We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus
Ranked #19 of 71 Hotels in Marbella
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

We pulled up at the entrance, were immediately relieved of our cases and car, and within minutes were handed a glass of champagne while reception processed our rooms. We had booked a junior suite and expecting a larger room with desk, were completely taken aback when confronted with the immense space that constituted a junior suite!! Kitchen, Dining area, Massive bedroom and en suite, and huge conservatory/enclosed patio room. I have had the good fortune to stay in many good hotels throughout my business and private life, but this took luxury to a whole new level. Throughout our stay, the level of service was maintained, from a friendly and well motivated staff. Breakfast was a fairly lavish affair, from champagne (Bucks Fizz) to every conceivable morning offer, and could be enjoyed in the dining room or out on the terrace.
The Hotel is right on a lovely sandy beach, and there is also a very good beach restaurant (Mistal) at the rear of the hotel. Alternatively, you can chill by the pool with snacks and drinks at arms length.
The centre of Puero Banus was a 15 minute stroll along a partial boardwalk partial sand, and was fine during the day, but not suitable to high heels in the evening! However, a couple of euros brought you to the centre in a few minutes, so that was not an issue.
From Banus there is a sea walk to Marbella, and this will take approx. 1hour 40minutes.
You can return via Catamaran for €8, which is a nice alternative to a standard taxi.
So overall, a fantastic hotel at a very reasonable rate, and I for one will be returning next Spring for another visit.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor and clearly happy with our room, but I suspect the views on the higher f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DublinDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGuadalpinBanus, Director de Recepción at Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Dear client,

It’s always nice to hear when our clients had a wonderful holiday & pleasant stay in our hotel.

We would like to thank you for your nice words regarding the room. It’s true that our rooms are beautiful and spacious.

Being located just on the beach & nearby Puerto Banús is attracting so many clients, as its nothing better then listening the waves during whole day & having everything so close, that’s why we are always fully booked.

Once again, thank you very much for your nice words. Looking forward to welcome you again in near future.

Yours sincerely,

Victor Villar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    289
    146
    80
    45
See reviews for
159
382
15
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Great Budworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

Myself and 8 of my friends recently stayed here for a long weekend. As a stag do we didn’t have particularly luxurious requirements, but the hotel was very good. The rooms were nicely presented and the beds comfortable. The pool area in particular was very nice and the whole hotel had a feel of decent quality. The only gripe we had was that our air conditioning was stuck on “heating” rather than “cooling”, so the room was very hot at night. Although the 10-15min walk can be a bit intimidating if on your own at night, overall though it was a very good base to explore Puerto Banus.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGuadalpinBanus, Director de Recepción at Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Dear client,

We are so pleased to read your positive feedback regarding your stay in our hotel.

Regarding the air conditioning, we have 24 hours maintenance service by only dialling number 9.


It has been a pleasure to have you staying with us at Gran Hotel Gvadalpin Banús, and we would like to welcome you again to our Hotel in the near future.
Yours sincerely,
Victor Villar
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012 via mobile

I recently visited this hotel for a weekend break with work colleagues. Overall the place is of a reasonably high standard, the pool area is spacious and the pool is great with a swim-up bar, but I do agree overall that there are some signs of wear and it could do with a freshen up. My room was on the ground floor and was a good size with a large balcony/veranda with seating and couch, the bed was comfortable and everything was generally clean, but it wasnt 'spotless'. Some of the paint on the walls was scuffed and there was a cobweb on the ceiling in the corner of the room. This might sound a bit petty, but if a hotel is marketing itself as 5 star then I feel the rooms should be to an immaculate standard and this wasn't really the case. Overall I had a very enjoyable stay, and I would recommend this hotel, but I'd agree with some of the reviews that say it is possibly more of a good 4 star than a 5 star.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManchesterCouple1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGuadalpinBanus, Director de Recepción at Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback on Tryp Advisor. The guest comments are very valuable for us, that’s why we really appreciate when you take the time to write about your experience.

We are working on improving all those points you are mentioning, since last year we have done some changes, I hope in some future stay you can be able to notice.

Our goal is the happiness of the clients, so we are working hard to achieve it.

It has been a pleasure to have you staying with us at Gran Hotel Gvadalpin Banús, and we would like to welcome you again to our Hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Victor Villar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

My partner & I have just returned from 2 nights at the hotel. I had booked it as I stayed there 5 years ago. The hotel has not aged very well since then. It is still a lovely hotel but it just looks shabby & a bit dirty, eg there are stains on the coffee tables & bird droppings on the lovey sofa on the balcony. We stayed in a junior suite overlooking the pool in room 220. The room is a great size and has all the little things one needs like a cork screw, glasses etc. But the sink in the bathroom leaked and the jacuzzi bath didn't work and the taps leaked. Just little things like that need to be sorted out and this would be back to 5 stars. Do not buy drinks from the pool bar as it is a total rip off - small bottle of water is 3.5 euros - go to the supermarket a litre is only 55cents.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank srushby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGuadalpinBanus, Director de Recepción at Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Dear guest,

We are glad you enjoyed your holiday with us.

We would like to inform you that our hotel is in period of changes & we are changing many points in order to improve our facilities. Since last year we have made some changes that our regular clients are noticing when they return.

We know that our hotel is lovely, that’s why we want to offer an outstanding service & our staff is working hard to archive this.

We have maintenance service 24 hours, so you can always request it only by dialing number 9 any time.

Regarding the price of the drinks by the pool bar, we would like to inform you that we consider this prices average taking in mind we are a five star hotel and situated in Puerto Banus.


Once again, thank you very much for your time and your nice comments.

We would like to welcome you again in near future in our hotel.

Yours Sincerely,

Victor Villar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

We booked through hotels.com and requested a twin roomed suite, but hotel said that was just our preference and didn't have to provide one. The only option we had was to up - grade and pay a heavy premium. Poor customer service and hotel is now looking shabby too, no investment to keep it up to scratch. Better hotels to chose from and it won't be through Hotels.com either!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabremd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGuadalpinBanus, Director de Recepción at Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Dear client,
First of all let me tell you we are very sorry to hear that you have not been fully satisfied with our services.
We deeply appreciate you taking the time to inform us about your last experience in our hotel. Unfortunately as you tell us it didn't meet the standards you expected.
Regarding the comments for the separate beds, we never confirm the type of beds, as this depends of the availability. Although, we cannot guarantee them, our reception always tries to give our guests a room according their preferences. In your case, I assume there wasn’t availability, other ways we don’t have any reason not to satisfy your request.
The customer service is the strongest point in this hotel & I have to admit that we are receiving daily so many compliments regarding our staff for their hard & commitment work.
I hope your impression for our hotel will change in future as we are working on to change some points.

Thank you for your loyalty and faith in us.

Hoping to hear from you soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Victor Villar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
514 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 371 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

Once one of my favourite hotels is now in fast decline. This review is not good but perhaps it might inspire something to be done.

The position is, without doubt, stunning - can't really get much better. Built on the beach where the new Esplanade runs through you can walk along the beach directly into Puerto Banus in 10-15 minutes. Even Marbella's Bull Ring where the wonderful Saturday market is centered can be reached, by foot, via the port. This really is the most perfect position to holiday without the need of a car or taxi.

Directly outside is Mistrals beach bar - with another less than 5 minutes walk towards the Port. (That particular one offers fresh fish and wonderful coffee at very competitive prices).

The rooms are all small - but the Superior Suites very comfortable. Each has a small terrace and most have some view of the sea.

The hotel's limited food offerings are of good quality but this once buzzing 5 star property has been under Government control for some time and needs a new 'mummy and daddy' or it will fade away.

I agree with other reviewers - 5 star prices for 3 star service. Rooms no longer offer quality amenities, tissues are cheap, as is the WC paper. Towels and bath robes are old. Suites do not have any tea/coffee making facilities and mineral water is no longer offered. Pillows are uncomfortable and old. Mattresses are lumpy and becoming uncomfortable. Bath taps are loose, jacuzzi jet covers are falling off. Bath tiles are cracking and repairs are desperately needed.

Very soon 'wear and tear' will become dilapidated and it will be impossible to stay there.

Unless it is bought, and soon, I fail to see how the loyal staff can keep it going.

Room Tip: Ask for a room directly facing the sea. If you cannot get the top floor then take the 2nd floor - le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012 via mobile

We have stayed in this hotel many times over the last few years. It is in a lovely location- quiet, on the beach, within walking distance of the port. Breakfast is lovely- a relaxed affair with lovely fresh food.

However, the service, decor and general attitude of the staff needs serious review. It is easy to see that this was once a great hotel. But somewhere along the way it has lost its edge.

It is no where near a five star hotel. It's a three star charging five star prices.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Holly04Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marbella hotels
1.4 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#15 of 71 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,561 reviews
3.9 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 71 in Marbella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,607 reviews
2.7 mi away
Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
H10 Andalucia Plaza
H10 Andalucia Plaza
#1 of 1 in Nueva Andalucia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,112 reviews
5.0 mi away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 71 in Marbella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,415 reviews
5.0 mi away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus

Property: Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus
Address: Calle Edgar Neville s/n | Nueva Andalucía, 29660, Marbella, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus 5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unbeatable location. This beachfront resort is only 15 minutes walk from the centre of Puerto Banus. Hotel Guadalpin Banus 5* has 181 exclusive rooms decorated with noble materials & luxury finishings, offering splendid views of the Mediterranean Sea in an atmosphere of privacy and rest. You can also enjoy an exclusive and varied gastronomic offer in an idyllic setting: the sea front in Puerto Banus. High Cuisine Restaurants & exclusive Bars, Beach Club & Pool Bar, Fitness Centre & Sauna, Children playground, complimentary Wi-Fi, Meeting rooms will make of your stay the most exclusive and relaxing holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Jet2Holidays , Ebookers, Odigeo, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotelopia, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Marbella
Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus Marbella, Andalucia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing