We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super Super Super Really Outstanding Hotel, with 1000 Star Service and Staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Villa Marbella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Villa Marbella
Ranked #2 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
Tbilisi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super Super Super Really Outstanding Hotel, with 1000 Star Service and Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2009

We choose La villa marbella for our honeymoon and stayed in Boracay room. everrything was just unbelievably fantastic, just have no words to describe. while reading the reports you dont know what it will be in realty, but believe me, it was far from any imagination or thoughts. atention to every little detail was huuuuuuuge, everything was just P E R F E C T. MARCOS and STAFF are absolutely great, the most lovely people ever met abroad, especially on holidays, all of them were always ready to help, in absolutly everything, and their advises made our stay really comfortable, you dont have to worry about anything.

and the candys in lobby were so delicioussssss

everyone must visit the hotel and the city once in a life...minimum

with great love from GEORGIA, TBILISI

we already miss you all...see you again for sureee

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ikaa_pf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,260
    107
    26
    7
    1
See reviews for
165
931
35
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2009

We have just returned from a 10 day trip through Spain, Including Madrid, Seville, and Marbella. We stayed in very nice 5 star hotels in Madrid at " The Palace" and Seville at "The Alfonso XVIII".
They were 5 star hotels in every way, very upscale and impressive in appearance.
When we finally found La Villa Marbella, (with great help from the staff) we were apprehensive to say the least.
It simply isn't a hotel at all. It is in a very charming, out of the way building, on a pedestrian street (as are all streets in Old Marbella). The "lobby" is just a small desk in a very small foyer. So after the glitz and glamour of the previous hotels we wondered if we hadn't made a mistake.
Well after 10 minutes with the staff and a visit to our pleasant, but again not glitzy room, we were sold.
Everything that has been said about the quality of the staff is true...I haven't had better service anywhere in the world, and we have traveled very extensively. Marcos and his staff are simply instant friends and family to you. It is remarkable how they take you under their wing and make CERTAIN that you love Marbella and the surrounding area.
The room (we chose "Siagon" in the Courtyard building a few steps from the main building) was plain, but as the stay moved along you noticed that everything a 5 star hotels offers is there somewhere. Great Air conditioning provided by a Slimline unit, Satelite TV, CD player, nice handheld hair dryer, (my wife HATES the wall mounts), full size ironing board, neat little balcony overlooking the small pool area, plenty of closet space, safe...well everything. The pool breakfast area (included Continental almost anytime you get up) is really nice and peaceful, the free computer is fast, the sundeck is beautiful with drinks in a refrigertor that is on the honor system.
So if traveling to the Costa del Sol, choose Marbella and especially this "hotel".
By the way Old town Marbella is one of the most charming places in the world. Be sure to plan day trips to Grenada for Alhambra and Gibralter (the apes alone are worth the short trip). Also a ferry ride to Puerto Banus (Marcos will tell you every step to take) is a look at the "new money" that is prevelant along the Med coast, and is kind of fun for a lunch on the harbor.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WoodGlenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh on Sea
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2009

After reading the other reviews on Trip Advisor I booked up La Villa Marbella for a short stay with my wife. Having been to Marbella before on various golfing trips, but mainly staying in Gaudalmena, I was keen to visit the old town. Both of the decisions worked out perfectly as both the old town and the hotel surpassed my expectations.

The hotel is perfectly positioned in the old town in a beautiful street, and is only a five minute walk away from the beach and ideally placed for exploring the old town and surrounding areas.

What more to say than previous reviews have already expounded upon? The rooms were great, the service was top notch, but it was the personal touch that really made the difference to us. Having never been to this part of Marbella before, and only having four days to explore that area, the help we received from Marcos and Ben was invaluable. Right from our arrival we were made to feel very special, being given M+B's phone numbers and told that we could call them at any time. We had a drink with Ben on the roof patio who gave us some personal recommendations for eating out in town. He recommended La Patio de los Perfumes which turned out to be an amazing experience, both the food and the location. We would have never found this restaurant on our own as the entrance was no more than a door in a side alley which we would have just walked past. We love the fact that no side dishes are indicated, it's all down to how the chef feels on the night. luckily the chef must have been in a good mood that night as the meal was fantastic.

This local knowledge from the guys was invaluable and saved us from wandering around the old town and ending up in some dive as sometimes happens if you don't know an area. They made our stay very special and we would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeighonSeaDibbsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2009

This is a really charming hotel in the old centre of Marbella, which is the place you want to be. In walking distance you have a wide range of restaurants to choose from, you are close to shopping and the beach, and you can experience the real Marbella.

The hotel is more than comfortable, and the staff are friendly and helpfull. You will be suprised with the service here, and you will feel at home.

This is a hotel i would highly recommend.

Thank you for a wonderful holiday! Edward & Femke

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FemkeRotterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2009

we stayed for five nights at Villa Marbella and the reviews are all correct. What a wonderful boutique hotel. Marcus and his team are friendly and helpful and go out of their way to make your stay memorable. We actually stayed an extra day as everything was so great. Would definately go back .

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doughtyanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tyrone
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2009

My husband and I stayed in the La Villa Marbella for a week at the end of August/beginning of Sept. It was a wonderful experience and the Hotel was all that we could wish for: Marcos and his team provide an excellent service, giving us very detailed information on places to eat, visit, etc. We were able to use the pool at The Courtyard and we had full use of this house as well. La Villa Hotel is charming, clean and location is excellent for the Old Town - 5 minutes walk, and 10 minutes to the beach - perfect for us and we are both in our 60's. The breakfast was excellent and served by the most friendly staff that we have ever met. We are planning to return very soon.
I have absolutely no hesitation in recommending La Villa to anyone staying in Marbella. We took a day trip on the ferry to Porto Banus, and was disappointed - it is not nearly as nice a resort as Marbella: pavements away from the main street were filthy and there was much evidence of partying from local night clubs.
Marcos deserves credit for the effort he and his team have made in making La Villa a home from home, with the sun as a bonus.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathleenTyrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2009

When we told friends that we were going to Marbella for a holiday, they all thought that we would soon be wearing chunkey jewellery and fake tans. Buy a Bentley convertable, even. Marbella has a reputation for bling. Not so though. To be fair, it is quite a nice seaside resort. The bling has moved off down the coast to Puerta Banus, which has become decidedly seedy with the sort of stuff that follows the money.
Just across the main road running through Marbella is the old town, and you are a million miles from the seaside capers. The old town is a preserved warren of alleys and streets lined with old houses, a lovely town square and splendid churches. There are bags of decent restaurants and bars. Most seem to be populated by Spanish families on holiday, which says something about the place. What struck most, however, is that despite the tourism (or maybe because if it) there remains a strong residential flavour. The place is actually lived in, so there are plenty of local bars and cafes, including a great Flamenco venue at Flamenco Ana Maria - not to be missed.

And, central to all this is the Villa Marbella. What a gem. Owner Marcos has converted several period town houses to produce a delightful complex. The rooms are all tastefully furnished in Tibetian themes. The service is second to none. We were quite simply made so welcome. Marcos and his enthusiastic team went out of their way to make sure that we were comfortable and recommended all sorts of things to get the best out of our stay in the town.

Go to Marbella, stay at the Villa Marbella, and have a memorable holiday in spiffing good style.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrightonBandleader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marbella hotels
1.1 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#4 of 70 in Marbella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Claude Marbella
Hotel Claude Marbella
#1 of 70 in Marbella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Marbella Heights Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Aparthotel Puerto Azul Marbella
2.7 mi away
Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella
0.4 mi away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
#10 of 70 in Marbella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villa Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa Marbella

Property: La Villa Marbella
Address: Calle Principe 10 | Old Historic Town, 29601, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
#2 Family Hotel in Marbella
#4 Business Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1 star — La Villa Marbella 1*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Villa Marbella Charming Hotel is located inside the romantic Old Town of the internationally renowned Marbella. The 150 years old house has been fully refurbished and the 4 suites carry a very cozy Asian Style. The rooms are full equipped: air conditioner, heater, ceiling fan, TV satellite, stereo chain, ads, mini bar, safety box, electronic keys, telephone with private voice mail and full amenities in the bathroom. From the terrace, during the breakfast or relaxing in our Chinese Lounge, you will enjoy stunning views of the Sierra Blanca, Old Town and the Castle Walls. 3 minutes walk to the famous Orange Square and its selected bars and restaurants, 7 minutes walk to the beach or 10 minutes by car to the famous Marina Puerto Banus and its nightlife , La Villa Marbella gives you the tranquility of the Old Town yet close to the interesting points of the city. You will come back !! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your La Villa Marbella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Hotel Marbella Charming
La Villa Marbella Andalucia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing