We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Villa Marbella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Villa Marbella
Ranked #2 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2009

My wife and I spent one night at La Villa Marbella last Saturday to celebrate our wedding anniversary. I was excited to find out if this property deserved all the hype that's been having lately around here.

This is a great place to stay, wonderfully managed. Location is excellent, rooms have a delightful decoration (we stayed at a brand new apartament named Lhasa which featured a great terrace with jacuzzi)...

As others have pointed out, the management is truly excellent. The property owner, Marcos, is a skilled travel industry professional who knows his business quite well. He or his team are really nice and helpful people.

We were invited to a bottle of champagne to enhance our celebration. What else can be said?

Be aware that this is a small boutique hotel. We love these concepts, but there are people who simply prefer the big resort type of hotel. If this is your case, La Villa is not your place.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MACPollo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,260
    107
    26
    7
    1
See reviews for
165
931
35
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2009

My wife and I recently spent 3 wonderful days in Marbella at the La Villa Marbella. The location was perfect, in old town Marbella, the hotel was more than charming and was decorated in an understated but elegent fashion. The rooms were large and comfortable. The real highlight was the ability of the owner Marcos and one of his assistants Ben to make sure we found the type of entertainment, sightseeing, and food we were looking for. Marbella is a special place for my wife and myself and though we have not been visited in a long time, the expereince was better than we anticipated. Thanks to the La Villa Marbella. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Newyorkgiants1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swindon, west mids, england
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2009

Leigh and I completed our stay in Marbella at La Villa Marbella after having spent 3 nights up at the incredible Marbella Heights. Ben at reception was very welcoming and personally showed us to the Courtyard (just across the street) where we stayed in the Saigon. A lovely room on the 1st floor, gorgeous bathroom and a cute little terrace with table and chairs overlooking the pool. Although in the heart of the Old Town, it was amazingly peaceful and the pool area is quite a suntrap.

If you fancy a very tasty cooked breakfast at any time from 7.30am up to midnight, (just get a slip from reception at the main hotel building) and stroll down to Alfredos right by the castle, just around the corner from La Villa Marbella. Here you will find Shayne (who used to manage Marbella Heights) and his business partner Atsa running a lovely little restaurant with outside terrace. We dined there one evening too and thoroughly enjoyed the meal cooked for us by Shayne and served to us by Atsa. They are both very friendly and will make you extremely welcome.

We hope to be back to La Villa Marbella very soon and would recommend to all our friends.

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jeremiah3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2009

Stayed 2 nights in the Banyan suite which is in the Lodge building (hotel currently split across 4 seperate buildings all within a couple of minutes walk from each other). Room was perfect - had a sitting area and a small outside terrace with table and chairs. The building was right in the heart of the old town down a gorgeous old street with plenty of charm/character. Room was spotlessly clean. Were told we could also have used the terraces/pool in the other buildings although we never did.

Breakfast was served in one of the other buildings and was lovely - on the first day we chose from a list what we'd like and you could turn up pretty much anytime you liked to have your breakfast which was perfect

Everyone who worked at the hotel was really friendly/helpful and we took up a number of the recommendations on places to eat which were lovely and hidden down backstreets that we probably would never have come across otherwise.

There was an underground car park about 5 mins walk from the hotel which we used - 15 euros a day

Would definitely recommend staying in the old town of Marbella rather than the more touristy beach areas and if ever go back would definitely stay in this hotel again

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glasgow77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2009

I won't go on since all these reviews pretty much say it all. I am writing this review to both highly recommend the hotel and agree with the positive returns but also to thank Marcos, Boli and Ben and the rest of the staff that made mine, my wife and my 2 yr old son's trip to Marbella truly amazing. the hotel and the service are friendly and unique. You guys have it right and can teach other hotels (including the high end hospitality industry) a thing or two about service.

All the recommendations (trip to Bolonia to the beach and to Tangiers) were spot on. A day trip to Tangiers is worth it. Ben set us up with a private guide and it was great. Fantastic experience and totally safe (so don't feel apprehensive about going out of uneasiness about safety).

Thanks guys. Great stay.

Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank John1164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2009

My husband and I made our first trip to Spain and stayed in Marbella. We enjoyed the hotel because of the great accomodations, and the location. Marcos was a great host. He gave us a guided tour of the city, restaurants, and sights. I would recommend this hotel to everyone who wants a quiet, comforable, friendly place to stay in Marbella.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeneandBertie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2009

We stayed at Villa Marbella for 6 nights in June and can't say enough about the location and hospitality of Marcos and his staff. We stayed in the Lhasa apartment, which was amazing and just 5 minutes from the main building. The 2 storey apartment had a small kitchen which was stocked with water, wine, beer and soft drinks as well as dishes, a living area, laptop computer with internet access. The bedroom was quiet and had an air conditioner, with a very comfortable queen bed. The best part about the apartment was the rooftop terrace overlooking the old town, with a couch, table and jacuzzi. There was also an indoor seating area on the 2nd floor which we didn't use as we preferred to be outside on the terrace. The terrace included wind down clear wall awnings, which helped to either cut down on wind if it was cooler, or allow for a breeze if it was warm - we had both types of weather while we were there. Each morning the staff left us breakfast just inside our apartment so when we got up it was there and ready to go. Marcos was incredibly helpful each day as we planned our day trips, writing out maps for us and providing tips on where to go and what to see. We did a day trip to Granada to see Alhambra (a must see), and an overnight to Sevilla with a stop on the way back to Ronda - Ronda is also a must see and can easily be done during the day if you don't want to drive all the way to Seville. The old town of Marbella is lovely, and a perfect place to stay. We had a car and used it to drive to a beach area (recommended by Marcos) on a day when we just wanted to relax, as well as for our day trips. There are car parks in the old town that are quite close to the apartment and once you find your way around it becomes easier, although the old town is hard to navigate when you first arrive by car. On our arrival day from Malaga, we were trying to follow our GPS with no luck as there are no roads into the hotel. Eventually we gave up trying to find the hotel, parked, had lunch, then walked to the hotel. Marcos gave me a glass of wine on the rooftop while Bolivar went with my boyfriend to get the car and take it to the car park. If you like nightlife, Puerto Banus is 5 to 10 minutes away by cab and filled with bars and nightclubs. We went several nights and found several piano bars where we had a great time. One other nice touch was the ability to get laundry done (not drycleaning) as we had been away for a week prior to our arrival in Spain. Marcos had our laundry taken and returned the next day which was great. All in all, a fantastic holiday which was made all the more special by our wonderful accommodations at Villa Marbella and with the warm hospitality of Marcos and his team. I would highly recommend Villa Marbella!

Annie & Tarek, Toronto

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TorontoAnneT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marbella hotels
1.1 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#4 of 70 in Marbella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Claude Marbella
Hotel Claude Marbella
#1 of 70 in Marbella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Marbella Heights Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Aparthotel Puerto Azul Marbella
2.7 mi away
Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella
0.4 mi away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villa Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa Marbella

Property: La Villa Marbella
Address: Calle Principe 10 | Old Historic Town, 29601, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
#2 Family Hotel in Marbella
#4 Business Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1 star — La Villa Marbella 1*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Villa Marbella Charming Hotel is located inside the romantic Old Town of the internationally renowned Marbella. The 150 years old house has been fully refurbished and the 4 suites carry a very cozy Asian Style. The rooms are full equipped: air conditioner, heater, ceiling fan, TV satellite, stereo chain, ads, mini bar, safety box, electronic keys, telephone with private voice mail and full amenities in the bathroom. From the terrace, during the breakfast or relaxing in our Chinese Lounge, you will enjoy stunning views of the Sierra Blanca, Old Town and the Castle Walls. 3 minutes walk to the famous Orange Square and its selected bars and restaurants, 7 minutes walk to the beach or 10 minutes by car to the famous Marina Puerto Banus and its nightlife , La Villa Marbella gives you the tranquility of the Old Town yet close to the interesting points of the city. You will come back !! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your La Villa Marbella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Hotel Marbella Charming
La Villa Marbella Andalucia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing