We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A truly remarkable, charming boutique hotel made all the more special by the outstanding customer service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Villa Marbella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Villa Marbella
Ranked #2 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A truly remarkable, charming boutique hotel made all the more special by the outstanding customer service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2011

Stayed at this charming old-town Marbella boutique hotel with spouse & our adult daughter & her friend. Rooms offered beautiful decor & comfortable elegance. Many great restaurant choices within 5 - 10 minute walk. Friendliness of hotel staff & level of service they provided was top notch. Without exception, each hotel staff member did everything they could to make our stay one of the best vacations we've ever had. Felt like family in the very best way. Definitely highly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn99_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,260
    107
    26
    7
    1
See reviews for
165
931
35
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2011

We have stayed here seberal times and Marcos, Boli and all the team deserve their acolades and wonderful reviews. We really love this hotel.You just know from the second you land at Malaga that everything will be gorgeous and that you will be so well cared for if ever there was an emergency or problem.You are safe in their hands.
Thank you La Villa Marbella and see you soon

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank millfarmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2011

We found this hotel by checking previous reviews etc. and were not disappointed. It is a real gem with extremely caring and service oriented owners. The old town is a really good place to stay - great choice of restaurants within a few minutes walk. Fixed daily menus are often very good value. Mercado car park is an easy walk even with luggage - recommend buying ticket for length of stay. For one week cost works out at 6€ per day. Hope to make a return visit sometime.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank invictagunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uae
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2011

My husband and I had been to Marbella before and stayed at a five star resort at the time when Port Banus was all the rave! We loved Marbella but Porte Banus -- not so much. We decided to go back when we had more time to look at some properties for a business project. This time I read (as I usually do) all the reviews of Hotels in Marbella. LVM was rated 3-star but was No. 1 on tfor popular and business of 78 hotels. The reviewers stressed that most of the rooms were small, (but we had no idea how small until we got there). We had a lot of luggage as we planned to be in Spain for two weeks and it was January --- and cold -- so we had to take heavy clothing, coats and sweaters. Because it had a balcony, I booked the Boroclay (for the Andalusian balcony) for 6 nights which was directly over the small reception area up narrow staircase which made us feel badly for Bolivar who had to carry them up, but, he did it with a big smile! When we arrived in the room, the Boraclay was really cute but small based on the amount of luggage we had but after getting settled in, we unpacked most of the bags, stored the empties under the high 4-poster bed and it worked fine. When we went down to asked for recommendations for places to eat, Bolivar told us he had talked to Marcos, the owner/manager, and Marcos had instructed him to offer us another room -- a larger room -- The Mandalay -- and offered to pack us and move us while we were at dinner! We were too tired to move that night but the next morning while we at breakfast in yet another beautiful "lounge" with a pool! There, we met Marcos who is as personable, knowledgeable and down to earth as all of the TA reviewers suggest. He was waiting for us when we arrived for breakfast, greeted us by name and became an instant personal "friend" -- as he does with all guests!

When we returned to the "new room" -- all our bags were already there. We were shown around a huge, gorgeous 2-bedroom suite by the lovely Isabella --- another member of the unforgettable LVM team. We subsequently met Shane -- a charming and patient younger member, who personally set up our entire side trip to Morocco; Ben, and finally, Clemmie, the big, strong "teddy bear" security guard. After returning from Morocco late at night, the taxi driver couldn't find the hotel (you'll understand why when you get to "Old Town" Marbella). I called the hotel and Clemmie told the driver to wait, left his post, met us and lugged our three bags uphill half a kilometer (in the rain!), then upstairs back into the Mandalay Suite, where, again, all our bags (including our heavy stored ones) and a fresh bed were waiting!!

Last but, believe me, the very least of the team members is another Marcos, the driver, who picked us upon arrival; delivered us to the door of the hotel; picked us up at 7 am -- with breakfast -- for our hour trip to the port to catch the ferry to Morocco; and, picked us up and delivered us to Malaga for our early morning departure home!! And BTW, Marcos (the owner/operator) was also on hand to say good-bye and see us off!

The entire LVM team is amazing and unforgettable! You don't need five-stars or 300 room when you've assembled a team like this!! We loved our stay at La Villa Marbella, highly recommend and will be returning as early as May! The charming, rustic "Old Town" is the only place to be in Marbella and we hope to enjoy it for many, many years to come!

The Dickersons
Jan./Feb. 2011

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CassandraUae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2011

Funny how much a hotel can make a difference in your vacation- can make it or brake it! La Villa Marbella absolutely MADE our weekend get-a-way to Marbella.

Location: Excellent- in the center of Old Town- very cute and authentic, great little restaurants, cafes, bars and shopping seconds away and minutes from the sea!

Staff, service & advice: everyone was super friendly and helpful- from giving great tips on local eats (we had the BEST tapas in Porto Banus) to custom ordered breakfast (included in price!) freshly made! Boli and Marcus and every other person we interacted with were great! A breath of fresh air coming from the lack-luster Swiss hospitality...

Quality: Details details details! Beautifully restored, we stayed in the Courtyard which has a private pool, sun terrace, breakfast room and lounge. I found myself wishing I could live in this quaint and beautiful home-like atmosphere.

The worst part of our trip was that we had to leave so soon! Can't wait to come back and hope to spend more time! Thank you Marcus and Boli for an amazing weekend!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acpc27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south shields
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2011

This was our "umpteenth" visit to La Villa Marbella, and unbelievably it is even better! Marcos and his team have just opened Number 9, adjacent to the main building and it's rooms are fabulous. It can accomodate families by opening up adjoining rooms, the standard of rooms is excellent.
Another lovely stay , thanks Marcos and team

Kathy and Les Ford

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kathyfsouthshields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oslo
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2011

Congratulations to Ben and Marcos and the rest of the staff with this most well decerved Travellers award 2011! We stayed for only one night in the beginnig of january 2011,and we loved it instantly. That is for many good reasons: first of all Ben was a fantastic help in guiding us to the best possible day in Marbella, pluss the room and the rest of the hotel was very charming, the old city surrounding it was also beautiful, and hte restaurant close to it (the Orange tree" (also recommended by Ben) served us the best meal we had in all Andalucia. We really want to come back - the sooner the better:-)

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marbella hotels
1.1 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#4 of 70 in Marbella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Claude Marbella
Hotel Claude Marbella
#1 of 70 in Marbella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Marbella Heights Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Aparthotel Puerto Azul Marbella
2.7 mi away
Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella
0.4 mi away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villa Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa Marbella

Property: La Villa Marbella
Address: Calle Principe 10 | Old Historic Town, 29601, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
#2 Family Hotel in Marbella
#4 Business Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1 star — La Villa Marbella 1*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Villa Marbella Charming Hotel is located inside the romantic Old Town of the internationally renowned Marbella. The 150 years old house has been fully refurbished and the 4 suites carry a very cozy Asian Style. The rooms are full equipped: air conditioner, heater, ceiling fan, TV satellite, stereo chain, ads, mini bar, safety box, electronic keys, telephone with private voice mail and full amenities in the bathroom. From the terrace, during the breakfast or relaxing in our Chinese Lounge, you will enjoy stunning views of the Sierra Blanca, Old Town and the Castle Walls. 3 minutes walk to the famous Orange Square and its selected bars and restaurants, 7 minutes walk to the beach or 10 minutes by car to the famous Marina Puerto Banus and its nightlife , La Villa Marbella gives you the tranquility of the Old Town yet close to the interesting points of the city. You will come back !! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your La Villa Marbella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Hotel Marbella Charming
La Villa Marbella Andalucia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing