We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decadence in Marbella...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Senator Marbella Spa Hotel
Ranked #28 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Rimini, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Decadence in Marbella...”
Reviewed 2 December 2012

A colleague and myself where travelling for business and got rooms 127+126, this past week. We were expecting the spa to be open until 10 pm but close at 7 and opens at 10am. The gym has 3 machines only and the bike was not working. No TV, cold walls, no decoration, no treadmill. Outside the temperature was 5 degrees C.
A hotel with 4 stars so close to the beach would better sell at higher rates but offer a real experience! Look at El Fuerte hotel or Gran Melia.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claudio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Marbella Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Google Translation
Gentile Cliente,

Noi apprezziamo molto i vostri commenti, e grazie ad essa siamo in grado di conoscere la percezione del nostro prodotto e ciò che è più importante la qualità e il servizio cordiale.

Capisco la sua critica, ma permettetemi di dire che non sono d'accordo del tutto. Per quanto riguarda il tuo commento sul programma di SPA lasciatemi dire che in inverno, aperto dalle 10 alle 20 ore di ore ininterrotte di ritardo. E per quanto riguarda il nostro accesso agli ospiti è gratuito durante il vostro soggiorno.

Per quanto riguarda le macchine esercizio lasciatemi dire che se ci fosse un viziato, è un po 'sporadica, perché tutti i giorni i nostri responsabili della manutenzione rivedere ogni essere in perfetto stato di funzionamento e che la palestra è in linea con le esigenze dei nostri ospiti.

Dispiace molto non aver incontrato le sue aspettative e saremo lieti di darvi la possibilità di incontrarlo in una delle nostre strutture. Abbiamo molto in mente le vostre impressioni, lavoreremo per migliorare i punti segnati
Saluti,

Miguel Angel Piedra
Gerente Senator Marbella Spa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    328
    125
    52
    33
See reviews for
195
305
35
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 30 November 2012

We were given a room that did not smell good,it was very poky & we asked to be changed which they did after some complaining 3 days into our holiday.Some days the rooms were cleaned very late & toiletries were sparse,the beds were badly made on 2 or 3 occasions.This hotel is quite basic both rooms & food.We stayed half board but after the first night realised we would be better off eating in McDonalds.It definitely is not a 4star,more like 2-3,there is no entertainment,one small bar in reception,you definitely need to go out for entertainment.We did speak to the "director" to state our views,nothing changed while we were there.If you want basic with poor food go there,the only thing in its favour is that it's only a 15 walk to Marbella town and we found the reception staff helpful.

Room Tip: If you love Spanish food and wine don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Marbella Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 24 December 2012
Dear Guests,

I would like to thank you for your comments, as it is through them the best way we can improve the quality of our service, understanding the perception of our product and most important the quality and friendly service we provide.

We regret not covering your expectations and we will be delighted if you offer us the opportunity to return to have you back in any of our establishments.

Best regards.

Miguel Ángel Piedra
Gerente Senator Marbella Spa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Stayed here recently while enjoying a night in Marbella. The hotel is a few minutes walk from the sea front and about fifteen minutes gentle stroll to the town centre. Excellent pool and spa. Great breakfast. Nice room with good view. For the amount they charge you can not grumble about anything.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonPieman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Marbella Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Dear Guests,

I would like to thank you for your comments, as it is through them the best way we can improve the quality of our service, understanding the perception of our product and most important the quality and friendly service we provide.

It is It is for the team hotel a pleasure to know how comfortable it was found in his room

We once again thank you and are looking forward welcoming you to any of our establishments.

Best regards.

Miguel A. Piedra
Gerente Senator Marbella Spa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Stayed here for 5 days, rooms very good clean and plenty of space, good breakfast with both chefs very good. 5 mins gets you to the promenade.Also very good jacuzzi steam room and sauna.
Would recommend

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BallymenaFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Marbella Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
Dear Guests,

I would like to thank you for your comments, as it is through them the best way we can improve the quality of our service, understanding the perception of our product and most important the quality and friendly service we provide.

We once again thank you and are looking forward welcoming you to any of our establishments.

Best regards,

Miguel A. Piedra
Gerente Senator Marbella Spa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

My husband and I stayed here for four nights in October. I looked at lots of hotels before booking and picked this one as it was the best priced 4* hotel within walking distance to Marbella and the beach.
The rooms are spacious and have plenty of storage. We had two double beds and a separate toilet off the bathroom, which was clean and modern. Tele has mainly spanish channels but for American/English shows dubbed in Spanish you could change the sound back to the original track and watch (under q menu on the remote control). Had an empty mini fridge which was handy for keeping our own bought drinks cool. Maids came in and made beds everyday. Air on wasn't working but we didn't ask about gettin it fixed because it was always cool enough at night due to the time of year.
When we arrived we asked about a sea view (as we hadn't booked one) and were offered a sea view room for 10 euro extra per night.
The rooftop pool was never too busy to get a sunbed (although we did go out of season). The view from up there was amazing and it had a quiet and tranquil feel. The spa was worth a visit, lots of pools, jets and a couple of saunas.
The location of the hotel was fantastic, not right in the centre of marbella but only 10 mins walk from the centre along the beautiful paseo walkway on the seafront (which is full of restaurants and bars) It's less than a five minute stroll to the beach directly down the road which the hotel is on. There's not much atmosphere in the bar in the hotel and if it's quiet it can take a while to get served but we didn't feel the need to stay in the hotel bar as there's such an array of bars a few minutes walk away. There's also a convenience store two minutes away which is open late called opencor and a. Department store called el corte ingles opposite.
All in all we were more than happy with our choice of hotel for the price we paid and would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheCovos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Marbella Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
Dear Guests,

I would like to thank you for your comments, as it is through them the best way we can improve the quality of our service, understanding the perception of our product and most important the quality and friendly service we provide.

We once again thank you and are looking forward welcoming you to any of our establishments

Best regards,

Miguel Ángel Piedra
Gerente Senator Marbella Spa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

The hotel is very close to the beach about 200 metres. Nice spacious rooms very unique, stylish. Breakfast great and also a great and pleasant chef making eggs and stuff. The surroundings are full of restaurants with mouth watering dishes. The city is fabulous with lovely villas all around. A good place to have a quiet vacation, don't know abput summer though.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nene_iwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Marbella Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Dear Guests,

I would like to thank you for your comments, as it is through them the best way we can improve the quality of our service, understanding the perception of our product and most important the quality and friendly service we provide.

We stay in your entire disposal and hope that you return to visit us in other occasions,

Best regards,

Miguel Ángel Piedra
Gerente Senator Marbella SPA Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Stayed in the Senator hotel during September and have an amazing stay. Rooms were spotless but really did miss some of the English speaking channels. Hotel is located within walking distance to many nice restaurants and also the old town of Marbella is about a 15min walk on the promenade. Ate half board in hotel with many choices for breakfast and dinner each evening. Still managed to get in some great restaurants close by though on some evenings Pool area is great and spotless. The only one negative point about the hotel would be the bar service at reception. Long wait to be served. Received free use of the hotel SPA during our stay which was used and really enjoyed. Would highly recommend this hotel for anyone wanting to view the wonderful sights of Marbella/Puerto Banus. Staff on reception were very helpful and always greeted with a smile. Hope to return in the future on the next trip to Marbella.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the view. Floor 5 or above offer outstanding views of the surroundi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FergalJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Marbella Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. Please Know that it is our aim that you spend the best days of your holidays with us and this is what we are working for and trying to improve every day.


We stay in your entire disposal and hope that you return to visit us in other occasions,

Best regards,

Miguel Ángel Piedra
Gerente Senator Marbella SPA Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marbella hotels
1.2 mi away
Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos
0.3 mi away
NH Marbella
NH Marbella
#17 of 70 in Marbella
1,487 reviews
6.0 mi away
Barcelo Marbella
Barcelo Marbella
#15 of 70 in Marbella
1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
El Faro
El Faro
#33 of 70 in Marbella
298 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 70 in Marbella
1,459 reviews
3.2 mi away
PYR Marbella Hotel
PYR Marbella Hotel
#36 of 70 in Marbella
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senator Marbella Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senator Marbella Spa Hotel

Property: Senator Marbella Spa Hotel
Address: C/ Principe Alfonso Hohenlohe, s/n | Parcela 97, 29600, Marbella, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Marbella
#18 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
#19 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Senator Marbella Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Golden Mile of Marbella, next to the Exhibition and Congress Centre and just minutes from Old Town, surrounded by shops, restaurants, bars and nightclubs of Marbella's best to live the glamorous nights on the Costa del Sol If anything distinguishes the hotel Senator Marbella Spa is a spectacular hall dominated by a magnificent pendant. This magnificent large hall can be seen from its two panoramic elevators that rise to the rooms. The hall is the starting point for the rest of the Hotel.: Outdoor pool located on the 7th floor with the best views in Marbella, restaurant, bar, lounge, pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Nozio Netplan srl, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Senator Marbella Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Senator Marbella Spa Hotel Andalucia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing