We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so beautiful, so welcoming, so central”
Review of The Town House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Town House
Ranked #4 of 31 Marbella B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“so beautiful, so welcoming, so central”
Reviewed 7 July 2009

Have just come back from a quick stay at the Town House in Marbella and I loved it!
It was a little tricky to find but had we opened our eyes maybe it would have been easier...
The information given on the phone prior to arrival was excellent and there was no end to the help they offered. When we got there we were greeted with a broad smile and very speedy check in and then straight to the room.
The rooms are not massive but more than adequate and the bathroom (with tub) was very spacious. Lovely touch to find Molton Brown products.
The aircon works very well which is a necesity in the 40degree heat.
The bed, oh that bed... I have a terrible back and I can say that it has been a long time since I slept that well in a hotel bed.
I would probably have slept well in to the afternoon had it not been for, and here comes the only downside to The Town House, the fact that you can hear everything going on outside the room, in the room above, the room next door etc etc. There is a sign in room asking for people to be mindfull of others due to old building and lack of soundproofing but wow I had no idea... until the people in room above started walking around with shoes on... and the neighbours left their room and talked in the stairwell.

Back to positives: the roof terrace is marvelous and the honourbar fits with the way the hotel works and the type of clients I would assume go there. I have a gluten allergy and they were very helpful at breakfast making a special effort in providing me with alternatives.
It is smack bang central in the old part of Marbella and you can walk everywhere within a couple of minutes and there is a public carpark 1minute away.
All in all this is a lovely hotel!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glutenfreeswede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    40
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
95
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
barcelona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2008

A friend and I stayed at The Townhouse in early May. We are young women in our twenties, but responsible working college graduates who aren´t particularly party crazy. The entire staff at the hotel was pretty rude to us, with the exception of the one male who did our check out the last day. This treatment was most notable when we would ask them for suggestions on activities, restaurants, etc. A small boutique hotel that doesn´t have it´s own concierge should be expecting this as part of their job and accordingly they should be HAPPY to help, especially when they are only a few guests in the place at a time. I was blown away by how "put out" these people seemed to be with the idea of giving suggestions to guests of their hotel. I would imagine if we had been a little older or a married couple they would´ve treated us better, instead of a couple of immature girls with no right to be there wasting their time. on a positive note however, the place itself is beautiful, though definitely on the small side. it´s a gorgeous building decorated beautifully, and the terrace is absolutely wonderful. they have a little fridge full of drinks up there, perfect for a hot day.

  • Liked — the roof terrace, the location
  • Disliked — the service
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank bcky1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2008

This is a very small but gorgeous boutique hotel, lovingly and tastefully decorated by the owner. The 'piece de resistance' is the rooftop terrace offering rooftop views of old town of Marbella. Rooms are small but very tasteful. The location is also great in the centre of the old town which is to my opinion the nicest part of Marbella and very close to the beaches and restaurants.

  • Liked — The decor and the staff
  • Disliked — size of room though perfectly adequate
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank lalaby123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2008

nice boutiqe hotel,good location in old town,fair price,veryclean,nice breakfast, recommendand will stay again

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank montechester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marbella hotels
0.2 mi away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 70 in Marbella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
0.1 mi away
Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Claude Marbella
Hotel Claude Marbella
#1 of 70 in Marbella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 70 in Marbella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,659 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Cristobal
Hotel San Cristobal
#23 of 70 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Town House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Town House

Property: The Town House
Address: Calle Alderete 7 | Plaza Practicante Manuel Cantos, 29601, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charmingly located in the Old Town of Marbella The Town House is a private intimate pension with a central location in the old town, Marbella, in the antique area, close to Plaza de los Naranjos (the orange square). The Town House is almost like a private town house, with four floors, roof terrace and a welcoming bar at the entrace level. All nine rooms are individually decorated, with a tasteful mixture of antiques and modern design. The Town House has nine rooms, bar for both hostal- and external guests, lounge, possiblities to rent conference room, breakfast room, roof terrace, rooms with TV och internet connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and MrandMrsSmith so you can book your The Town House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Town House Hotel Marbella
The Town House Marbella, Andalucia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing