We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great Hotel experience with very helpful staff!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus
Ranked #19 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A great Hotel experience with very helpful staff!!”
Reviewed 16 July 2011

we wouldlike to say a massive thanks to the guadalpin front desk staff, extremely helpful and nice individuals! we stayed in junior suite with jaccuzi, room was perfect. cleaners amazing! buffet breakfast is so tasty, perfect! other guests were all chilled out, no loud music. a perfect time! we 100% come back next year. thanks from olly

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oliver o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    296
    147
    80
    45
See reviews for
161
392
15
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

we booked this for a girls weekend and it was spot on. some of us got upgraded to a suite, which had a great outdoor area and spacious living area. Great cocktails from the bar, bar in the pool, clean rooms and only a 10 minute walk along the beach to the harbour in PB. Breakfast was OK - nothing great, but adequate. Not too crowded.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank youngmumof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Second time i have visited this hotel - last time 2 years ago. It is a fabulous location and the design of the hotel is very clever - the junior suites sleep 3 and have lovely large terraces to sit out on. Bathrooms are very small; if you are sleeping on the put up bed in the living room bring eyeshades as there are no curtains so the light wakes you up. Although there is a little kitchen it isnt very well kitted out - no kettle or corkscrew! ( I asked for both but got neither!) I was told by a member of staff that the staff have not been paid for several months and the owners were trying to sell it - this probably accounts for the fact that there are lots of areas that need a lick of paint, repairing, etc but have not been done for a long time. The pool area is pretty filthy - noone swept it in the 4 days we were there. However the staff are great, the breakfast is excellent and the maid cleans the room superbly. Hotel owners - please put this hotel back to what it was!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank idealholmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

I hate to write bad reviews especially when the staff were excellent and tried very hard to make it a pleasant holiday. I have stayed 4 times in their sister hotel in marbella, but it has now shut down so we decided to try this hotel. It is no where near as classy as the marbella hotel. This hotel attracts lager louts and ladettes that love to scream from balcony to balcony and even down to the pool. The hotel could be amazing as the pool and the views are fantastic. We asked for a room with roof top and jacuzzi and thats what we got. It was fantastic..although the hot tub needed a major scrub and a clean out of the water...photos included...the room next door had a group of italian lads that brought back females that were not staying in the hotel and partied through till 7.30 the next morning..so unexceptable considering the cost we were paying. Kids round the pool..well older teens..that obviously mummy and daddy had paid for them to go away..loud and distruptive in the pool...and the pool attendant had had the audacity the day before to ask my daughter and come other kids not to lay on lilos and large blow up ring!!!
Any how I dont like writing this...as i fell by doing this the good families and nice mannered british will stay away..the 'oy mate can I have a sex on the beach' will carry on coming and destroy the hotel and its reputaion..again I dont blame the staff they were excellent..i blame the top top dogs at letting large groups in just to get the revenue.

One other thing i touched on is the fact the hotel needs a lot of money spent on reparing and painting and getting more people in to keep the palce clean...if egypt can do it why cant spain..overall dont go if u have kids and want peace and quiet..go if u want a base for puerto banus and to bring back people to your room to get totally drunk with!

Room Tip: ask for sea view..on the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miss72ski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2011

We had originally booked the Gran Hotel Marbella but were informed the day before travel tha this hotel had a few issues and our reservations where cancelled.

The reservation staff were amazing and re-booked us at the same rate (and gave us a discount) at their sister hotel in Puerto Banus...

We cannot thank the staff enough. The hotel was amazing...located on the beach. 10 minute walk along the beach to Puerto Banus Marina. Or short taxi ride to wherever you needed to go.

Buffett Breakfast was also very well catered.....the even served Champagne! great for us who went straight to breakfast after a night out!

Hotel was clean, staff were very helpful and our rooms (with jacuzzi on the roof terrace).....absolutley amazing! Only downside (if any)...swimming pool was cold and the bar area (by pool) was closed - possibly open in peak season?

All in all - a fantastic holiday! Thank you very much to all the staff! e will be back very soon!

Kind Regards

Room Tip: Suite- Roof top terrace/Jacuzzi overlooking sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dave101010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2011

Having visited this hotel when it first opened which wasn't long ago. Was absolutely gutted to see the decline in such what was a lovely hotel. First impressions count. The shutters need sanding, the glass needs cleaning, it would have been great to have had someone on the pool bar to serve, but they can't find anyone - apparently! Weeds coming up through the grates, cereal bowls at breakfast would have been a bonus! oh and maybe a knife and fork, or perhaps that was too much to ask, after all the staff were busy standing around talking to each other to actuallly serve a customer! The cost was unbelievable £20 for a beef burger! One pillow in the bedrooms each! and as for the bathrooms it would have been great if the door had opened fully except for sticking on the tiles, but if ever you did get bored there was always the water to keep mopping up by the bucket loads from the shower screen that soaked the floor every time. The rates do not reflect value for money at all, especially after I returned and realised they were in administration!!!, taking this into account this should have reflected the price. It was a rip off!!

Room Tip: The
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Frankie186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
101 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2011

We stayed at this hotel for Easter weekend – 4 nights in total.

Upon arrival (which was early – about 1pm – usual check in is after 4pm), we were checked into a room (202) which is at the side of the hotel, facing the street. Our first impression was that the room was small and dark. Very dark. This was not helped by the rain which was coming down in torrents. The nice big terrace which was well furnished with a table, 2 comfy chairs and a sun lounger, overlooked the road and a row of closed shops (belonging to the hotel) – it really was too gloomy. We went back to reception and said we were not happy with the room and asked was there a possibility we could move. We had booked a superior sea view. The first, almost immediate response was “no, we are at full occupancy this weekend”. We understood that but explained as we had checked in 3 hours early (and told them we appreciated this), if they had any other rooms which had not yet checked in, would it not be possible to swap us. Again, we were told it was not possible. I then explained, very politely as I work in a customer facing environment, that I really didn’t like the room. I said I would call my travel agent to see about moving hotel as I really could not spend 4 days in such a gloomy room. Immediately, the receptionist said “oh, we do have a lovely room but it won’t be ready for a couple of hours”. Why could this not have been said at the first instance? We were relocated to Room 423 which was very similar to the previous room but with a lovely view and as it was top floor which meant our terrace was open to the sky (as opposed to being beneath another terrace) so it made the room seem much bigger and flooded with natural light.

First impressions of the hotel were that it was once a good looking property but due to hard times, needs a major cash injection. I shall however deal with the positives first.

1. Smallish rooms but with a fantastic large private terrace this made it seam much more spacious.
2. Lots of toiletries which were kept well stocked throughout our stay.
3. The hotel restaurant (El Rincon - which is actually not owned by the hotel but shares the same building) is nicely decorated and service is good (more of this below).
4. Hotel bar is nice enough, if a little formal. We stayed for a drink on a couple of occasions but due to lack of atmosphere and very formal décor, we did not wish to stay very long. Bar staff on both occasions were very polite and helpful.
5. Despite the initial difficulty with the room, the reception staff were all very welcoming and polite. They helped us make dinner reservations and were helpful throughout.
6. Breakfast – good buffet selection of bread, pastries, cheeses, meats and fruit. Also hot buffet and eggs station. Good choice for everyone although service was poor – staff congregate at one end chatting instead of clearing tables. We had to ask for service every day rather than it being offered. Simple things like once we had finished with cereal bowls, the cereal packets and used bowl and cutlery were left on table for a very long time. We had to ask for them to clear it away every day. The manager was frequently chatting with the waiting staff on several occasions so I can only put it down to a relaxed management style.
7. Location - a lovely 10 minute walk along the beach path to Puerto Banus. Very quiet and in a nice neighbourhood sufficiently far away from the main road which is very noisy but cannot be heard from the hotel.

Now, the not so good bits.

1. Rooms/hotel/décor – in need of major clean up. There was water running down the walls in every corridor. The hotel’s response was to put towels along the wall to absorb it. This was disgraceful in a hotel charging a lot of money for guests to stay there and a huge amount of money for drinks and food. The lifts are creaking and very slow. The handrails are loose and coming away from the walls.
2. The walls of our rooms behind the curtains were damp and mouldy. This gave the room a slightly damp smell. The curtains could not be fully closed as they had come off the rail, we reported this but nothing was done.
3. Towels and robes were threadbare/ripped from use. These should have been replaced a long time before.
4. Shower over bath tub with a shower screen was incapable of holding in the water. Every time we took a shower, water flowed all along the floor. We had to ask for extra towels to put on floor to stop it escaping into the
5. Pool bar. Was not open once during our stay which meant if you wanted a drink or snack, you could not have one. This meant we did not spend longer than a couple of hours each day lounging by the pool. The hotel may claim it was not too busy on account of changeable weather but they had already claimed the hotel was at full occupancy so it would seem to make sense to open the bar so guests could buy food and drinks.
6. Pool – this looks very nice and inviting but was freezing cold. We were told it was heated but that simply could not have been the case. No one used the pool whilst we were there. Several people jumped in but got out straight away. My partner and I played a game of counting how long people remained in the pool. Without exception, no one lasted longer than a minute. After I noticed this, I spoke to the lifeguard who assured me it was heated but could not tell me the temperature. I briefly spoke to numerous guests (10 guests in fact over 2 days) about this and they all said they could not use the pool because it was too cold. This was a real pity as the pool area itself is very nice.
7. Service – if I approached any member of staff, they were polite and helpful. However, there were so few staff that things took a very long time to happen. I spent most of my time feeling very sorry for the staff rather than enjoying being there as they all appeared, without exception, a bit down. No one to help with bags or open doors upon arrival. Again, not a major issue but I have never stayed at a 5* hotel where that hasn’t happened.
8. Shops/restaurants/hairdressers within the hotel were all closed down. Permanently closed - just rows of empty units. It felt entirely desolate and soulless. It was just not a very nice place to hang out so we spent most of our time away form the hotel.
9. Restaurant, as mentioned above, we ate at the El Rincon restaurant on our first night (it was too cold and wet to go outside). We were given the menu but told we could only order from one section of it as there had been ‘an issue in the kitchen’. This meant the ‘Mediterranean Menu’ was no longer available – pity, as that was the menu of interest to both of us. We should have left then but the rain started again so we decided to stay put. It later turned out – the issue was that the chef had not turned up due to a dispute with management. The waiter was very polite and very knowledgeable about wine. It turned out he was filling in that night due to waiting staff not turning up either! Clearly there are issues at the restaurant which as I stated above is not owned by the hotel. But it is the only restaurant in the building so it was that or room service. Overall, our meal was just about ok but when you get the bill of over €150 it seemed very expensive. We had much better meals in Marbella and Puerto Banus for significantly less. Maybe we got them on an off night but even then, I would not recommend this restaurant – the food simply does not live up to the price paid.
10. No spa – it has closed and you have to get a taxi about 5 miles to the sister hotel in Marbella.
11. No evening turn down service – not a major point but again a sign that services have been cut to keep costs down.
12. Information – or the lack of it. There is very limited information in the hotel rooms or in the lobby to tell you what services are included in the room, hotel etc. Again, I suspected it was because the services which may one have been offered, no longer are offered at this hotel.
13. Rooms are so poorly sound proofed, we heard everything from our neighbours - including their toilet habbits. Not pleasant.

Also, if the hotel was at full occupancy, then it did not seem so. All the terraces can be seen from the pool and from our own terrace. We did not see many people on their terraces or by the pool. Perhaps this was because the weather was not great but certainly between the showers, we had very good sun bathing weather and would have expected to see more people. We never did see many other guests, even at breakfast it was quiet.

Overall, this is not a very bad hotel, it’s just a not a good one. This is certainly no longer a 5* hotel. It may have managed to retain the stars because the building and pool were built to a high standard but service, quality and overall feel of the place is much more Travelodge. I would say it is at best, now a 3* hotel. I sincerely hope they pick things up so it can return to being a grand hotel.

Finally, before going to this hotel I did read the reviews so perhaps I was forewarned. However, I was encouraged by the hotel's own replies to reviews on trip advisor that the front office would try to make things better in future. I saw no evidenced at all of the management trying to make guests’ experience better. This hotel was so low on staff numbers that service could not resume to a level expected of a 5* hotel. My review contains concerns raised by many guests in the last year. Those concerns have not been remedied at all which is sad.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brum74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGuadalpinBanus, Front Office Manager at Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Dear guest,

We are sorry to know that your stay at Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banús has not been as satisfactory as you expected.

We would like to show our most sincere apologies for the inconveniences you may had during the check in and your stay in general.
We realize our Hotel needs improvements; for that reason our staff is working to keep it in best conditions as possible. We would like to inform you that, at the moment, our Hotel is in a period of changes but hopefully we will be able to improve our facilities and services very soon. Nevertheless, we have informed our Maintenance Department about your comments and our Maintenance staff is working to improve these points and repair all damages in our Hotel.
Concerning your opinion about the prices of the food & drinks, we consider our prices are quite average, taking into consideration we are a 5* Hotel located in the area of Puerto Banús. Nevertheless, we take note and will inform our Management about your suggestion.
Please accept our most sincere apologies for any inconvenience you may had during your stay with the breakfast service. Let me tell you that during the rush hour the restaurant gets very busy & that’s the reason sometimes the clients wait big longer before get served. We have already informed our Food & Beverage Department about you comments in order to improve our service.

Regarding your comments about the towels, we are pleased to inform you that we have replaced all the old towels & the Housekeeping manager has been informed regarding the cleanness of the rooms.

Nevertheless, we would like to thank you for your kind comments about the bar ,El Rincón de Guadalpin Restaurant and the location of our Hotel.


We hope that your impressions about the Hotel will get better in a possible next stay.

We look forward to welcoming you to Gran Hotel Gvadalpin Banús again, in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Victor Villar
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marbella hotels
1.4 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#15 of 70 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,591 reviews
3.9 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 70 in Marbella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,659 reviews
2.7 mi away
Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
H10 Andalucia Plaza
H10 Andalucia Plaza
#1 of 1 in Nueva Andalucia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,142 reviews
5.0 mi away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 70 in Marbella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
5.0 mi away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus

Property: Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus
Address: Calle Edgar Neville s/n | Nueva Andalucía, 29660, Marbella, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus 5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unbeatable location. This beachfront resort is only 15 minutes walk from the centre of Puerto Banus. Hotel Guadalpin Banus 5* has 181 exclusive rooms decorated with noble materials & luxury finishings, offering splendid views of the Mediterranean Sea in an atmosphere of privacy and rest. You can also enjoy an exclusive and varied gastronomic offer in an idyllic setting: the sea front in Puerto Banus. High Cuisine Restaurants & exclusive Bars, Beach Club & Pool Bar, Fitness Centre & Sauna, Children playground, complimentary Wi-Fi, Meeting rooms will make of your stay the most exclusive and relaxing holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotelopia, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Marbella
Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus Marbella, Andalucia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing