We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel in beautiful old town”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of La Villa Marbella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Villa Marbella
Ranked #2 of 71 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in beautiful old town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

Marco and his staff are what make this hotel in the beautiful old town of Marbella stand out from the rest. The multilingual staff were always so exceptionally pleasant and helpful. We were extremely impressed by how quickly Ben changed from one language to another at breakfast time as guest arrived. The hotel is located in several tastefully decorated townhouses (we stayed in The Courtyard) making you feel that you truly are in Spain and not just another commercialised tourist resort. We had a very enjoyable 3 night stay in February when the weather was really quite poor. I'm sure The Courtyard would be great in the warmer months with it's lovely roof terrace and courtyard pool.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank GJoScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,274
    107
    26
    7
    1
See reviews for
171
937
35
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

We have just returned from a 3 night stay in La Villa Marbella. We have never visited Spain before and went for a rare trip away without the children to explore. We had a lovely time. This hotel is like nothing I have stayed in before. Our room was amazing, (and very clean), and beautifully decorated. The location was brilliant (parked in the car park they recommend which is a 2 minute walk) and were able to explore both the old town and the rest of the city on foot. The staff were all fantastic and all work very hard. Nothing was too much trouble and they took the time to talk to you and help, and never before has anyone handed us a card when we checked out, and said that if we had any problems before our late flight out, then to call them. An amazing place and an amazing bunch of people. Would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NickyShprsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, Florida, Usa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Perfect location, boutique hotel, some thing different, hotel located in different houses of 3 to 4 bedrooms in each, with your own courtyard and lounge area and kitchen. It's like living in Old Town in your own house. We had many evenings with our friends having our own tapas and drinks before going out for the evening. The bedroom with English satellite channels, deluxe bathroom with large very hot shower is very welcome after a day walking round the tree and shrub lined old town streets. The staff will do attitude can solve any problems, if the beds a bit too hard, mattress toppers are provided. Breakfast is a delight with ample supplies. Good centre for day trips to Peurto Banus and Gibraltar.

Room Tip: Nothing to choose from, all different and equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatel-sur-Montsalvens, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

We had a wonderful stay in this small boutique hotel, located in five white Andalusian historic homes in the heart of Marbella's old town, surrounded by streets strewn with flowers. Far from the cosmopolitan crowd of the resort, but close to the famous Plaza de los Naranjos, the tenth century Muslim fortifications and many small but charming, delicious and lively small Andalusian restaurants. Charming paradox: all rooms decorated with art from Southeast Asia propel us in a virtual serenity, with many Buddhas ensuring the tranquility of our sleep. It goes without saying that, in such environment, the service was lovely, thanks to an attentive staff. A big thank to Marco and his team who made our stay very, very pleasant. Irma and Claude from Switzerland.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claude H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

Perfect for a romantic weekend.A little secret hide away ,breakfast in a lovely courtyard ,walking distance to many great restaurants.Had dinner at the Orange tree which we booked during our stay.Good 15-20min walk to beach but nice walk through cobbled streets.There is a very small pool but didn't use and a terraced for sunbathing in another block down.My first review ever ,would go back again definitely.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkwall
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

Went to stay at La Villa Marbella in January 2014. The staff are so wonderful, sensitive to your needs and helpful, but without being intrusive. The location is spectacular in the Old Town, with every street individual and picturesque. We were advised about good places to eat, and lovely places to visit.
The weather in January was a delight - clear blue skies every day, and temperatures up to around 21. I think though that it has been a very dry winter, and farmers would probably welcome some rain.
Some reviewers have mentioned that the mattresses were a little hard. If they seem like that to you, a quick mention to the staff sorts it out. We also opted for the transport to and from the airport - friendly, careful drivers are used by the hotel.
Overall it was a wonderful experience, and we would love to return there to be looked after so well again.

Room Tip: Stayed in Penang, and loved it. If your mobility is limited, check whether there are stairs, becaus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GussieKirkwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istan, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

We had a perfect stay in the second week of january 2014. Everything was just wonderfull. Clean - very cozy - freindly and very serviceminded staff. We know where to stay next time in Marbella. We give our best recommandation to La Villa Marbella

Room Tip: we were in the Sarawak room and it was just beatifull
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marbella hotels
1.0 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 71 in Marbella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,612 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Claude Marbella
Hotel Claude Marbella
#1 of 71 in Marbella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Marbella Heights Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Aparthotel Puerto Azul Marbella
0.3 mi away
Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos
0.4 mi away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villa Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa Marbella

Property: La Villa Marbella
Address: Calle Principe 10 | Old Historic Town, 29601, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
#2 Family Hotel in Marbella
#4 Business Hotel in Marbella
#7 Best Value Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1 star — La Villa Marbella 1*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Villa Marbella Charming Hotel is located inside the romantic Old Town of the internationally renowned Marbella. The 150 years old house has been fully refurbished and the 4 suites carry a very cozy Asian Style. The rooms are full equipped: air conditioner, heater, ceiling fan, TV satellite, stereo chain, ads, mini bar, safety box, electronic keys, telephone with private voice mail and full amenities in the bathroom. From the terrace, during the breakfast or relaxing in our Chinese Lounge, you will enjoy stunning views of the Sierra Blanca, Old Town and the Castle Walls. 3 minutes walk to the famous Orange Square and its selected bars and restaurants, 7 minutes walk to the beach or 10 minutes by car to the famous Marina Puerto Banus and its nightlife , La Villa Marbella gives you the tranquility of the Old Town yet close to the interesting points of the city. You will come back !! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your La Villa Marbella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Hotel Marbella Charming
La Villa Marbella Andalucia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing