipped and clean. The staff very very professional but not overly chatty and friendly, the food was ok, on a lunch time and evening, but breakfast was brilliant. The pool and public areas were well equipped and clean.

the hotel is a bit of a treck to any bars and local shops, and a taxi ride to busier places. It took us over an hour to walk into Puerto Banus.

Our only other observation is the noise level in the rooms from other rooms both neighbours and rooms above, and even walking down the corridor..... without wanting to, we must have heard at least 3 other couples having errr ...special cuddles!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clairosol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marbellabar, Director General at Barcelo Marbella, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Ms Clairosol:

It is a great satisfaction for the whole team of the Barcelo Marbella to know that your expectations have been covered.

Your comments are a matter of professional pride and joy that inspire and motivate us in our daily efforts to the full satisfaction of our customers.

About de noise in the rooms, we are doing a study to know exactly how it is.

Please feel free to advise me of your next stay, since I will be delighted to personnaly welcome you.


Best Regards

Alberto Segura
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We booked this hotel for a short break at the beginning of June, flying into Malaga airport we hadn't researched travelling to the airport.
However having been to this part of Spain before we jumped on the metro which we know is cheap and efficient to the end of the line at Fuengirola with the hope of a short taxi ride at the end....however it was a further 80 euros and a 1/2 hour!!! So book the hotel transfers you will save money!
The hotel itself is beautiful it has an old style Mediterranean feel and mature gardens surrounded by golf courses in every direction!
We stayed in a premium room with access to amazing views from the lounge and supreme nespresso coffee. The room was everything we expected and very comfortable, the pool side room also had all day sun great for a lazy day!
The private premium pool is also a nice add on!
The hotel staff were all polite and attentive and we experienced no problems.
If like us you get restless of the same faces and places and want to explore, so l long as your not afraid of walking you should be fine.
There is a commercial complex with several restaurants and shops if you head 15/20 mins walk left from the front of the hotel, there's an excellent Argentina steak house which you must try!
If you head 15 mins right from the hotel up hill you'll reach a small township with a few shops and restaurants in the square. We hopped on the bus 48 most days, for just over a euro each we got to see the sights of the locals on our way to puerto banus.
Overall the hotel and experience can work for either a relaxing holiday or a exploring one, however if you like everything on your door step it isn't the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BroonAle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marbellabar, Director General at Barcelo Marbella, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear BroonAle1:

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Barceló Marbella.

I'm glad to konow that your expectatios have been covered during your stay.

Opinions like yours, is the best way for our team to improve day by day.

We are looking forward to seeing you soon.

Yours faithfully,

Alberto Segura
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunis, Tunisia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

This is a great hotel from many point of views.
Nevertheless My comment is related to an aspect of security which is usually overlooked in most of the reviews. In my case it could have costed me my life.

I had a peritonitis while staying in the hotel. At 5 Am and during more than an 1 hour the reception team (which is the one that could be contacted by my wife) kept telling her that the best option is to drive me herself by car...!!!!

I must precise that no one from the hotel came to see me at my room or even try to assess my condition.

Finally one doctor who has been called by the hotel who managed to secure an ambulance that came to my rescue...

I don't understand how hotel like this in a high season and plenty of people do not secure the basic emergency services....!!!


  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Badrndour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marbellabar, Director General at Barcelo Marbella, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Mr Badrnour,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Barceló Marbella.

I am honestly sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations at all, please allow myself to express my sincerest apologies.

This is not the kind of service we pride ourselves on giving our guests. For this reason, I had been personally informed, by our assistant manager, in reference of all the special care offered to your family, during your stay in the Hospital.

As we explained to your wife, the hotel provides during all day, first aid service.

I deeply regret kept you waiting for the ambulance; in any case, I would like to clarify that this is an external service out of the hands of our Reception Staff.

Let me show you our gratitude for your comprehension and I hope that you find better.

We are looking forward to seeing you soon.

Yours faithfully,

Alberto Segura
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

OK the hotel is not central but it is only a 15 to 20 minute walk to San Pedro which has bars and restaurants. Previous reviewers complain about the fabric of the hotel ? Ok anyone can pick faults but for the price it is very good.
I walked to San Pedro which is less than 1 mile, the beach is 2.2 miles down a very pleasant avenue and if you are more adventurous Puerto Banus is a 4.6 mile walk.
The staff are good at their job and a number of them friendly.
The pool area is very very good, the rooms are spacious and the food is good.
A lot of seafood, chicken, rice and pasta but frankly if you want English food stay at home.
All things considered I strongly recommend this hotel.
If you hire a car the car park is expensive but you can always park on the street. I wonder why the Hotel car park is expensive ?

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank DGMHudersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marbellabar, Director General at Barcelo Marbella, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Google Translation
Estimado DGMHudersfield:

Muchas gracias por dedicar tu tiempo en escribir esta opinión ya que es la mejor manera de conocer los gustos de nuestros clientes.

Te agradezco mucho y valoro la positiva puntuación del personal, la comida y las instalaciones.

Respecto al precio del parking te informo que valoramos tu opinión y estudiaremos internamente la posibilidad de cambiarlo.

Te esperamos en el hotel para una próxima estancia, y así poderte saludar personalmente.

Un saludo.

Alberto Segura
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marbella
1 review
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This hotel isnt in walking distance of many things unless you like golf, they do have a shuttle service to the beach but other then that you need to get a taxi (theres a rank outside the hotel) or Hire a car to get around.

Take your own converter plug though as you wont get one there

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Suq S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marbellabar, Director General at Barcelo Marbella, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Google Translation
Estimado Suq S:

Quiero agradecerle el tiempo dedicado en cumplimentar esta opinión ya que para nosotros es de gran ayuda el conocer las inquietudes de nuestros huéspedes.

Referente al tema del convertidor de energía, le informo que ya nos hemos puesto en contacto con la persona de Mantenimiento para evitar que problemas como este vuelvan a suceder.

Espero poder atenderle de nuevo en el hotel, será un placer para mi el atenderle personalmente.

Un cordial saludo.

Alberto Segura
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

A full service hotel with spacious rooms and suites with views over a beautiful golf course. Excellent breakfast buffet and room service. The staff could not do enough for you. The pool area is glorious with sun and shade. Lobby area is very relaxing and there's a book exchange cupboard.
I have stayed at this hotel twice now always arriving after midnight due to flight times. I doubt if I would stay anywhere else in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
3 Thank HJC_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marbellabar, Director General at Barcelo Marbella, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for sending us such kind and attentive words, we are very grateful. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Those words are the reason of motivation and satisfaction for the entire Barceló Marbella team. Our main aim is to make our guests happy, to give an unique and memorable experience, make them feel at home and to share unforgettable moments.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Sincerely,


Enrique Castellanos Jaque
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marbella hotels
3.4 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#16 of 70 in Marbella
1,673 reviews
7.0 mi away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 70 in Marbella
1,470 reviews
2.5 mi away
H10 Andalucia Plaza
H10 Andalucia Plaza
#1 of 1 in Nueva Andalucia
2,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#4 of 70 in Marbella
1,750 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort
5.8 mi away
NH Marbella
NH Marbella
#17 of 70 in Marbella
1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Marbella

Property: Barcelo Marbella
Address: C/ de Granadillas, s/n. Urb Guadalmina Alta, 29670, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Marbella
#10 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Marbella 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is in a magnificent natural setting, with one of the largest and best golf courses in Europe, the Guadalmina Golf Club, with a 45-hole course, where Hotel guests can benefit from special rates. All this, together with its wide range of functional facilities for congresses, conventions and incentive travel, large rooms, gastronomy and sports and leisure facilities, make this Hotel the ideal venue for a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Barcelo, Lastminute, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Barcelo Marbella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Marbella Hotel
Barcelo Marbella Andalucia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing