We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Villa Marbella
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Claude Marbella(Marbella)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
Hostal Paco(Marbella)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
El Rodeo(Marbella)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Central(Marbella)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Marbella Inn(Marbella)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,571)
Filter reviews
1,571 results
Traveller rating
1,416
120
27
7
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,416
120
27
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshis teamold towncourtyard buildingshanghai roomroof terracecharming hoteldifferent buildingsfour poster bednarrow streetssatellite tvsmall hoteltapassmall poolorange squashbeach towelshome from homethe location is perfect
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
526 - 531 of 1,571 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We must first say that the accommodation was in a very good location, very clean and well maintained. However, we did not expect how the hotel operates, the reception in one house, our room in another house a few minutes away and breakfast in another house a few minutes away from the other two.
Having to order breakfast the day before by filling in a form from a very limited menu was also unexpected, for instance only cereal available is cornflakes. If you wanted to change everyday you would have to fill in another form.
The steep and winding stair access to our room was also unexpected as my wife had a hip replacement 6 months previously and would not have been able to manage unaided.
In particular our room, the Banyan, was badly lit, had no bedsides and no flat services to put anything on, the kettle had to be plugged in on the floor and there was no heating in the bathroom and only 3 pillows, one and a half each.
If you like quaint and quirky give it a try, but it is not a boutique hotel, more of a disjointed bed and breakfast that you have to put a lot of effort into.
Our point is none of the above are you made aware of when booking. We have to admire the guys for running their business on their terms and not for the convenience of their clients. Good luck guys, you obviously do well. Hope you appreciate my "input" I think that was the phrase you used when I mentioned the lighting.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
6  Thank michaelbL1856CX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We opted for Villa Marbella because of the good ranking on TP and were not disappointed. We had arrived at the bus station and thought that it's quite close by, thankfully we opted for the taxi as it was not that close by. We cycled to the bus station the next day, having rented bicycles and found that it was a good half hour cycling up hill.

The hotel staff were excellent and we had a nice chat with Ben (Canadian, speaks Spanish fluently). Owner was away in London at that time. Hospitable staff, knowledgeable and helpful.

Service: Ben plotted the journey for us to the bus station as we planned to cycle there, as though he were cycling there himself. Pointed out best tapas places to eat, restaurants and nice spots. Even a bicycle rental shop ! That's service. Thanks to the staff for making our stay memorable.

Value: Not budget but the overall value was excellent. Breakfast, room, location all matched up to the price.

Sleep: Very good, windows could be shut tight to keep out the street noise (It was Halloween night) and comfortable beds.

Cleanliness: Very clean, even the toilet was spotless.

Location: Smack in the old city, 20 steps and you're next to a Tapas restaurant where we ate the first day. 10min downhill to the beach and the action. However, catch a taxi to the autobus station as it's tough walk uphill all the way !

Rooms: Medium sized, with a large toilet/shower.

Restaurant: Our room came with breakfast and we ate breakfast in the terrace on the top floor, accessing it by a circular staircase. You pick from a set menu when you arrive and there lots to eat. Break, sandwiches, yoghurt, cereals. Lots of coffee or tea. Served by a pleasant and friendly hostess.

Room Tip: Don't expect much from the pool as advertised. Make use of the kettle and coffee service in the room, kettles in the room are hard to find in Spain.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Weimin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

These guys don't win 2013 Best Service for nothing! From the moment we arrived we were treated as VIP guests by Marcus and William (not to mention other staff, who were all superb). It's not just the service though - we anticipated Marbella as rather high-rise and flashy but were fortunate enough to discover this absolute gem in the heart of the Old Town. This is definitely the area to stay and, without a doubt, this is THE hotel. Not just one charming old building but several, converted from old houses. The rooms nearly all had Asian names and individual Asian 'themes' to the interior decor. We stayed in Langkawi in The Cottage and were fortunate to have the entire place to ourselves for two nights. This meant we could avail of the self catering on the ground floor and had the exquisite roof garden/terrace to ourselves to enjoy a quiet drink in the evening sunshine. Great attention to detail (bath robes, selection of teas/coffees/drinks in mini-bar and exotic chocs on the bed - call us old fashioned but we liked it!).

Excellent recommendations for 'things to see and do' (eg. a boat trip to Puerto Banus with a return bus trip to take in the 'Golden Mile' (Millionaire's Row); first class restaurants/bars; places to visit - sadly not enough time!). Marcus and William went out of their way during our stay, eg. "Here take a card and if you need anything, anytime, you only have to call. I haven't lost a guest yet!" They also helped to facilitate our reluctant departure by assisting with bus ticket purchases for Airport Shuttle (recommended as it gets booked up), printing out boarding cards and organising our taxi. Nothing was too much trouble - these guys have hospitality as part of their DNA and we will definitely return.

Room Tip: Langkawi (with the four poster bed) was a delight - perhaps a little compact but we had a massive living area downstairs with well equipped kitchen/dining, a large living room plus a roof terrace. The room may have been slightly on the small side but the overall experience was very well worth it. Look no further!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeitrimLadySue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

My vision of Marbella had been of a high rise seafront and rather typical over-development albeit with a bit more style than in some other areas. However our stay at Villa Marbella in the old town completely proved me wrong. A lovely environment, not too busy but with enough buzz to make it interesting.

Villa Marbella itself lived up to the reviews. Attractive rooms, excellent friendly and helpful staff and a very good breakfast. Recommended.

Room Tip: Bangkok and Phuket are both attractive from our own experience. Nice rooftop terrace above them.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wheelskeepturning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

From the time we stepped out of our car, Marcos and William treated us like family. Beautiful, charming, clean, elegant decor, unbelievable kindness and caring, extra attention given, nice breakfast. When in Marbella everyone must stay here in old town. We will be back for a much longer stay

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cylinda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews