We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marbella's best little gem!”
Review of La Villa Marbella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Villa Marbella
Ranked #2 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 December 2013

For the second time we stayed at this wonderful little hotel, located in the old town and in my opinion best part of Marbella. All rooms have different but very nice design with inspirations from Asia. Impeccable cleanliness and high comfort. Breakfast offer is sufficient and good. Staff very warm and helpful. If you planning to stay in Marbella try this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Per C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,485)
There are newer reviews for La Villa Marbella
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

465 - 471 of 1,485 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2013

My girfriend and now my fiancéé chose this hotel for three romantic nights away for our anniversary and for her birthday (so she thought).
We stayed in the Cherating penthouse jacuzzi room.
The room looked amazing and the terras with jacuzzi was absolutely heaven.
They already have the Jaccuzi warm and running to use.
I asked my girlfriend to marry me on thursday morning on that same terras were we enjoyed a lovely breakfast. She said yessss!!! :)
It was a request from me to have breakfast in the room and the hotel owner Marco made a exeption for this because of the reason why I wanted it.
When I gave the good news to him and his staff he even bought flowers for me to give to my fianceé.
Marco and his staff are also very helpfull with things you want to do in and around Marbella.
They give you good tips and advise for trips to do.
We went to Puerto Banus and Ronda.
The busstation is not far away and Marco and his staff are more than helpfull to arrange a taxi that will bring you to the Marbella busstation (8 euro's).
The bus to Puerto Banus is only 1,30 euros, stops in the mainstreet and is also the same bus that brings you to the big shopping mall La Canada.
Old town with his nice, smal, cobbled streets and white buildings with lots of restaurants is the perfect location to be. The hotel couldn't have been in a nicer place.
We had a lovely, romantic and wonderfull time in this hotel and i can seriously recommend it.
We are definitely comming back for another romantic stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We must first say that the accommodation was in a very good location, very clean and well maintained. However, we did not expect how the hotel operates, the reception in one house, our room in another house a few minutes away and breakfast in another house a few minutes away from the other two.
Having to order breakfast the day before by filling in a form from a very limited menu was also unexpected, for instance only cereal available is cornflakes. If you wanted to change everyday you would have to fill in another form.
The steep and winding stair access to our room was also unexpected as my wife had a hip replacement 6 months previously and would not have been able to manage unaided.
In particular our room, the Banyan, was badly lit, had no bedsides and no flat services to put anything on, the kettle had to be plugged in on the floor and there was no heating in the bathroom and only 3 pillows, one and a half each.
If you like quaint and quirky give it a try, but it is not a boutique hotel, more of a disjointed bed and breakfast that you have to put a lot of effort into.
Our point is none of the above are you made aware of when booking. We have to admire the guys for running their business on their terms and not for the convenience of their clients. Good luck guys, you obviously do well. Hope you appreciate my "input" I think that was the phrase you used when I mentioned the lighting.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We opted for Villa Marbella because of the good ranking on TP and were not disappointed. We had arrived at the bus station and thought that it's quite close by, thankfully we opted for the taxi as it was not that close by. We cycled to the bus station the next day, having rented bicycles and found that it was a good half hour cycling up hill.

The hotel staff were excellent and we had a nice chat with Ben (Canadian, speaks Spanish fluently). Owner was away in London at that time. Hospitable staff, knowledgeable and helpful.

Service: Ben plotted the journey for us to the bus station as we planned to cycle there, as though he were cycling there himself. Pointed out best tapas places to eat, restaurants and nice spots. Even a bicycle rental shop ! That's service. Thanks to the staff for making our stay memorable.

Value: Not budget but the overall value was excellent. Breakfast, room, location all matched up to the price.

Sleep: Very good, windows could be shut tight to keep out the street noise (It was Halloween night) and comfortable beds.

Cleanliness: Very clean, even the toilet was spotless.

Location: Smack in the old city, 20 steps and you're next to a Tapas restaurant where we ate the first day. 10min downhill to the beach and the action. However, catch a taxi to the autobus station as it's tough walk uphill all the way !

Rooms: Medium sized, with a large toilet/shower.

Restaurant: Our room came with breakfast and we ate breakfast in the terrace on the top floor, accessing it by a circular staircase. You pick from a set menu when you arrive and there lots to eat. Break, sandwiches, yoghurt, cereals. Lots of coffee or tea. Served by a pleasant and friendly hostess.

Room Tip: Don't expect much from the pool as advertised. Make use of the kettle and coffee service in the...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Weimin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

These guys don't win 2013 Best Service for nothing! From the moment we arrived we were treated as VIP guests by Marcus and William (not to mention other staff, who were all superb). It's not just the service though - we anticipated Marbella as rather high-rise and flashy but were fortunate enough to discover this absolute gem in the heart of the Old Town. This is definitely the area to stay and, without a doubt, this is THE hotel. Not just one charming old building but several, converted from old houses. The rooms nearly all had Asian names and individual Asian 'themes' to the interior decor. We stayed in Langkawi in The Cottage and were fortunate to have the entire place to ourselves for two nights. This meant we could avail of the self catering on the ground floor and had the exquisite roof garden/terrace to ourselves to enjoy a quiet drink in the evening sunshine. Great attention to detail (bath robes, selection of teas/coffees/drinks in mini-bar and exotic chocs on the bed - call us old fashioned but we liked it!).

Excellent recommendations for 'things to see and do' (eg. a boat trip to Puerto Banus with a return bus trip to take in the 'Golden Mile' (Millionaire's Row); first class restaurants/bars; places to visit - sadly not enough time!). Marcus and William went out of their way during our stay, eg. "Here take a card and if you need anything, anytime, you only have to call. I haven't lost a guest yet!" They also helped to facilitate our reluctant departure by assisting with bus ticket purchases for Airport Shuttle (recommended as it gets booked up), printing out boarding cards and organising our taxi. Nothing was too much trouble - these guys have hospitality as part of their DNA and we will definitely return.

Room Tip: Langkawi (with the four poster bed) was a delight - perhaps a little compact but we had a massive li...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeitrimLadySue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

My vision of Marbella had been of a high rise seafront and rather typical over-development albeit with a bit more style than in some other areas. However our stay at Villa Marbella in the old town completely proved me wrong. A lovely environment, not too busy but with enough buzz to make it interesting.

Villa Marbella itself lived up to the reviews. Attractive rooms, excellent friendly and helpful staff and a very good breakfast. Recommended.

Room Tip: Bangkok and Phuket are both attractive from our own experience. Nice rooftop terrace above them.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wheelskeepturning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

From the time we stepped out of our car, Marcos and William treated us like family. Beautiful, charming, clean, elegant decor, unbelievable kindness and caring, extra attention given, nice breakfast. When in Marbella everyone must stay here in old town. We will be back for a much longer stay

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cylinda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marbella hotels
7.0 mi away
Barcelo Marbella
Barcelo Marbella
#13 of 70 in Marbella
1,488 reviews
0.4 mi away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
#10 of 70 in Marbella
896 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 70 in Marbella
1,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Claude Marbella
Hotel Claude Marbella
#1 of 70 in Marbella
345 reviews
2.4 mi away
Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella
0.3 mi away
Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villa Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa Marbella

Address: Calle Principe 10 | Old Historic Town, 29601, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
#2 Family Hotel in Marbella
#4 Business Hotel in Marbella
#5 Best Value Hotel in Marbella
Price Range: £83 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — La Villa Marbella 1*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Villa Marbella Charming Hotel is located inside the romantic Old Town of the internationally renowned Marbella. The 150 years old house has been fully refurbished and the 4 suites carry a very cozy Asian Style. The rooms are full equipped: air conditioner, heater, ceiling fan, TV satellite, stereo chain, ads, mini bar, safety box, electronic keys, telephone with private voice mail and full amenities in the bathroom. From the terrace, during the breakfast or relaxing in our Chinese Lounge, you will enjoy stunning views of the Sierra Blanca, Old Town and the Castle Walls. 3 minutes walk to the famous Orange Square and its selected bars and restaurants, 7 minutes walk to the beach or 10 minutes by car to the famous Marina Puerto Banus and its nightlife , La Villa Marbella gives you the tranquility of the Old Town yet close to the interesting points of the city. You will come back !! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Ebookers so you can book your La Villa Marbella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Hotel Marbella Charming
La Villa Marbella Andalucia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing