We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of La Villa Marbella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Villa Marbella
Ranked #2 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

As the other reviews say, this is a lovely hotel. Friendly helpful staff. Got upgraded to the room with jacuzzi which was lovely, only down side was mattress was incredibly hard and uncomfortable so sadly couldn't stay more than one night or sleep very easily.
With a new mattress I would give this place 5 out of 5.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Londondiners999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,286
    108
    27
    7
    1
See reviews for
173
945
35
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Before I begin to write this review, I would like to say that this hotel is a true gem. Excellent throughout! I guess I should begin to explain why. My wife, Daughter Amelie and I were looking for an impromptu week away just for some relaxation and hopefully some warmer, sunnier weather as the UK rain was finally taking its toll on us.

We looked at a few options, destinations etc but found very reasonably priced flights via Easyjet to Malaga so looked further into this area. My wife and I are now rather familiar with Andalucía as we have travelled to most major towns, cities and resorts over the years so knew what to expect. We now have quite particular tastes in where we stay and also like to visit places we have not been to before. We also try to avoid main tourist resorts and hotels alike but as it was February we were not overly bothered about this but still wanted something a little more authentic, with character and especially with a more Spanish feel. Neither of us have visited Marbella before so looked at this as an option primarily because we knew it had a charming old town. I always look at TA for help in deciding on hotels and as soon as I saw La Villa Marbella I knew this was the place.

My daughter is 18 months old and still requires a cot. Having worked in the travel industry I knew that certain rooms may not necessarily accommodate a cot so before going any further I decided to email the hotel directly. I immediately had a detailed response offering all the rooms that would be suitable and also the rates I would pay. We exchanged a few more emails and before long I had made a reservation using their online service and promptly received a confirmation email detailing all I needed to know.

Our flight landed early and we actually got to the hotel about 11:30am, well before the usual check in time. I went straight to reception where we were met by Marcos who was most welcoming in addition to being a very polite and friendly person. Marcos was quickly on the phone to try to establish how long our room would take to be ready and informed us it would be about 30 minutes, again well before the check in time. Marcos escorted us to the Courtyard building where we were offered a tea and coffee while our room was being made ready. True to his word, less than 30 minutes later we were on our way to the room, this time escorted by Benjamin who was again very hospitable.

We booked the Bali Suite which was located directly opposite reception but to be honest I would have been happy with any of the rooms are they all looked fantastic. Our room was best suited to us as it had a small kitchen area and separate living area, all of which were very well received due to our 18 month old. I have visited most of the Asian cities, islands and resorts that the rooms were named after and found our Bali Suite very authentic. The décor was immaculate and of very high quality. Outside of Asia, this was one of the finest rooms we have stayed at in Europe. It had plenty of amenities you would expect and more, all of which were again very high quality. Verdict 10/10.

The breakfast was served in the Courtyard that is situated a few minutes walk down a quiet calle. Breakfast was served until midday which was great for us as we did not need to rush especially as we had our daughter to sort out. The breakfast consisted of a choice of continental fare, including juices, tea, coffee, cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurts, baguettes, sandwiches etc. All of this was very enjoyable and set us up for the day. The lady who looked after us during breakfast, Isabela, was fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble and she really made an effort, especially with my daughter Amelie. She is yet another star member of La Villa Marbella team! Thanks Isabela! Verdict 10/10.

The location of the hotel was the main selling point for us as it right in the heart of the old town. There are lovely bars, cafes, restaurants within 2 minutes walk and the old town as a whole typified many traditional Spanish towns and villages. The walk to the sea front was enjoyable and we found, after some recommendations form Benjamin at the hotel, some very enjoyable Tapas bars (the Basque one was excellent, thanks Ben) of which we frequented most days. Location 10/10.

Marbella itself was nice enough with a good marina surrounded by bars that are a good place to enjoy a drink in the sun and also a decent looking beach. The walk to Puerto Banus is a good 3.5 miles but, as we had 4 days of good sunshine, was a pleasure to walk. This part of Marbella is definitely the chic part and we enjoyed an afternoon walking around. For us, the best part of Marbella was the old town. If it was not for this, Marbella would lack character and not be as popular as it is.

We stayed at La Villa Marbella for 5 nights before spending the last two in Malaga. We caught the express bus from Marbella bus station and this was an easy walk from the hotel.

I cannot recommend this hotel enough. From the first exchange of emails to checking out we received the most excellent service and professionalism in addition to the immensely friendly attitude of all staff we encountered. Thanks to all the team at La Villa Marbella for making our stay so enjoyable and if we were to return I would genuinely only stay at your hotel. Your No.1 position on TA is more than worthy and it is certainly No.1, in my opinion, against any hotel in the area. Definitely a unique concept for a unique hotel!

Many thanks and good luck for the future!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RichieS77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in the old city of marbella which is one of the most beautiful cities in Costa del Sol.We were upgraded and we got room Borneo.It was decorated so beautiful...someone thought about every little details and the decoration is marvelous.Brekfast is in the courtyard..outside the room which is original..and the courtyard is so nice....Breakfast itself was very good..real croissant and pain au chocolat.Marcos and Ben were very welcoming and warm so we wish we could stay another day.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dafmos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 March 2014

From our late arrival the staff couldnt have been more helpful .A lovely hotel on the backstreets of the old town The upgraded room was lovely and the attention to customer service could not have been any better.Marcos and his staff deserve the no 1 rating in Marbella thanks

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevin_bentley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rogers, Arkansas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Throughout our stay the staff were amazing, friendly, helpful..top notch customer service. The room was fantastic, clean and comfortable and stylish. All this located in the charm of the old town. This hotel is wonderful and would definitely stay here again. Thank you Villa Marbella!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

THIS IS THE BEST PLACE TO STAY IN THE WHOLE OF MARBELLA :-)
We stayed last summer in August 2013
Totally in love with the place and the hospitality
Stunning villas in the heart of the old town
We will return :-)
Lots of love
The Robinson's

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimboRobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 March 2014

From our a arrival, where we were given an unexpected room upgrade, our experience at La Villa Marbella was without fault. An extremely friendly welcome from Marcos and some great recommendations for places to visit for food in both Marbella and Puerto Banus. The location is second to none within the Old Town's winding streets and paths. Managed to get lost several times but with great results in what we found. The room was very comfortable and beautifully presented. A great welcoming base to explore the area...

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjw6500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marbella hotels
1.0 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 70 in Marbella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Claude Marbella
Hotel Claude Marbella
#1 of 70 in Marbella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Marbella Heights Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Aparthotel Puerto Azul Marbella
0.3 mi away
Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos
0.4 mi away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villa Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa Marbella

Property: La Villa Marbella
Address: Calle Principe 10 | Old Historic Town, 29601, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
#2 Family Hotel in Marbella
#4 Business Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1 star — La Villa Marbella 1*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Villa Marbella Charming Hotel is located inside the romantic Old Town of the internationally renowned Marbella. The 150 years old house has been fully refurbished and the 4 suites carry a very cozy Asian Style. The rooms are full equipped: air conditioner, heater, ceiling fan, TV satellite, stereo chain, ads, mini bar, safety box, electronic keys, telephone with private voice mail and full amenities in the bathroom. From the terrace, during the breakfast or relaxing in our Chinese Lounge, you will enjoy stunning views of the Sierra Blanca, Old Town and the Castle Walls. 3 minutes walk to the famous Orange Square and its selected bars and restaurants, 7 minutes walk to the beach or 10 minutes by car to the famous Marina Puerto Banus and its nightlife , La Villa Marbella gives you the tranquility of the Old Town yet close to the interesting points of the city. You will come back !! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your La Villa Marbella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Hotel Marbella Charming
La Villa Marbella Andalucia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing