We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful and charming hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Villa Marbella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Villa Marbella
Ranked #1 of 71 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful and charming hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

I have never placed a review on here before, but I would do the hotel, Marcos and the staff a real disservice if I did not tell everyone what a wonderful experience it was.

If you are in any doubt as to whether to book this hotel I would recommend you to delay no more and book it now. You will not regret it. The hotel is advertised as a 3* but it is so much more that a 3*. We have stayed in 5* hotels that weren't as nice. We stayed in the Cherating room and everthing we could possibly have wanted was there for us, tea making facilities, free safety deposit box, iron, beach towels and even travel plugs

The location was very central and nothing was too much trouble for the team at the hotel

I will definatley be visting again very soon

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,273
    107
    26
    7
    1
See reviews for
171
937
35
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

We booked a room at La Villa Marbella and had a pleasant stay. Our room was located in The Cottage ( a separate house from the main building). It was clean and comfortable.
The staff is very friendly. We checked out at midday and went to the beach in the afternoon because we had a late flight. We left our bags with reception and when we got back to the hotel we were able to use a room to take a shower and get changed before going to the airport.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reminsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penistone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

We've just come back today fom a 6 day stay at the Villa Marbella and memories of a wonderful visit are still flooding through our minds. Many hotels preach about the importance of a great customer experience, the team at Villa Marbella live it every moment of the day. From the greeting you receive when you arrive at the door to the moment you leave, nothing is left to chance, every request is greeted positively and with a genuine smile. The attention to detail is stunning, both in the surroundings and the service. There is something about the culture they have created in Villa Marbella which is a shining example to hotels costing 3 times as much on the pretentious Golden Mile. You get a real feel for Marbella Old Town, fantastic restaurants are just 5 minutes stroll away (you must try the Mariscal). Altogether a truly unfortgettable experience!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Boracay, four poster bed, stone walls, beautiful bathroom, balcony. Bit noisy at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulW0511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

My husband and I just came back from our two weeks traveling around the South of Spain and we didn't really book places to stay, so we decided that we would find hotels while stopping in different towns or cities. We wanted to go to Marbella to check out the famous beaches and city but of course, we didn't have a hotel. We decided to go online the morning of leaving to Marbella and book a place for just one night and my husband read about La Villa Marbella and was impressed with the reviews from Trip Advisor and we booked the room online not really knowing anything else about the place but relying on the great reviews. We spent the day at Nikki Beach and then drove to the hotel. We parked our car at a public parking structure (5 Euros for 24 hrs) and walked to the hotel. The streets are beautiful and narrow. Walking streets I may say. We got to Villa Marbella and at the small reception area was Juan, the receptionist who treated us super dooper well and was so friendly and helpful to us. The hotel's theme is very ZEN and the smell of candles and fresh flowers really caught my senses. I am Buddhist myself and was very happy to see Buddha's images everywhere. It made me fell at home. Juan gave us a room named LOMBOK, a region in Indonesia and a very spiritual place. The room was next to the reception but we didn't hear any noise. The room was beautiful with a nice big comfy bed with pictures of Buddha on the walls, a beautiful Asia armoire and the bathroom was big, clean and it seemed like a SPA bathroom with robes, slippers, bamboo sticks and a beautiful smell... When we arrived, Juan gave us a piece of paper so we could personalize our own breakfast. What a great idea! The breakfast was served in the terrace with also a tasteful furniture and ZEN atmosphere. We had a great and peaceful night that night and we decided to stay one more night but wasn't sure if they had a room available to us. We woke up and after breakfast, we went to the reception and met the owner of the hotel. His name is Marcos Torres. He is from Brasil and so am I. We connected right away and I had a chance to see him interact with his guests and I was amazed with his ability to manage that place. He is so passionate about what he does and helping the guests and making them feel comfortable and happy is his number one concern. He managed to get us another room for that night but it was on another building just a few steps from the one that we stayed the night before. That room's name is Hanoi and of course it had Oriental themes and beautiful decoration. We had a chance to chat with Marcos and he gave us many ideas for the places we wanted to visit. He gave us maps of other towns, directions and also a guide's name and number in Tangiers (Morocco) that we could call and set up a day trip with him. Someone that we could trust and feel safe with. Spending time at the La Villa Marbella and meeting Marcos, was the highlight of our trip to Spain. Marcos is proud of his place and I can say for sure that anyone that goes there and spend time at his place, will find out that I am 100% right in every word I wrote in this review. We became friends and I hope to cherish this new friendship forever. Beautiful place, great rooms, yummy breakfast, friendly people and excellent service. It is for sure a wonderful treasure!!!!

Room Tip: No matter which room they'll give you, you'll be very happy with.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monoli646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

Our third stay in as many years with Marcos, Isabelle and the team at Villa Marbella.

The weather didn't disappoint in early October and the whole stay was very enjoyable.

We have come to love Marbella and this hotel cannot be bettered. Its location in the Old Town is perfect with some lovely restaurants within walking distance. The main beach is a 10 minute stroll down through the town.

We stayed in room Phuket, which is a beautiful room. The building it occupies is convenient for reception and the lovely breakfast terrace. The breakfasts served are plentiful with a great choice. The service is very personal and a delight each morning.

We have come to look forward to our stay at Villa Marbella and will return again next year.

Room Tip: We stayed in room Phuket, which is a beautiful room. We have also stayed in Java, and Bintan in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N.Davies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

There have been lot's of reviews about this hotel mainly good some not.The Staff are helpful,friendly and engaging ,Please do not think that this reviewer was "charmed " somehow by this and cannot be objective .
I was in the Java room,I have stayed in larger rooms but this is a hotel that is fitting into old properties if you want late bars,gym etc,etc, go some where else. the location is great ,step outside and within 2 mins.you have bars, Cafes ,and a variety of restaurants( so it really is not a problem that the Villa does not have its own.
A lot of care and attention has been put into the decor and general ambience of the hotel. The room I stayed in opened onto a street,so yes it could be noisy but this quietened down later in the night. This hotel may be a problem for people with mobility issue's but the Old town is cobbled and steep,so may not be the best place to stay anyway.
I can understand if you brought a lot of clothes with you then there may not be enough storage space( the fridge and the safe are inset into the wardrobe and take away some storage ) Writing about the fridge,It was fairly noisy during the night and light sleepers may have an issue.
Would i stay here again?...you bet ,Would I recommend my friends to stay here?No!....otherwise there may not be a room for me! yes I would(sorry Marcus for giving you a fright)

Room Tip: The Java room can be noisy ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sastimos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

I virtually live in hotels and whilst this hotel is not flash it is one of the best places I have stayed at for a long time. We booked the datai room which is in one of the houses which form this hotel. It was at the back of the house so very quiet. Good value for money but the icing on the cake are the staff who can't do enough for you and for that reason you can't miss this place.

Rustic charm in the old own but close enough to the things you want to do!

Room Tip: Some rooms are on the street so could be noisier!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sc0user
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marbella hotels
1.0 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 71 in Marbella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Claude Marbella
Hotel Claude Marbella
#2 of 71 in Marbella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Marbella Heights Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Aparthotel Puerto Azul Marbella
0.3 mi away
Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos
0.4 mi away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villa Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa Marbella

Property: La Villa Marbella
Address: Calle Principe 10 | Old Historic Town, 29601, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
#2 Family Hotel in Marbella
#4 Business Hotel in Marbella
#7 Best Value Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1 star — La Villa Marbella 1*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Villa Marbella Charming Hotel is located inside the romantic Old Town of the internationally renowned Marbella. The 150 years old house has been fully refurbished and the 4 suites carry a very cozy Asian Style. The rooms are full equipped: air conditioner, heater, ceiling fan, TV satellite, stereo chain, ads, mini bar, safety box, electronic keys, telephone with private voice mail and full amenities in the bathroom. From the terrace, during the breakfast or relaxing in our Chinese Lounge, you will enjoy stunning views of the Sierra Blanca, Old Town and the Castle Walls. 3 minutes walk to the famous Orange Square and its selected bars and restaurants, 7 minutes walk to the beach or 10 minutes by car to the famous Marina Puerto Banus and its nightlife , La Villa Marbella gives you the tranquility of the Old Town yet close to the interesting points of the city. You will come back !! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your La Villa Marbella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Hotel Marbella Charming
La Villa Marbella Andalucia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing