We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended, great staff and accomodations!”
Review of La Villa Marbella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Villa Marbella
Ranked #2 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 January 2010

Firstly my appologies to Marcos at writing this review so long after our stay. My wife and I just got married and went to Marbella for our honeymoon. It was left to me to plan the honeymoon as a surprise. I chose Spain because of the weather, I chose Marbella because of La Villa Marbella, we were'nt disappointed.

The staff were remarkable. When we arrived we were jet lagged. Marcos got us settled in and we were able to breathe again.

We enjoyed the breakfast every morning. My wife changed her selection of items and as usual at La Villa Marbella it was no problem. No matter when we had breakfast (sometimes it was more like a late lunch), our rooms were cleaned while we were away with no intrusion (sorry to the maids).

We had several day trips to the surrounding areas that made the trip so special. We went to Morocco for the day, a neighbouring town in the mountains called Rhonda which I highly recommend. We also went to Gibraltar for the day, also highly recommended and Malaga. During all these trips either Bolivar or Marcos would help organize everything. From taxi pickup to hand drawn maps of the areas we would be going to as well as pamphlets on things to see and do. We had a great stay overnight in Sevilla and Marcos was more than willing to recommend a hotel and set up the arrangements for the one night. We had a nice stay but were glad to be returning to La Villa Marbella the next night.

We were sad to go after our two weeks at La Villa Marbella were up. Our bus left Marbella for Malaga at about 6:30 am and who did we see at the bus station? Marcos! My wife said, "Marcos, what are you doing here?", to which he replied, "I had to see you off". What else need be said?

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kapitalq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,497)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

965 - 971 of 1,497 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2010

Bit late in writing this however I was taken as a surprise for my birthday and it was fantastic. Set minutes from the bustle that is Marbella centro the old town is full of hidden gems and restaurants running off orange square. marcos and his staff couldn't do enough for us and even in October we had a wonderful brekfast on the roof terrace every day. Rooms are great and great thought put into their decor which reminded me of asia. Can't wait to go back. Go Go Go.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cooldudesLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2009

La Villa Marbella is one of the most charming places with one of the best locations in the Old Historic Town area. The staff is amazing, Marcos is the best host, helpful and very charming. The place is spotless and the rooms are very comfortable and nicely decorated.
It was a great experience to be there, we will come back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank natashablue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2009

Why such a bold title ? This was my second trip to the hotel. It was brilliant the first time round - and just as good, perhaps better, the second. La Villa Marbella is situated in Marbella’s Old Town, a glorious labyrinth of narrow streets and communal squares providing an eyebath of exquisite beauty and historical interest. Every street, house, building has individual character. The local people clearly take great pride in preserving and beautifying their surroundings. The Old Town has a happy feel to it - it really is difficult not to feel contentment and wonder as one explores the plentiful places of interest and entertainment and samples the restaurants, shops and bars.

La Villa Marbella blends in perfectly with these surroundings, maintaining and enhancing the natural beauty and character of the Old Town. It is no blot on the landscape, no revolting carbuncle - it is an integral part of the community. It consists of 4 converted buildings (with two further soon to be added) that reflect the Old Town's natural charm and character. Each building retains as much of the structure of the originals as possible while providing very modern amenities and facilities for guests. A tall order but it has been achieved.

The bedrooms, bathrooms and communal areas are superbly decorated and furnished - clearly there is great talent and vision behind these creations. Guests are provided with a plethora of facilities - from complementary shaving and wash kits to dressing gowns, from satellite TV, CD players and radios to washing machines and cookers. And there is a swimming pool, roof terraces, sun decks, courtyards and lounges. Everything is scrupulously clean.

The owner and staff have a genuine desire to make guests as comfortable as possible - and they succeed. No clinical impersonal hotel speak here. They genuinely like people - and it shows.

The ordinary sterile standard star ratings of modern hotels cannot be applied here - but to my mind it is top drawer. If you have a desire to experience what the local community has to offer and to immerse yourself in its extraordinary vitality and creativity - then you can do no better than to stay at La Villa Marbella.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FelixBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2009

My mother and I spent 6 nights at la Villa Marbella at the end of November. We stayed in the Saigon room in the Courtyard building.
Great care and attention to detail characterizes la Villa Marbella. Moreover it is the hospitality, kindness and consideration of Marcos, Bolivar and team which always ensure that time spent here is a pleasure
Thank you for a second time at La Villa Marbella- such comfortable surroundings with such lovely people
Thank you for everything and have a happy Christmas
Colin and Angela

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColinTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2009

I stayed here during August 09 and it couldn't have been better. The room we stayed in was for 5, at the last minute we had an extra person and they put our friend up for free downstairs in another gorgeous room.
The staff made a special effort with us, giving us all sorts of advice and the location was just perfect! It was also incredibly reasonable considering how beautiful the room was!
We were also across the alley-way from one of my favourite restaurants in Marbella, El Gallo...all in all I think this is a perfect place to stay, it's lush yet reasonably priced and Marcos was so so helpful...Thanks!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ryanheartt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2009

Only spent 1 night there, our 1st in Marbella for 30 years, what a lovely place to stay.
We had the penthouse with roof terrace and hot tub.
from the moment we arrived, we were given coffee and biscuits, then Ben took us on a short stroll to the penthouse.
It had everything you could need, and more.
Breakfast back at the main hotel on the roof terrace was a delight, marcus could not do enough for us, this is what hoteliers should be like.
I will be going back, no doubt about it.
Right in the middle of the old town, parking is a bit of a problem, but their attitude towards their clients more than makes up for it.
power to these guy's they put far loftier hotels to shame.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shaun57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marbella hotels
0.4 mi away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
#10 of 70 in Marbella
934 reviews
7.0 mi away
Barcelo Marbella
Barcelo Marbella
#13 of 70 in Marbella
1,522 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Claude Marbella
Hotel Claude Marbella
#1 of 70 in Marbella
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 70 in Marbella
1,808 reviews
2.4 mi away
Puente Romano Marbella
Puente Romano Marbella
#7 of 70 in Marbella
1,408 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aparthotel Puerto Azul Marbella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villa Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa Marbella

Address: Calle Principe 10 | Old Historic Town, 29601, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
#2 Family Hotel in Marbella
#4 Business Hotel in Marbella
Price Range: £83 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — La Villa Marbella 1*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Villa Marbella Charming Hotel is located inside the romantic Old Town of the internationally renowned Marbella. The 150 years old house has been fully refurbished and the 4 suites carry a very cozy Asian Style. The rooms are full equipped: air conditioner, heater, ceiling fan, TV satellite, stereo chain, ads, mini bar, safety box, electronic keys, telephone with private voice mail and full amenities in the bathroom. From the terrace, during the breakfast or relaxing in our Chinese Lounge, you will enjoy stunning views of the Sierra Blanca, Old Town and the Castle Walls. 3 minutes walk to the famous Orange Square and its selected bars and restaurants, 7 minutes walk to the beach or 10 minutes by car to the famous Marina Puerto Banus and its nightlife , La Villa Marbella gives you the tranquility of the Old Town yet close to the interesting points of the city. You will come back !! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your La Villa Marbella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Hotel Marbella Charming
La Villa Marbella Andalucia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing